6Gb/s cable better than SATA 3Gb/s cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-25-2013, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Elpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
When I built my server with mobo Asus P8Z77 -V, I recognized there were 2 sata cable bags. One was for SATA 3Gb/s and other SATA 6Gb/s cables.
So, I wonder if 6Gb/s cable is better than (faster) SATA 3Gb/s cable?
Did a research thru Google, some reviews said there is still no performance difference between SATA 3Gb/s and SATA 6Gb/s cables. If so, why does Asus try to seperate those calbes?
Any of you tested it yet?
Elpee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-25-2013, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
No.

If you ever need more, get the cheapest one in the length needed from monoprice.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-25-2013, 10:33 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
No difference.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-25-2013, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 267

There is no difference between cables, just marketing.

Mrkazador is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-25-2013, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,446
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 203
I just did a build using the same Asus mobo and it comes with two bags of cables. It is true that the cables are different, but it will probably make no difference since the SATA2 cables will work at SATA3 speeds. I did use the SATA3 cables for the primary SSD and HDD and the SATA2 for the Blu-ray RW just because I could. The included SATA3 cables are beefier than the SATA2, which look like other SATA3 cables I've used before.

bryansj is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-26-2013, 02:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 124
While there is no real difference between SATA2 or SATA3 cables, it is very well possible that extremely cheap cables may not function properly at SATA3 speeds, because their design is not up to spec.

Not saying you need to buy gold-plated cables or anything, the ones that come with your board are just fine for any speed. smile.gif
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-26-2013, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Spinning hard drives can barely saturate SATA1 bandwidth. So, SATA2 and SATA3 speeds only come to play if you are running SSD's exclusively.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-26-2013, 01:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Vlad Theimpaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

There is no difference between cables, just marketing.

Not only is it "just marketing", it's deceptive marketing to boot. It's the same type of snake-oil promotion that is used to sell Monster cables at exhorbitant prices to uninformed A/V customers.

Here's an article by Maximum PC on the subject of SATA cable performance:
http://www.maximumpc.com/article/features/your_sata_cable_slowing_down_your_data_transfers_max_pc_investigates

Vlad Theimpaler is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off