AMD / CCC outputting only 60p - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-30-2013, 02:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I just connected the HTPC to a new HDTV and the TV indicates it is receiving a 1920x1080, 60p signal. The picture looks good but I had thought the HTPC would be outputting a 60i signal. I have an HD6450 video card & don't see anything in the CCC control panel that lets me change this. Maybe the 60p is the best but I'm surprised there is no way to change this. Am I missing something or is there a hidden setting?
Mike99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-30-2013, 06:51 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
60p is better than 30i and 59p is even better. Open the CCC and go to Desktop Management - Desktop Properties. Change 60 to 59 and press Accept. CCC will continue to report 60Hz, but it is actually at 59 (well, 59.xx) - it is a bug they have not bothered to fix.
cybrsage is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-30-2013, 07:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 152
There is no 60i.

If you wanted interlaced you need to choose 29 Hz or 30 Hz, interlaced.

Andy_Steb is online now  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-30-2013, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,595
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Why would 60i (if it existed), or any interlaced signal for that matter, be preferable to 60p or other progressive signal?
mdavej is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-30-2013, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I don't know why I mentioned 60i, I guess I was tired & didn't realize what I wrote. Sorry about that. But I did mean interlaced.

I didn't think about looking in the Desktop Management section since I was concerned about video.

The HTPC is primarily used as an OTA DVR & I figured if 1080i was being recorded then that's what would be passed along to the TV. I'm not preferring 60i or 30i, I was just surprised the HTPC was doing the de-interlacing instead of having the TV do it like it does with an OTA signal.
gonzo90017 likes this.
Mike99 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-30-2013, 02:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16

You've got a HTPC connected and you're still using the TV's internal tuner to watch OTA?  Reason I ask is now that you've added tuners to your setup (for DVR functionality) you probably will never use the TV's again - just WMC, MP, or some front-end s/w as your baseline via HDMI to the display!  The technology is amazing today -- $20~30 for that HD6450 and it does all the deinterlacing, decoding and such to send full resolution 1920x1080p to your display!  Think about analog TV from 5 years ago - 330 lines of resolution, analog sound and crappy tuning -- now we have ATSC with full HD resolution (720p & 1080i), digital transmission, full AC3 5.1 Dolby Digital audio tracks and it's all for FREE with your old fashioned bow-tie antenna! 

Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-30-2013, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I am using HDMI from HTPC to HDTV.

My old HDTV was a 720p set and the HTPC sent out that signal & I never questioned it because the TV used "p". So it kind of threw me seeing the 1080 - 60p.

As a side note, I know from past experience that sometimes one component does a better job than others at processing a signal. I did not plan on experimenting but the thought had crossed my mind if the HD6450 does a better job deinterlacing than the HDTV's internal circuitry.
Mike99 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off