Is the Power Supply in a Dell the same as a standard power supply sold by NewEgg? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-12-2013, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Dell desktop computer with a 300W power supply that went bad. Do I need to buy from Dell or will any 300W power supply work?
I think I read that Dell takes a standard power supply and moves a couple of wires around in the connector so only the Dell brand will work. The Dell part is L-300N-00
CountryBumkin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-12-2013, 01:39 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
In the past, Dell used to use power supplies with the same connectors as standard power supplies but they changed the pinouts - causing you to blow up your motherboard if you used someone else's power supply. They stopped that many years ago. What model is your Dell?
cybrsage is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-13-2013, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

In the past, Dell used to use power supplies with the same connectors as standard power supplies but they changed the pinouts - causing you to blow up your motherboard if you used someone else's power supply. They stopped that many years ago. What model is your Dell?

I second that. LAst Dell I bought in 1997 had the pins switched. I had to re-pin a generic PSU to make it work with Dell when theirs went dead, and they wanted absurd amount of money for a $20 PSU.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 06-13-2013, 02:20 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
All the ones in the last 10 years or so should be fine.
cybrsage is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-14-2013, 02:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Its a Dimension 8400.
I ordered a power supply made for the Dell off E-bay. For $40 its not worth the risk that a generic pwr supply will work.
Thanks for your help.
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-14-2013, 06:40 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
The 8400 should be fine, but for $40 I agree with you 100%.
cybrsage is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off