Intel Haswell LGA 1150 (Socket H3) Stock Cooler Noise - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 177 Old 07-14-2013, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobbyTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
why such a question?

of course a stock cooler is going to be noisy and to be avoided!

am I missing something??
RobbyTV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 177 Old 07-14-2013, 04:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbyTV View Post

why such a question?

of course a stock cooler is going to be noisy and to be avoided!

am I missing something??

Often stock coolers are not noisy , they just don't cool as well for serious CPU or overclocking

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #153 of 177 Old 07-15-2013, 02:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Often stock coolers are not noisy , they just don't cool as well for serious CPU or overclocking

The problem is that they become noisy when the CPU heats up and the cooler has to spin at 100%. Noise and Temperature are usually linked closely. smile.gif
Even most high-end coolers are rather noisy when they run at 100%, they are just better because they cool more and this 100% fan point is pushed up to higher temperatures.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #154 of 177 Old 07-15-2013, 03:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,110
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Mfusick uses Cooler Master COSMOS II, perhaps that's part of reason why he can't hear the fan noise.
renethx is offline  
post #155 of 177 Old 07-15-2013, 05:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Mfusick uses Cooler Master COSMOS II, perhaps that's part of reason why he can't hear the fan noise.

I use the intel cooler on my HTPC smile.gif

It's a 3570k, but I haven't overclocked it. For simple playback it's quiet - but my HTPC is also in an Antec300 case in my media closet too. I'm assuming Haswell has not changed much- ( it looks the same to me ) but I never installed it.

If it was in a mini ITX on shelf next to me I might be more sensitive. My set up doesn't seem to have any noise.

I've built plenty of budget builds on stock cooler and never noticed much problems. I think for normal uses the stock cooler is good. If you using a quad core - and doing gaming, encoding, SVP etc... You might want a better cooler.

I don't think the stock intel cooler is all that bad. It's not awesome but it works. Also - it's ok to have a CPU hotter than 50c at load. 60c or even 70c is fine.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #156 of 177 Old 07-15-2013, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
sycochkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The problem I have had with higher CPU temperatures is the solder connections from the CPU socket to the mainboard have failed.
sycochkn is offline  
post #157 of 177 Old 08-08-2013, 03:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by sycochkn View Post

The problem I have had with higher CPU temperatures is the solder connections from the CPU socket to the mainboard have failed.

I can't say I have ever seen this in the 30+ builds I have done recently (including some I overclock to the moon almost wrecklessly )

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #158 of 177 Old 08-08-2013, 05:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

2400 with looser timings is always better than 1600 with tighter timings. Real-world difference is very small (say, 5% at most), though.

3DMark 2013 score (Cloud Gate DX10) and x264 benchmark with Core i5-4670+iGPU:
Code:
Memory                | Score | Graphics | Physics | x264
DDR3-2400 10-12-12-31 | 6887  |   7616   |  5161   | 32.07fps
DDR3-1600 8-8-8-24    | 6625  |   7328   |  4962   | 30.83fps

You can buy DDR3 2400 11-13-13-31 2 x 4GB kit only for $65 anyway, no reason to go with DDR3-1600 or 1866. 10-12-12-31 (Ripjaws Z, Trident X) costs more ($80, $82), but still only $15-17 difference.

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/GSkill/F3-2400C10D-8GTX/8.html

I agree.

You can always run 2400mhz with tighter timing too. In certain things this can be faster- but generally the higher speed is better.
UrbanSmooth likes this.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #159 of 177 Old 08-11-2013, 02:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
UrbanSmooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
It's fine as long as your BIOS recognizes the speed. Only certain ones will support certain RAM speeds. It is important to do the research on your desired mobo purchase before grabbing the fastest RAM sticks available. And you can take that to the bank, kids. cool.gif

WANTED: 16:10 120Hz monitors for triple surround gaming/Google Earth browsing.

UrbanSmooth is offline  
post #160 of 177 Old 08-11-2013, 04:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,110
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Basically

- All Z87 mb support RAM speeds higher than 1600 (with any Core / Pentium processor).
- All H87 / B85 mb support only the default speed (1600/1333 with Core processors and some Pentium, 1333 with some Pentium).
renethx is offline  
post #161 of 177 Old 08-20-2013, 04:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
I usually either have a "Z" chip like Z68 /Z77/ or Z87 and a K series CPU, or I buy entry level and a celeron or pentium that does not support overclocking. Example G530 + H61, H77+G1620 etc...

If you need the higher speed, your motherboard should accept it and also support overclocking. You don't need high ram speed on basic chips because they won't support it.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #162 of 177 Old 08-20-2013, 04:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,110
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

You don't need high ram speed on basic chips because they won't support it.

That's incorrect. Every chip (since Sandy Bridge), Celeron to Core i7, supports higher RAM speeds such as DDR3-2166 or even DDR3-2400. You just need a Z chipset mb.
renethx is offline  
post #163 of 177 Old 08-20-2013, 04:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
I guess I meant I don't bother with such on the budget chips that are locked and match them with cheaper motherboards and ram. Good correction.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #164 of 177 Old 08-24-2013, 12:05 AM
Newbie
 
baphomet58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry this is kind of off topic, but can someone explain what the rattle is? the stock fan that came with my g1610 has a louder version of that background rattle in the video. I have it on the lowest possible rpm for the motherboard (~1000rpm), but the rattle is annoyingly present. My i3 3225 stock fan has a different sound that isn't annoying at all. They all look the same, but are these stock fans actually identitcal (at least around the recent generations)? I don't want to return it just to have the same situation again.
baphomet58 is offline  
post #165 of 177 Old 10-10-2013, 08:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

Real world usage you see no benefit going over 1866 on Ivy.. that may not be the case on Haswell though. Yet to be determined.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7364/memory-scaling-on-haswell

2400mhz is probably a good option all around.

Quote:
Originally Posted by baphomet58 View Post

sorry this is kind of off topic, but can someone explain what the rattle is? the stock fan that came with my g1610 has a louder version of that background rattle in the video. I have it on the lowest possible rpm for the motherboard (~1000rpm), but the rattle is annoyingly present. My i3 3225 stock fan has a different sound that isn't annoying at all. They all look the same, but are these stock fans actually identitcal (at least around the recent generations)? I don't want to return it just to have the same situation again.

Sounds like its not secured properly
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Basically

- All Z87 mb support RAM speeds higher than 1600 (with any Core / Pentium processor).
- All H87 / B85 mb support only the default speed (1600/1333 with Core processors and some Pentium, 1333 with some Pentium).

So you can not overclock iGPU or memory on H but you can on Z ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #166 of 177 Old 10-18-2013, 11:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Anyone know a good water cooler ? I am considering one for my COSMOS II case. What's good ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #167 of 177 Old 10-18-2013, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
emcdade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Anyone know a good water cooler ? I am considering one for my COSMOS II case. What's good ?

Are you looking for an all-in-one closed loop? Or a small loop?

The Corsair and Antec units are pretty decent for all-in-one solutions.

I'm partial to EK for a real loop.



Plus, they are quite a bit of fun to build if you like that sort of thing!
emcdade is offline  
post #168 of 177 Old 10-18-2013, 11:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
I need something that would work well on my COOLERMASTER COSMOS II and 4470k Asrock Extreme 4 machine.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #169 of 177 Old 10-18-2013, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
emcdade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I would go with a Corsair H100i if you just want to cool your CPU.



Here's one installed in your case, part of 2011 Dream Machine build:





If you get a big-boy GPU and want to add it to the loop as well, I'd suggest going with a custom loop from EK. Here's a few pics from my old gaming rig. I sold it recently and bought a pair of speakers though biggrin.gif





emcdade is offline  
post #170 of 177 Old 11-18-2013, 10:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
This is on my to do list. I think I want to mod my COSMOS and do some fancy cooling and make it look slick with cable sleeves and stuff. For no reason other than I can... tongue.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #171 of 177 Old 12-05-2013, 03:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
emcdade what are you running ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #172 of 177 Old 12-20-2013, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
emcdade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Just noticed your post.

My gaming PC had a 2600k, 7970 lightning, and maximus iv extreme mobo. All cooled by a 480 mm radiator, and EK water blocks. Sold it a while back to buy some speakers, but I'm planning a new build soon. Potentially a water cooled gaming htpc in one of these:

Mfusick likes this.
emcdade is offline  
post #173 of 177 Old 01-30-2014, 06:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by emcdade View Post

Just noticed your post.

My gaming PC had a 2600k, 7970 lightning, and maximus iv extreme mobo. All cooled by a 480 mm radiator, and EK water blocks. Sold it a while back to buy some speakers, but I'm planning a new build soon. Potentially a water cooled gaming htpc in one of these:


What are you planning for your "new" build ?

I had a 2600k i7 on an Asus Z68 Deluxe previous to my 4770k (which now seems old and I am anxious to upgrade). My choice is go cheap with next generation 1150, or if I just make the jump to socket 2011 ?

My 2600k i7 I just transplanted into my Flexraid server and I am super happy with it. That chip is awesome in general. A 2600k is still more than enough CPU for any gaming rig, even with dual high end cards it won't fall behind.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #174 of 177 Old 01-31-2014, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
emcdade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

What are you planning for your "new" build ?

I had a 2600k i7 on an Asus Z68 Deluxe previous to my 4770k (which now seems old and I am anxious to upgrade). My choice is go cheap with next generation 1150, or if I just make the jump to socket 2011 ?

My 2600k i7 I just transplanted into my Flexraid server and I am super happy with it. That chip is awesome in general. A 2600k is still more than enough CPU for any gaming rig, even with dual high end cards it won't fall behind.

I ended up building a new gaming desktop instead of a gaming HTPC (I already have 2x HTPCs with HD 7750s in them, so good enough for video). I'm really, really hoping that home streaming with Steam OS will not suck, and that I will soon be able to render games on my new desktop and stream them to my much smaller HTPC's in the great room and media room. The case above, while awesome, was going to run about $1,200 with the cooling radiators and etc., so I decided money would be better spent elsewhere.

I will post pics this weekend. She is a graphical beast though....GTX 780 Ti!! biggrin.gif
emcdade is offline  
post #175 of 177 Old 02-07-2014, 02:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by emcdade View Post

I ended up building a new gaming desktop instead of a gaming HTPC (I already have 2x HTPCs with HD 7750s in them, so good enough for video). I'm really, really hoping that home streaming with Steam OS will not suck, and that I will soon be able to render games on my new desktop and stream them to my much smaller HTPC's in the great room and media room. The case above, while awesome, was going to run about $1,200 with the cooling radiators and etc., so I decided money would be better spent elsewhere.

I will post pics this weekend. She is a graphical beast though....GTX 780 Ti!! biggrin.gif

Nice. Congrats.

I am thinking about upgrading my video card soon (I need two GPU cards for other stuff and plan to repurpose my current one)

I can't seem to find any good deals on a video card. Budget about $200 each (I need 2)

Thinking the R9 270 or 270X might be a good choice the price is like $50 more than the 7870 was, and I know it's too high.

I'd love to check out your pics when you get a chance.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #176 of 177 Old 03-06-2014, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can I assume the stock cooler would do for a stock clocked, locked i5-4570 (3.2GHz), or at least be quieter than the HD7790 it's paired with in a gaming rig?
Ruiner is offline  
post #177 of 177 Old 03-09-2014, 10:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

Can I assume the stock cooler would do for a stock clocked, locked i5-4570 (3.2GHz), or at least be quieter than the HD7790 it's paired with in a gaming rig?

I think so.
Yup. Should work good. If you are ultra sensitive to noise you can always upgrade later the cooler. But at stock clocks the stock cooler is fine. Having a powerful CPU does not mean it runs at 100% either. Often times buying more CPU than you need lets it's run at a lower clock speed and cooler than a less powerful CPU during the same tasks (like gaming or watching a movie)

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off