Intel Haswell LGA 1150 (Socket H3) Stock Cooler Noise - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 177 Old 06-16-2013, 12:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Nice^

Sorry to hijack your thread

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 177 Old 06-16-2013, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 110
I put a huge Noctua NH-D14 on my 4770k, OC'ed at 4400 Mhz.
That thing is very massive and also not cheap, however the huge passive cooler alone is enough that the motherboard shuts the CPU fans off during normal PC usage like browsing or using other apps that don't really tax the system. So unless i start using the CPU, its whisper quiet. smile.gif

I ran with the stock cooler before the cooler got here last week, and while at idle i couldn't really hear it either, at load it did get rather noisy, so i wouldn't recommend sticking with it.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #93 of 177 Old 06-16-2013, 02:33 PM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by UrbanSmooth View Post

Alright, my experiment with the stock cooler is over. While temps weren't all that terrible overall for a stock cooler (average in the mid to upper 50C range for light work/idle, close to 80C at load), the fan constantly kicking up and down in order to keep the temps under control really irks me. It's time for this build to run under the cooler that I bought just for this build, the Noctua NH-L9i. I will also be replacing the stock 80mm case fan with a Noctua 80mm fan. I was going to cut a hole in the back of the case in order to fit a 92mm Noctua fan, but, it just didn't work out in the measuring process. Oh well, cooler, quieter days ahead. biggrin.gif

Doesn't Asrock fan controlling settings in the bios or it's proprietary software have a "smoothness" setting?
Asus brought the ramp up speed or whatever it's called with the 7 series boards (FanXpert2) and I tried it on my 6 series Gene-Z board and it actually worked properly.
I can adjust the ramp up and down intensity with it along with the usual speed settings so when the cpu heats up FanXpert2 will raise the fan speed slowly so it isn't so sharp. The slowest setting looked like it went up at a rate of 1sec/1% or something like that biggrin.gif read: REALLY slow.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #94 of 177 Old 06-16-2013, 03:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

I put a huge Noctua NH-D14 on my 4770k, OC'ed at 4400 Mhz.
That thing is very massive and also not cheap, however the huge passive cooler alone is enough that the motherboard shuts the CPU fans off during normal PC usage like browsing or using other apps that don't really tax the system. So unless i start using the CPU, its whisper quiet. smile.gif

I ran with the stock cooler before the cooler got here last week, and while at idle i couldn't really hear it either, at load it did get rather noisy, so i wouldn't recommend sticking with it.

What voltage are you are at with 4400mhz?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #95 of 177 Old 06-16-2013, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
UrbanSmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Nice^

Sorry to hijack your thread

No problem at all, bro. It's all pretty much on subject, anyway! I prefer people to respond to the thread rather than let it pass by.

WANTED: 16:10 120Hz monitors for triple surround gaming/Google Earth browsing.

UrbanSmooth is offline  
post #96 of 177 Old 06-16-2013, 11:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

What voltage are you are at with 4400mhz?

Didn't change them at all, let the BIOS deal with it. Its perfectly stable, when stress-testing it gets quite hot (~80), so maybe i'll go down to 4300, but on the other hand, stress testing is extremely high load, usual usage will never reach it.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #97 of 177 Old 06-16-2013, 11:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

Didn't change them at all, let the BIOS deal with it. Its perfectly stable, when stress-testing it gets quite hot (~80), so maybe i'll go down to 4300, but on the other hand, stress testing is extremely high load, usual usage will never reach it.

You set the voltage to auto? Might not want to do that. What did the auto setting change the vcore to?
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #98 of 177 Old 06-17-2013, 01:08 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You might want to instead use the offset voltage at manual
Just change it from auto to manual and input + 0.005 and test if it's stable in every kind of load. If ain't up the offset one notch and test and so on.
There are plenty of guides.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #99 of 177 Old 06-17-2013, 05:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

Didn't change them at all, let the BIOS deal with it. Its perfectly stable, when stress-testing it gets quite hot (~80), so maybe i'll go down to 4300, but on the other hand, stress testing is extremely high load, usual usage will never reach it.

You set the voltage to auto? Might not want to do that. What did the auto setting change the vcore to?

1.18 on mine.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #100 of 177 Old 06-17-2013, 05:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

What voltage are you are at with 4400mhz?

Didn't change them at all, let the BIOS deal with it. Its perfectly stable, when stress-testing it gets quite hot (~80), so maybe i'll go down to 4300, but on the other hand, stress testing is extremely high load, usual usage will never reach it.

You might drop down temps if you tune the adaptive voltage better. I only have a $20 air cooler and I'm seeing 80c temps at 4400mhz too but for normal use temps are fine.

Before I tuned the adaptive voltage I was pretty HOT at 4600mhz. (96c)

I backed down to 4400mhz and tuned the voltage and I'm in 30s and 40s unless I'm stress testing.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #101 of 177 Old 06-17-2013, 05:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
I still crash 4800mhz if I stress test frown.gif

I can boot and run normal apps just fine but it hates the CPU bench tests. I wanted to see if I had a 12,000 pass mark score and it always BSOD the test.

It's "almost" stable.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #102 of 177 Old 06-17-2013, 06:08 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Better to back down a little. Unstable CPU ain't nice. Especially if you do any work on yours.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #103 of 177 Old 06-17-2013, 07:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
4400mhz is pretty safe... my temps stay pretty cool and no crashes smile.gif I wouldn't want to push 4600mhz+ long term without a water cooler or de-lidding. Stress testing 4600mhz hit 96c eek.gif and I turned it off. It was otherwise stable though... smile.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #104 of 177 Old 06-17-2013, 07:37 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Best to keep the temps down as well. Voltage as low as possible so the temperatures keep in check.
The hotter it gets the faster the power consumption goes up. There is a thread somewhere in the infinite interwebz with quite thorough testing of temperature vs power consumption on a 3770K (or was it 2600K hrmm) but can't find it right now. Don't even remember where is saw it lol.

E: And the moment I post this, THEN I find it..
Again it's Idontcare's thread biggrin.gif
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2281195
Should apply to Haswell as well, at least some what.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #105 of 177 Old 06-17-2013, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I still crash 4800mhz if I stress test frown.gif

I can boot and run normal apps just fine but it hates the CPU bench tests. I wanted to see if I had a 12,000 pass mark score and it always BSOD the test.

It's "almost" stable.

Weren't you stable at 4.8Ghz with 1.25v?
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #106 of 177 Old 06-17-2013, 10:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
To cruise around AVS yes. To run a stress test or benchmark ... No. frown.gif

It seems to run almost stable. I don't crash on normal stuff but it crashes on the Passmark CPU benchmark, and it gets too hot to run a stress test too long.

I definitely would not want this settings for a daily driver. 4400mhz seems the safe bet. 4.8 is just to say you can. tongue.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #107 of 177 Old 06-18-2013, 08:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Overclocking the GPU effects stability and temps from what I am seeing

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #108 of 177 Old 06-18-2013, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Overclocking the GPU effects stability and temps from what I am seeing

No way, overclocking increases temps and reduces stability? Who would've guessed!

cool.gif
jim2100 likes this.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #109 of 177 Old 06-18-2013, 05:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Overclocking the GPU effects stability and temps from what I am seeing

No way, overclocking increases temps and reduces stability? Who would've guessed!

cool.gif

Well- I'll give you that. Perhaps I should have phrased it better. I meant to just point out I am not stable and cool as high a clock speed if I bump the GPU to 1600mhz+
Are you overclocking your GPU ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #110 of 177 Old 06-18-2013, 11:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 110
My Intel GPU is just running some desktop screens, no 3D or video load required, so, no.
My main 30" screen is connected to a NVIDIA GTX 780 which does all the hard work, and my HTPC has a GTX 660 because the Ivy Bridge in it is just too slow (not that Haswell would change that much).
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #111 of 177 Old 06-19-2013, 08:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
jim2100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

...I am not stable and cool...

New quote for your sig? wink.gif
jim2100 is offline  
post #112 of 177 Old 06-19-2013, 08:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim2100 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

...I am not stable and cool...

New quote for your sig? wink.gif

It has potential. tongue.gif

potential-206x300.jpg

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #113 of 177 Old 06-19-2013, 11:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 130
A few people on OC . net are running their K cpus at > 6ghz, not sure what cooler they're using, probably water I'm guessing. You can get a decent AIO water cooler for like 75$ now, I'm personally more curious about making a fully passive water cooled system, well, except for the pump obviously. I wish there were more CPU+GPU water cooled AIO solutions that weren't utterly massive or uber expensive.
RLBURNSIDE is offline  
post #114 of 177 Old 06-19-2013, 12:17 PM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Well- I'll give you that. Perhaps I should have phrased it better. I meant to just point out I am not stable and cool as high a clock speed if I bump the GPU to 1600mhz+
Are you overclocking your GPU ?
I couldn't get my HD4000 above 1600Mhz either, no matter how much voltage I shoved at it LOL
So you got it to 1600Mhz then?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post

A few people on OC . net are running their K cpus at > 6ghz, not sure what cooler they're using, probably water I'm guessing. You can get a decent AIO water cooler for like 75$ now, I'm personally more curious about making a fully passive water cooled system, well, except for the pump obviously. I wish there were more CPU+GPU water cooled AIO solutions that weren't utterly massive or uber expensive.

I personally wouldn't bother with passive rads. You need hell of a lot of surface area to pull it off.
Room ambient temps are crucial as well.
In my honest opinion, a low FPI rad or two with low speed fans would be more worth it.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #115 of 177 Old 06-19-2013, 12:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by RLBURNSIDE View Post

A few people on OC . net are running their K cpus at > 6ghz, not sure what cooler they're using, probably water I'm guessing. You can get a decent AIO water cooler for like 75$ now, I'm personally more curious about making a fully passive water cooled system, well, except for the pump obviously. I wish there were more CPU+GPU water cooled AIO solutions that weren't utterly massive or uber expensive.

There is no way someone is running a Haswell K series at 6ghz.

funny-no-way-dog.jpg
not-possible.jpg

Mine would melt at 5ghz if I could make it boot.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #116 of 177 Old 06-19-2013, 12:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by lagittaja View Post



I couldn't get my HD4000 above 1600Mhz either, no matter how much voltage I shoved at it LOL
So you got it to 1600Mhz then?

Yeah I can run 1600mhz biggrin.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #117 of 177 Old 06-19-2013, 12:21 PM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

There is no way someone is running a Haswell K series at 6ghz.

funny-no-way-dog.jpg
not-possible.jpg

Mine would melt at 5ghz if I could make it boot.

Perhaps not with conventional cooling methods but switch over to SS for daily or LN2 for benching and whole other world opens up

http://www.techpowerup.com/183476/intel-core-i7-4770k-overclocked-to-7-ghz.html

Online acquaintance of mine is running his 4770K at this kind of speeds.
http://murobbs.plaza.fi/1711168393-post226.html
http://murobbs.plaza.fi/1711171096-post233.html

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #118 of 177 Old 06-19-2013, 12:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777




-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #119 of 177 Old 06-19-2013, 12:34 PM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Here is his highest CPU-Z validation
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2835665
According to his rig at OCN his daily driver is 5.3Ghz

So, running with 1600Mhz then with the HD4600. Have you had the time to run Heaven benchmark or SVPMark?

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #120 of 177 Old 06-19-2013, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 130
As I said, several of those links confirm > 5ghz and low 6 ghz OCs. I personally only care about stable OCs with HT on and decent temps (without using liquid nitrogen or something absurd like that), but it is good to know the outliers of what these K cpus can achieve, if only to get some stats on where your CPU lies in the bell curve.

Plus, when there are a ton of variables including RAM, MB, PSU, and myriad MB parameters, this type of data collection seems very handy to get to the bottom of it.
RLBURNSIDE is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off