Latest Ceton InfiniTV 6 Info Thread - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2014, 01:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,534
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Harper View Post
That ETH must be female!
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2014, 01:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,534
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey75 View Post
I haven't check in a while, but I do need to see if there is a new stable release. I've been waiting I guess since jan for turner pooling to come out of beta.

I'm not brave enough to try the beta's on the green button, I have one tuner, if it gets bricked or dies, and we have no TV, I might not live to talk about it.
I think the beta got promoted to stable several weeks ago. Now one in the same.
mdavej is offline  
Old 08-27-2014, 09:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I think the beta got promoted to stable several weeks ago. Now one in the same.
Thanks, I updated to the latest firmware over the weekend, now, is tuner pooling part of this release, I didn't do anything other than upgrade the firmware, my tuners assignments remained intact. I also checked the latest ceton installation guide and tuner pooling is still being described as beta. Maybe I should update the driver packages.

As a side note, I've noticed my channel changes are taking longer after the update like 4 -4.5 seconds, it use to be right at or under 3.

PSN: CAPTDANMAN

Last edited by dbailey75; 08-27-2014 at 09:37 AM.
dbailey75 is online now  
Old 08-29-2014, 10:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
stamina1914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey75 View Post
Thanks, I updated to the latest firmware over the weekend, now, is tuner pooling part of this release, I didn't do anything other than upgrade the firmware, my tuners assignments remained intact. I also checked the latest ceton installation guide and tuner pooling is still being described as beta. Maybe I should update the driver packages.

As a side note, I've noticed my channel changes are taking longer after the update like 4 -4.5 seconds, it use to be right at or under 3.
I've had the PCIe infinitv4 now for a couple of years. It has served me well with no hiccups, or at least nothing a quick reset of WMC couldn't fix. I am interested in the "6" and I am just curious what are the pros or cons, if any compared to the "6". I am not going to say that the 6 at the beginning, had a lot of bugs, I frankly didn't follow its launch a whole lot. I am aware of the huge disaster of the ceton echo. BTW have those bugs been fixed? Thank for the heads up... BTW the reason for the upgrade, is that I have added more TVs to my house.
stamina1914 is offline  
Old 09-01-2014, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by stamina1914 View Post
I've had the PCIe infinitv4 now for a couple of years. It has served me well with no hiccups, or at least nothing a quick reset of WMC couldn't fix. I am interested in the "6" and I am just curious what are the pros or cons, if any compared to the "6". I am not going to say that the 6 at the beginning, had a lot of bugs, I frankly didn't follow its launch a whole lot. I am aware of the huge disaster of the ceton echo. BTW have those bugs been fixed? Thank for the heads up... BTW the reason for the upgrade, is that I have added more TVs to my house.

I've been running the ETH 6 since Jan. only con is the occasional need to power cycle the tuner. Just recently, I had some longer than normal channel changes after upgrading to the latest firmware, but that's seemed to work its way out. I'm not running tuner pooling, still using tuner assignments.

Pro- 6 tuners one cable card.

What else do you need.

PSN: CAPTDANMAN
dbailey75 is online now  
Old 10-06-2014, 11:42 AM
Newbie
 
lamsao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0dM@n View Post
Although I put in that order for the attenuators, I still went ahead with the fan mod in the interim. Get this... My temps dropped 32-33C (not surprised), but the effect was intense. Tuning went from 15 seconds to about 3 seconds!! I have to test more, but wow it was never that fast!! Temps were 61.X C and now they are 28.X to 29.X C max!!!

I have a molecular to 3-pin adapter coming out of my HTPC and powering a 120mm fan that sits on top of the ceton eth, blowing air downward. Wow. Awesomeness!! I may zip tie the fan in with a vent on top so my baby son doesn't get his fingers in there.
How did you measure or view the temperature of the ETH6 tuner? Thanks.
lamsao is offline  
Old 10-06-2014, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
htpcforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by lamsao View Post
How did you measure or view the temperature of the ETH6 tuner? Thanks.

Somewhere in this thread some awesome person posted this code. You simply copy it all into a text file and change the IP address inside (using the replace command inside notepad so it is super easy to do) to whatever IP address your Ceton tuner has. Then save it. After saving it, you change the extension from txt to html and run it.


Code:
<html>
<body>
<div class='header'>Ceton InfiniTV Temperatures</div>
<table>
 <tr>
 <td width=100>Temp</td>
 <td width=100>Signal Level</td>
 <td width=100>SNR</td>
 <td width=100>Playback</td>
 <td width=100>Frequency</td>
 <td width=100>Modulation</td>
 <td width=200>Copy Protection</td>
 <td width=100>Channel</td>
 </tr>
</table>
<div id="variable_row">
 <div id="variable_label">Tuner #1:</div>
 <div id="variable_value">
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=0&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=0&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=0&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=0&s=av&v=TransportState'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=0&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=0&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=0&s=diag&v=CopyProtectionStatus'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=0&s=cas&v=VirtualChannelNumber'>
 </iframe>
 </div>
</div>
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #2:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=1&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=1&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=1&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=1&s=av&v=TransportState'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=1&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=1&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=1&s=diag&v=CopyProtectionStatus'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=1&s=cas&v=VirtualChannelNumber'>
 </iframe>
</div>
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #3:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=2&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=2&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=2&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=2&s=av&v=TransportState'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=2&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=2&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=2&s=diag&v=CopyProtectionStatus'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=2&s=cas&v=VirtualChannelNumber'>
 </iframe>
</div>
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #4:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=3&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=3&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=3&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=3&s=av&v=TransportState'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=3&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=3&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=3&s=diag&v=CopyProtectionStatus'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=3&s=cas&v=VirtualChannelNumber'>
 </iframe>
</div>
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #5:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=4&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=4&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=4&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=4&s=av&v=TransportState'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=4&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=4&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=4&s=diag&v=CopyProtectionStatus'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=4&s=cas&v=VirtualChannelNumber'>
 </iframe>
</div>
<div id="variable_label">Tuner #6:</div>
<div id="variable_value">
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=5&s=diag&v=Temperature'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=5&s=diag&v=Signal_Level'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=5&s=diag&v=Signal_SNR'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=5&s=av&v=TransportState'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=5&s=tuner&v=Frequency'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=5&s=tuner&v=Modulation'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:200px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=5&s=diag&v=CopyProtectionStatus'>
 </iframe>
 <iframe frameborder='0' scrolling='no' style='padding: 0px; margin: 0px; width:100px; height:75px;' src='http://192.168.0.101/get_var?i=5&s=cas&v=VirtualChannelNumber'>
 </iframe>
</div>
</body>
</html>

Non-standard RAIDs can recover deleted files. Anyone who says RAID protection is only for failed drives is lying.
htpcforever is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 02:38 PM
Newbie
 
EiEiOoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ceton InfiniTV 6ETH on Linux for use with TVHeadend

Has anyone successfully installed the Ceton InfiniTV 6ETH on Linux for use with TVHeadend?

Please post instructions or a link to instructions

Thanks
EiEiOoh is offline  
Old 01-07-2015, 09:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
htpcforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 114
I cannot imagine it would work. The only OS that can use CableCard technology (for encrypted shows) is Windows.

Non-standard RAIDs can recover deleted files. Anyone who says RAID protection is only for failed drives is lying.
htpcforever is offline  
Old 01-08-2015, 12:01 AM
Newbie
 
EiEiOoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Really? That's interesting... Thanks for that info
EiEiOoh is offline  
Old 01-08-2015, 05:14 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,741
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Strictly speaking, Windows isn't the only operating system that it would be possible to get working with DRM copy-once channels, but Microsoft is the only company that has gone to the effort and expense to provide support for the PlayReady DRM. Windows Media Center is the only solution that will work if you have copy-once channels that you care about. If all the channels you care about are copy-freely, then your options expand by quite a bit, including JRiver Media Center and other DVR solutions on Windows and MythTV on Linux (as far as I can tell from searching, both the Ceton and SiliconDust CableCard tuners work, but only for unencrypted channels). I'm not familiar with TVHeadEnd, but a quick Google search suggests that it doesn't currently work with either the Ceton or SiliconDust CableCard tuners.

IMO, JRiver's TV functionality really isn't ready for prime time yet and pales compared to Windows Media Center. I haven't tried any of the other current Windows options, but in looking around I haven't seen any option that looks overly promising, so I've been sticking with Windows Media Center, which actually has pretty good TV functionality, even if it's pretty bad for most other Media Center duties.

Last edited by gsr; 01-08-2015 at 04:10 PM. Reason: Updated for accuracy...
gsr is online now  
Old 01-08-2015, 05:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ken.F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Rockhill, PA
Posts: 2,114
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by EiEiOoh View Post
Has anyone successfully installed the Ceton InfiniTV 6ETH on Linux for use with TVHeadend?

Please post instructions or a link to instructions
"Linux is not a supported operating system for InfiniTV. Ceton provides driver source for InfiniTV devices as a courtesy to customers. By using these tools you acknowledge and accept that you do so at your own risk and without the expectation of support from Ceton."

http://cetoncorp.com/infinitv_support/linux_drivers/
Ken.F is offline  
Old 01-08-2015, 09:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,534
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 484
Ceton has said that the ETH doesn't need any drivers to function (PCIe version does need drivers). What you install in Windows is just for the diagnostics, bridging, utilities, WMC setup, etc. It should work in Linux and support cable card. You just can record copy freely content outside of Windows and WMC.
mdavej is offline  
Old 01-08-2015, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
not encrypted (marked copy freely)
I don't believe this is one in the same, channels maybe be copy freely, but they may still be encrypted. i.e. ABC over the air ways via antenna, not encrypted, copy freely, but via Comcast in my area, it's encrypted, but copy freely. Going back to the Linux discussion, the latter would not work on Linux because of the lack of a certified platform like Media center. I don't believe cable is encrypted in all areas, so that would be a factor to consider.

PSN: CAPTDANMAN
dbailey75 is online now  
Old 01-08-2015, 10:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,534
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 484
According to this, Myth and Sage will work with cable card and encrypted copy freely on Linux.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...tware_packages
mdavej is offline  
Old 01-08-2015, 11:24 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,741
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey75 View Post
I don't believe this is one in the same
You're correct or course, I mis-poke there. I'll update my post to help minimize any confusion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
According to this, Myth and Sage will work with cable card and encrypted copy freely on Linux.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...tware_packages
Correct. Windows Media Center is the only package that can be used with copy-once content. And that chart is correct as it notes only DRM content that is marked as copy-freely is supported (see the 2nd chart and notes 11 and 16).

Last edited by gsr; 01-08-2015 at 04:13 PM. Reason: Updated for accuracy... (need to stop posting while doing other things at the same time)
gsr is online now  
Old 01-08-2015, 01:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
According to this, Myth and Sage will work with cable card and encrypted copy freely on Linux.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compari...tware_packages
I'm not 100% certain how all this works, but the fact remains, cable card tuners have become very popular thanks to SD and Ceton, and with MCE becoming the step child of MS, I don't understand why no other company has come out with an alternative fully functional product. I was hoping JRiver, being one of the commercial(for profit) media centers would get something going, but...

PSN: CAPTDANMAN
dbailey75 is online now  
Old 01-08-2015, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
You're correct or course, I mis-poke there. I'll update my post to help minimize any confusion.


As dbailey75 says, Windows Media Center is the only package that can be used with encrypted content. And that chart is correct as it notes only copy freely, DRM free content is supported (see the 2nd chart and notes 11 and 16).
maybe i'm confused, maybe encrypted works but not protected, i.e. copy once. IDK.

But all I can say, i'm loving my ETH, been going strong for over a year, after trading up from the Infinitv 4. I'm also about to finally give dynamic tuner pooling a go.

PSN: CAPTDANMAN
dbailey75 is online now  
Old 01-08-2015, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
You're correct or course, I mis-poke there. I'll update my post to help minimize any confusion.


As dbailey75 says, Windows Media Center is the only package that can be used with encrypted content. And that chart is correct as it notes only copy freely, DRM free content is supported (see the 2nd chart and notes 11 and 16).
you know, I'm mistaken, copy freely, encrypted content can be view using a cable card tuner (with active cable card) and should work with most media centers (that support cable card JRiver, Myth, Media Portal) for copy freely content, non cable card tuners, are the ones that can't because of the encryption, but any copy once or copy never content, MCE is the only option.
htpcforever likes this.

PSN: CAPTDANMAN

Last edited by dbailey75; 01-08-2015 at 01:41 PM.
dbailey75 is online now  
Old 01-08-2015, 04:06 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,741
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey75 View Post
you know, I'm mistaken, copy freely, encrypted content can be view using a cable card tuner (with active cable card) and should work with most media centers (that support cable card JRiver, Myth, Media Portal) for copy freely content, non cable card tuners, are the ones that can't because of the encryption, but any copy once or copy never content, MCE is the only option.
LOL That's what we get for posting eary-ish in the day and/or in between doing work. Sorry for adding to the confusion...

For most people, this means that most non premium channels (premium being channels like HBO and Showtime) can be viewed/recorded on both WMC and the other software options such as JRiver, MythTV, etc. For those who have cranky cable operators who mark pretty much everything as copy-once, WMC is the only option at this time.

Regarding JRiver, their team has addressed this on their forum a bit and it's a combination of cost and what it might mean for some of the other features in their software as they might have to make some unfavorable changes in order to implement the PlayReady or alternative DRM.
gsr is online now  
Old 01-08-2015, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
htpcforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey75 View Post
you know, I'm mistaken, copy freely, encrypted content can be view using a cable card tuner (with active cable card) and should work with most media centers (that support cable card JRiver, Myth, Media Portal) for copy freely content, non cable card tuners, are the ones that can't because of the encryption, but any copy once or copy never content, MCE is the only option.
Yeah, that is what I meant to say too.

Non-standard RAIDs can recover deleted files. Anyone who says RAID protection is only for failed drives is lying.
htpcforever is offline  
Old 01-08-2015, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,743
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 327
-encrypted /= copy-free
-anything in your cable package (USA at least) is encrypted
-All US cable is decrypted via the cablecard and cablecard-tuner (u-verse didn't have to comply with this and is iptv based decryption)
-after decryption (handled by the tuner) anything with the CCI bit of copy-free (0x00) can be played/recorded (timeshifted) in any capable media center software

However, I don't know of anyone getting the ceton going with those linux drivers (honestly the SD Prime is much easier and more supported)

I've used the prime to record and play Comcast with
-WMC
-NPVR
-MythTV

Didn't use Mediaportal, but it's supported as well. The wiki page should list NPVR with limited cablecard support just like Myth and Mediaportal

Instead of tvheadend, I'd recommend ServerWMC if possible. Much easier to setup a WMC-tv-server that way your guide data is free from MS instead of a $25 schedulesdirect subscription and you get a central recording directory with channel logos as well. Also, the prime is again a better choice for this route as the latest versions of ServerWMC support muxing the live streams straight from silicondust tuners skipping the buffering on your ServerWMC recorded tv drive
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 06:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
dbailey75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
LOL That's what we get for posting eary-ish in the day and/or in between doing work. Sorry for adding to the confusion...

For most people, this means that most non premium channels (premium being channels like HBO and Showtime) can be viewed/recorded on both WMC and the other software options such as JRiver, MythTV, etc. For those who have cranky cable operators who mark pretty much everything as copy-once, WMC is the only option at this time.

Regarding JRiver, their team has addressed this on their forum a bit and it's a combination of cost and what it might mean for some of the other features in their software as they might have to make some unfavorable changes in order to implement the PlayReady or alternative DRM.
yeah, I was feeling unmotivated at work yesterday, and then I got all excited that there were new posts, just had to respond, knee jerk reaction.

regarding Jriver or kodi, or who ever, yeah, i'm sure locking the code down, or what ever is required for play ready is not going to make some users happy, but their has to be some back door left open for plug ins/add ons which keeps the DRM intact. I have heard that Windows 10 will be adding MKV as a supported codec, but what's the future of MCE in Windows 10? So far I've passed on windows 8, except that I just got my kid one of those Windows 8.1 tablets for Xmas (runs really nice by the way for a slow bay trail proc), but I don't see myself upgrading to 8.1 pro for the sake of adding MCE.

PSN: CAPTDANMAN
dbailey75 is online now  
 

Tags
Ceton , Ceton Infinitv 6 Pcie 5205 Dct06in Pcie Six Tuner Card For Watching Digital Cable Tv On The Pc Pci E
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off