Solaris 11 zfs server recommendation for media server - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 38 Old 06-24-2013, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dimyself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok great! is this the same motherboard as the MBD-X9SCM-IIF? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813182773&Tpk=MBD-X9SCM-IIF&IsVirtualParent=1

http://www.esaitech.com/supermicro-x9scm-iif-o-intel-c204-express-lga-1155-ddr3-1600mhz-micro-atx-motherboard.html?pk_campaign=ga-pla&gclid=CMP-vYTC_bcCFWdo7Aod0l8AYg
dimyself is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 38 Old 06-24-2013, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Looks the same to me, By part number and description, although the picture is of a different motherboard.

The last letter is packaging. The -O means Retail. The -B means Bulk.

From what I have read, these Supermicro boards are real picky about memory.
This is what I have in my board.
http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?name=D38GE1600S#
dimyself likes this.

Andy_Steb is offline  
post #33 of 38 Old 06-24-2013, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_Steb View Post

Looks the same to me, By part number and description, although the picture is of a different motherboard.

The last letter is packaging. The -O means Retail. The -B means Bulk.

From what I have read, these Supermicro boards are real picky about memory.
This is what I have in my board.
http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?name=D38GE1600S#

We build supermicro based storage servers for bulk backup and archiving of data. Most are using XEON E-54** series processors. I put Kingston Value RAM in all of them. Kingston has a handy tool that will let you search by motherboard model so you buy the right RAM:

http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/search/options/
dimyself likes this.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #34 of 38 Old 06-24-2013, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dimyself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I got the cpu, motherboard, and ram!! I ended up getting the kingston ram on their page...can't wait for it all to arrive biggrin.gif
dimyself is offline  
post #35 of 38 Old 06-24-2013, 04:36 PM
Member
 
jmelan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
i have used a couple of supermicro boards - kingston value ECC ram in both with no problems

good luck with the build! should be a great setup for solaris

if you need more hard drives than motherboard SATA slots, then
the m1015 flashed to IT is a great option
jmelan is offline  
post #36 of 38 Old 08-21-2013, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dimyself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi! I know its been awhile...... but...... i'm in need of a sata card for 4tb drives. The M1015 chipset you mentioned flashed with IT will be sufficient? Are there any other sata cards that you guys can suggest? I don't want raid just passive sata. 4 port will probably be enough and it needs to be PCIE thanks!
dimyself is offline  
post #37 of 38 Old 08-21-2013, 09:25 PM
Senior Member
 
mcturkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimyself View Post

Hi! I know its been awhile...... but...... i'm in need of a sata card for 4tb drives. The M1015 chipset you mentioned flashed with IT will be sufficient? Are there any other sata cards that you guys can suggest? I don't want raid just passive sata. 4 port will probably be enough and it needs to be PCIE thanks!

Yeah, the M1015 will be fine, but if you only need 4 ports, there are likely cheaper options on NewEgg or Amazon
mcturkey is offline  
post #38 of 38 Old 08-23-2013, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dimyself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can you recommend any other cards/chipsets? I may just get the M1015 so I have future expandability...
dimyself is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off