WARNING! Super Mico add AOC-SAS2LP-MV8 won't work with 64bit. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 06-10-2013, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
I have just finnished trouble shooting with Super Mico and they stated that the card will not work on 64bit OS.

Thin thread suggests other wise. So all I can gather at this time is that the AOC-SAS2LP-MV8 is not compatible.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 06-10-2013, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
jcruse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Relax...it works fine on 64-bit. I have one running on WHS 2011 with no problems.
jcruse is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 06-10-2013, 09:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Not working for me, and I have been conversing with Super Mico and they say that it is not compatible. So, the obvious next question is, exactly what driver and firmware did you install to get it to work?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #4 of 25 Old 06-10-2013, 10:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
jcruse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I installed the drivers from their website. There were three available, and I used the latest non-windows 8 version (the middle one)
jcruse is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 06-10-2013, 10:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
First of all, the AOC-SAS2LP-MV8 and the AOC-SASLP-MV8 are two different cards with different chipsets. The SASLP is the older 6480 while the SAS2LP is the newer 9480.

I have tested the SASLP on Windows 7 64bit with no issues using the Tempo drivers with 3 & 4TB drives. I have yet to test the SAS2LP. But they both should use the same Tempo driver.

Have you tried the Tempo driver? It's the newest driver for the Marvel chips...even newer than the ones provided by SM or Windows update.
Killroy is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 06-10-2013, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
@jcruse, are you talking about the middle driver in this link?

ftp://ftp.supermicro.com/driver/SAS/Marvell/MV8/SAS2/Driver/Windows/

And the first folder in this link,

ftp://ftp.supermicro.com/driver/SAS/Marvell/MV8/SAS2/Firmware/

At Killroy, where do I get a Tempo driver?

Is this the one?

http://www.sonnettech.com/support/kb/kb.php?cat=342&expand=_a3&action=b150#b150

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 06-11-2013, 12:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
jcruse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by JapanDave View Post

@jcruse, are you talking about the middle driver in this link?

ftp://ftp.supermicro.com/driver/SAS/Marvell/MV8/SAS2/Driver/Windows/

And the first folder in this link,

ftp://ftp.supermicro.com/driver/SAS/Marvell/MV8/SAS2/Firmware/

At Killroy, where do I get a Tempo driver?

Is this the one?

http://www.sonnettech.com/support/kb/kb.php?cat=342&expand=_a3&action=b150#b150

Yes, I'm using the 4.0.0.2103 drivers.

I didn't update the firmware, since the SAS2 had no problems with large drives (supposedly you have to update the 1st generation AOC-SASLP-MV8 firmware to accept drives larger than 3 TB).
jcruse is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 06-11-2013, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by JapanDave View Post


At Killroy, where do I get a Tempo driver?

Is this the one?

http://www.sonnettech.com/support/kb/kb.php?cat=342&expand=_a3&action=b150#b150

Yes, those are the newer 4.2.0.0 drivers. Like I said I have tested the SASLP with 64bit but with the Tempo driver it should work on both. Try them and if it does not work you can always re-install the SM drivers.

BTW... what OS are you using? I know that there are some issues with WHS, WSS, & WSE with Unique ID.
Killroy is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 06-11-2013, 06:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,147
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1007
I've seen others running it on forums. I'm sure it works.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 06-11-2013, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

Yes, those are the newer 4.2.0.0 drivers. Like I said I have tested the SASLP with 64bit but with the Tempo driver it should work on both. Try them and if it does not work you can always re-install the SM drivers.

BTW... what OS are you using? I know that there are some issues with WHS, WSS, & WSE with Unique ID.

I am using Windows Home server 2011 64bit. And I also am having trouble linking the HTPC to it due to it not accepting my password.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 06-11-2013, 05:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by JapanDave View Post

I am using Windows Home server 2011 64bit. And I also am having trouble linking the HTPC to it due to it not accepting my password.

I wonder if the problem you are having is with the OS not the 64bit. Could be UniqueID issue that everyone seems to talk about.

BTW... another reason why I prefer Win7 over the server OS.
Killroy is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 06-11-2013, 05:57 PM
Member
 
JL-F1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killroy View Post

I wonder if the problem you are having is with the OS not the 64bit. Could be UniqueID issue that everyone seems to talk about.

BTW... another reason why I prefer Win7 over the server OS.


could you post a link or info about the uniqueID issue, I searched 'WHS uniqueID issue' and nothing comes up, thanks
JL-F1 is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 06-11-2013, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by JL-F1 View Post

could you post a link or info about the uniqueID issue, I searched 'WHS uniqueID issue' and nothing comes up, thanks

I saw it here first and on one other forum (Hard Forum) but I can't find it now... http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/winserver8gen/thread/578a4c17-ed61-4d1a-837b-bdde46f2e7fe

Not sure if its related but I find it interesting that you are having issues with a 64bit server OS when all other 64-bit OS seem to work fine.

Win7 64-bit FTW...sorry, had to do it.
Killroy is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 06-14-2013, 06:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
I am going to take a hammer to this ****ing card. I still can't get it to work and due to the fact that I can't find the driver in the unistall part of the Control panel, I have to do complete re-install of the OS so I can clear the driver each time I try a different one.

How do you uninstall the drivers when they don't show up on the control panel uninstall page?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 06-14-2013, 06:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Never mind I uninstalled the drivers.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 06-14-2013, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Can someone suggest another card? I am going f**k this Super Mico card up with a blow torch tomorrow.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 06-14-2013, 08:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,147
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1007
Sell it ebay and get an IBM and just flash it.

There's info in my server thread how to flash it.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 06-14-2013, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Sell it ebay and get an IBM and just flash it.

There's info in my server thread how to flash it.

I was thinking the same thing, but when you read through the thread you can predict there will be trouble flashing it to IT mode.

Also for the OP's issue, I think the problem isn't in the drivers not being 64-bit compatible, but that the utility to flash the card's firmware isn't 64-bit compatible.

bryansj is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 06-14-2013, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Sell it ebay and get an IBM and just flash it.

There's info in my server thread how to flash it.

Good idea, I would get much more satisfaction out of taking a blow torch to the cards though. I just don't get it, I have re-installed Home Server about 6 times now, each time trying something new. What is weird though, is that when the driver is installed and I disconnect all other Sata cables and just use one card to see if it boots,well it does. No driver and I get a system error. So , the card will pick up the system drive but nothing else. What is happening here????

What is an IBM and what is flashing it?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 06-14-2013, 06:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,147
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1007
Ask and you shall receive:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1438027/planning-to-rebuild-my-20tb-whs-flexraid-server-information-requested/700_100#post_23095050







Guide to Flash IBM 1015 to IT mode [Converting an LSI9240(IBM M1015) to a LSI9211-IT mode]


First make a USB bootable stick so you can boot into DOS command prompt.
You can do so easily here: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/46707-ms-dos-bootable-flash-drive-create.html


Once you have that you need to copy the files onto the USB stick so you can reflash your IBM card with them.
First download from here:

http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/topic/29059-sas2008-lsi92409211-firmware-files/

first do this:



Inside the folder looks like this:



then inside that looks like this:



This ^ above is what you want on your USB stick. It is really all you should see since the OS files for DOS are hidden and do not show.

Hardware matters: (make sure you have x8 slot and speed)
Find an older motherboard without modern graphical BIOS for best results, and make sure the board your using can run x8 in the slot the card is installed into. If you have a choice install the IBM 1015 into the top or first slot for best results. Many motherboards have multiple x8 or x16 slots (I used x16 just like a video card would) since x8 cards fit perfectly into x16 video card slots with simply extra room unused in the x16 slot. Caution: Many motherboards with video cards will not run x8 speed when a x16 video card is also installed. You’ll need a fairly high end motherboard to have such features if your boards are older. Otherwise a motherboard without a video card is preferable IMO. I used an Asus LGA775 ROG Deluxe with a Core2duo E8500 in it. Being a ROG board it could run x8 speed on the second slot and I flashed the card successfully from beginning to end using this board after failing on several others.


The next step is to boot up into DOS (command prompt)

Once you have booted successfully to DOS using your bootable USB stick and are seeing C:\
Type: megarec -writesbr 0 sbrempty.bin [hit enter]
[The system will do a bunch of things and come back to C:\]





Type: megarec -cleanflash 0 [hit enter]
[The system will do a bunch of things and come back to C:\]
REBOOT MANUALLY and boot back to USB stick







Type: sas2flsh -o -f 2118it.bin -b mptsas2.rom (sas2flsh -o -f 2118it.bin if OptionROM is not needed) [hit enter]
[The system will do a bunch of things and come back to C:\]
*note it is a o and not a 0 (it is not a zero)
** You probably do not want an OPTION ROM unless your going to boot from it. It is safer and smarter to not use OPTION ROM and to use your OS drive from a motherboard SATA port IMO. Having no option ROM also allows you to just quickly boot up when restarting and there is not screen in boot up for your IBM card. I like it this way.






Type: sas2flsh -o -sasadd 500605bxxxxxxxxx (x= numbers for SAS address) [hit enter]
[The system will do a bunch of things and come back to C:\]
*There is a green (almost white) Sticker on your card with this address.
**it is a o and not an 0 (not a zero but a letter)
***There should be no spaces and no dashes when entering in the sasadd number even though they are on the sticker and card.



REBOOT MANUALLY and boot back to USB stick
Now you're Done!







I have expanded this:
Quote:
Convert LSI9240(IBM M1015) to a LSI9211-IT mode
Type in the following exactly:
megarec -writesbr 0 sbrempty.bin
megarec -cleanflash 0

sas2flsh -o -f 2118it.bin -b mptsas2.rom (sas2flsh -o -f 2118it.bin if OptionROM is not needed)
sas2flsh -o -sasadd 500605bxxxxxxxxx (x= numbers for SAS address)

Done!

I thought this^ above was a little less clear so I provided the extra in the steps above for basic help so a newbie will know what to do without making the mistakes that are common.

That is basically all it takes. It takes about 10 minutes total assuming you have compatible hardware. If you do not have compatible hardware your will see errors or not the screens above with "success" after each step.


If you see these screens or anything other than the ones I put above each step it probably means your motherboard your using is not a good choice. I'd suggest finding another one and trying again from the first step. I messed up a bunch of times everytime I have flashed one of these and it always turned out great in the end. I'm not sure you can even brick a card. I think you could wipe it clean and flash it even if you did. But YMMV so be careful and follow the steps exactly.


good luck!



PS: I would take a read through the link I gave above and my server thread and take a look at both times I flashed an IBM I encountered issues. Understanding what your getting into before you do is advisable. The ease of the process is dependent if you have compatible hardware (motherboard) to flash it.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #21 of 25 Old 06-14-2013, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Thanks for the awesome post. Look complicated for someone who how errors stick to him like sh!t.

What expansion cards do I need to buy?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 06-15-2013, 02:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post


Also for the OP's issue, I think the problem isn't in the drivers not being 64-bit compatible, but that the utility to flash the card's firmware isn't 64-bit compatible.

That , I think is the issue here.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 06-15-2013, 07:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,147
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1007
Quote:
Originally Posted by JapanDave View Post

Thanks for the awesome post. Look complicated for someone who how errors stick to him like sh!t.

What expansion cards do I need to buy?

IBM 1015

It was in bold above smile.gif

You can still buy one and use it- but flashing it to IT turns it into a $250 HBA card without needing to spend $250- which is why it is so popular to do. Performance and reliability of these cards seems pretty good, I know about 20 people using them with good luck including some regulars around here.

Are you really in Japan ? I'm sure I could flash it for you, or even someone else around here. But shipping to Japan might be $$$ If you started a post asking for someone to do it I am sure someone would step up. I've had two others offer to flash mine for me when I hit some trouble- but I ended up fixing it ok.

When you flash it you can remove the BIOS screen, and the raid boot up function and make it a totally transparent HBA sata card. The extra ports just show on your WHS2011 and there is no drivers needed. I just stuck mine in and it worked- WHS has the native driver for it already built in. There is no BIOS boot screens to slow you down and the card is an x8 and gives good performance. If I had to pick a negative about it it would be you have to flash it and that it runs a little hot. I'm very happy with mine.

Ebay often has them cheap.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 06-16-2013, 08:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,147
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1007
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1438027/planning-to-rebuild-my-20tb-whs-flexraid-server-information-requested/1000_100#post_23433277

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #25 of 25 Old 06-18-2013, 09:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,147
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 1007
I'm considering the lot of 10 cards but I'd flash one or two for you if you need.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off