**** So you've built your HTPC-NOW WHAT IS NEXT ?? How to get the "ULTIMATE" picture and sound quality from your HTPC !!!! (MADVR? SVP? XBMC? Mediabrowser? Jriver? ) - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 830 Old 02-15-2014, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks, I had thought madVR 87.4 used openCL. Yes I see the gpu queue settings. I was able to cancel the R7 260x and some models of the R9 270x are priced close to $200.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 830 Old 02-17-2014, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,664
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

Thanks, I had thought madVR 87.4 used openCL. Yes I see the gpu queue settings. I was able to cancel the R7 260x and some models of the R9 270x are priced close to $200.

I would like a 270X or a 280(X) for about $199 each- but still the prices are high. I am hoping the new announced models and lower retails of the old cards hits the streets soon and causes prices down.

Given the new MadVR builds and features I am thinking a dual card (R270X) configuration under $399 would be the best option. I think in terms of processing power it should beat a single GPU card for the same money. At least it seems true with games. I'd be curious to see any results on MadVR, I have not seen anyone doing it yet.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #363 of 830 Old 02-17-2014, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
JackDiesel14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Is there anything you can run on MadVR with dual 270X's that you can't run on one?
JackDiesel14 is offline  
post #364 of 830 Old 02-17-2014, 04:28 PM
Member
 
ccrocker001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I would like a 270X or a 280(X) for about $199 each- but still the prices are high. I am hoping the new announced models and lower retails of the old cards hits the streets soon and causes prices down.

Given the new MadVR builds and features I am thinking a dual card (R270X) configuration under $399 would be the best option. I think in terms of processing power it should beat a single GPU card for the same money. At least it seems true with games. I'd be curious to see any results on MadVR, I have not seen anyone doing it yet.

Take a look at this post: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1665556#post1665556
ccrocker001 is offline  
post #365 of 830 Old 02-17-2014, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,664
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 933
Interesting. I wonder if it's just nvidia or AMD crossfire too?

Perhaps I might need to get one big GPU card then. Too bad prices are crazy!

http://www.maximumpc.com/amd_radeon_r9_290x_still_hard_find

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #366 of 830 Old 02-20-2014, 05:23 PM
Member
 
MonoPestoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey guys,

This might be a dumb question but what is the different between Video and Film for Madvr?
MonoPestoso is offline  
post #367 of 830 Old 02-20-2014, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Film 23.976 fps 41.71 ms
Video 59.94 fps (29.97 fps interlaced) 16.68 ms

With film you have 2.5x more time to render the the frames.

Andy_Steb is offline  
post #368 of 830 Old 02-21-2014, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
From madshi's post I think he is telling us not to hurry into using NNEDI3. So, perhaps he is really working for a video quality and doubling solution with 4K in mind.

From reading the Doom 9 MadVR thread I have gotten the impression that NNEDI3 works better with Nvidia GPUs then AMD GPUs.. However madshi does not support one over the other. To the question do you prefer the R9 280x over the GTX 770 he states "I think from a hardware point of view AMD probably has the better compute hardware atm, so I don't think this is something NVidia can easily fix with a new driver build. AMD OpenCL interop is costly. This is something that *could* be fixed with a new driver. But I would not count on that ever happening. FWIW, probably I'll use DirectCompute for most new compute features and DirectCompute has no interop cost for AMD hardware. However, it's possible that NNEDI3 may stay with OpenCL. In that case I don't really know whether a high-end NVidia GPU would be better or worse than an AMD GPU"

NVidia is about to release the Maxwell series starting at the low end of the spectrum. The more capable boards may be released later this year.

Finally, from looking at high end GPUs I learned that many of them are 11 to 12 inches in length. A board longer than 10 inches would require me to replace my case or to do a major case modification which could impair air flow.

I am just putting these thoughts out there to check if my impressions are in the ball park. My conclusion is to wait on replacing my Radeon 7770.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #369 of 830 Old 02-21-2014, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Well with Nvidia if you are using drivers newer than v. 328 (i think) NNEDI3 gives a green screen. I have a 780ti so I can't go lower than v. 332, so I just cant use NNEDI3 right now.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #370 of 830 Old 02-21-2014, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Yes, I have read about the Nvidia driver problem. I meant to mention this issue.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #371 of 830 Old 02-21-2014, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I guess I dont fully understand the release notes, as the latest one seems to indicate this has been fixed, but I still get the green screen... Maybe the green issue doesn't fall into the "failed/froze" category.

madVR v0.87.4

* workaround added: NNEDI3 upscaling failed/froze with newer NVidia GPUs
* fixed: NNEDI3 chroma upscaling produced wrong colors with 10bit sources
* got rid of some unnecessary texture sharing
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #372 of 830 Old 02-21-2014, 08:30 AM
Member
 
laverdure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post

I guess I dont fully understand the release notes, as the latest one seems to indicate this has been fixed, but I still get the green screen... Maybe the green issue doesn't fall into the "failed/froze" category.

madVR v0.87.4

* workaround added: NNEDI3 upscaling failed/froze with newer NVidia GPUs
* fixed: NNEDI3 chroma upscaling produced wrong colors with 10bit sources
* got rid of some unnecessary texture sharing

You still have to downgrade to nVidia driver 327.23 for NNEDI3 to work on nVidia GPU for now.
laverdure is offline  
post #373 of 830 Old 02-21-2014, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Wish Nvidia would fix whatever they broke. I can't downgrade.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #374 of 830 Old 02-21-2014, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I am interested in getting one of these Intel i5 4250U NUC boxes with HD 5000 graphics. From the early posts from Renethx that I just reviewed, that should let me utilize "level 4" upscaling for Blu Ray rips (MKV 24fps film content), but will be underpowered for applying any kind of upscaling beyond level 1 for taking those movies to 4k? In that case I should just let my projector or future Lumagen processor do all scaling and just let the HTPC decode? If all of that is correct, what decoding mode is best for these latest Intel 5000 graphics chipsets? DXVA native, copyback, or none and just let it do it in software?

So far all of my recent trials have been with my core i7 / Nvidia 780ti system so I have no comparison to the weak NUC.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #375 of 830 Old 02-24-2014, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
are the r7 265 suppose to be available soon?

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #376 of 830 Old 02-24-2014, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,664
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by cburbs View Post

are the r7 265 suppose to be available soon?

Hitting street this week and next week biggrin.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #377 of 830 Old 03-03-2014, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Still have not seen anything on the r7 265.......

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #378 of 830 Old 03-03-2014, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,664
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 933
everything I read said it should be hitting the streets March 1st. I thought paper launched on GPU cards died 10 years ago. I guess I was wrong. rolleyes.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #379 of 830 Old 03-04-2014, 11:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
This is a step closer as I didn't see this yesterday - http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1226&lid=1&pid=2201&leg=0

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #380 of 830 Old 03-04-2014, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,664
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by cburbs View Post

This is a step closer as I didn't see this yesterday - http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1226&lid=1&pid=2201&leg=0

Nice ! There you go. I think you should see these start popping up all over over the next two weeks. March 1st was the launch date. I read they should hit the street then, but probably another week or two to get populated on retailer websites and actually into retailer inventories.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #381 of 830 Old 03-06-2014, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
and another step closer -
http://www.anandtech.com/show/7836/amds-radeon-r7-265-now-available

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=14-202-096

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #382 of 830 Old 03-06-2014, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
r7 265 out of stock at Newegg and I have seen no confirmation that it will handle doubling and NEEDI3
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #383 of 830 Old 03-06-2014, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,664
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

r7 265 out of stock at Newegg and I have seen no confirmation that it will handle doubling and NEEDI3


I would worry too much about the out of stock issue. They should be available soon. Looks like it's just a couple weeks slow hitting the streets for whatever reason but if newegg has the link and purchase page up they are expecting them soon.

On the second issue, I'm not sure. Makes me wish ReneTHX was still around. He was amazing.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #384 of 830 Old 03-06-2014, 03:56 PM
Member
 
Apgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post


On the second issue, I'm not sure. Makes me wish ReneTHX was still around. He was amazing.

Whatever happened to Renethx? Why did he leave? Anyone know?
Apgood is offline  
post #385 of 830 Old 03-06-2014, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 152
I saw that he made a post today
Mfusick likes this.

Andy_Steb is offline  
post #386 of 830 Old 03-06-2014, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
It is hopeful that Renethx posted. I am better at following directions than figuring out how madvr and MPC-HC work.

I burned up the afternoon trying to get luma doubling to work since madshi posted that it should work with a Radeon 7770. I deinstalled and reinstalled everything. I used control J and tried to figure out what the data meant. It seemed to mean the GPU is running close to its capability I looked at all the settings that can be changed in madvr. I concluded that I will need to better understand what they do and I need a lot of time to try changes and see if anything helps. Every time I try luma doubling MPC-HC freezes no matter what I change.

Meanwhile with jinc3 + AR and no doubling I am getting pretty good quality from DVDs, so I am not deprived.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #387 of 830 Old 03-07-2014, 02:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 92

image doubling works fine with a 7770 but don't try it on 60 fps content.

so if you play a dvd and deint it you have to double 60 fps this is very hard or even impossible for a 7770.

i used image doubling on a 6770 with no problem source was 30 fps 480p.

the player shoud not frezze have you tried a new nightly build from mpc hc? else make a bug report.

Mfusick likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #388 of 830 Old 03-07-2014, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

It is hopeful that Renethx posted. I am better at following directions than figuring out how madvr and MPC-HC work.

I burned up the afternoon trying to get luma doubling to work since madshi posted that it should work with a Radeon 7770. I deinstalled and reinstalled everything. I used control J and tried to figure out what the data meant. It seemed to mean the GPU is running close to its capability I looked at all the settings that can be changed in madvr. I concluded that I will need to better understand what they do and I need a lot of time to try changes and see if anything helps. Every time I try luma doubling MPC-HC freezes no matter what I change.

Meanwhile with jinc3 + AR and no doubling I am getting pretty good quality from DVDs, so I am not deprived.

It really sounds like you have something else going on besides your madvr settings. Usually if you over do it, you get dropped frames and stuttering, not freezing.

Are you playing your DVDs back at 24 or 60 Hz? Are you using reclock, SVP or MADVR smooth motion?

What versions of LAV, MADVR and CCC do you have?

Maybe you should post up that control J screen
Mfusick likes this.

Andy_Steb is offline  
post #389 of 830 Old 03-07-2014, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Also you can run http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/ to see what the load is on your GPU while playing back a movie. If I recall correctly you don't want this any higher than 80% while playback. If it is than you need to start to tune things down a little.
Mfusick and BllDo like this.

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #390 of 830 Old 03-07-2014, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by cburbs View Post

Also you can run http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/ to see what the load is on your GPU while playing back a movie. If I recall correctly you don't want this any higher than 80% while playback. If it is than you need to start to tune things down a little.

Also in GPU-Z do a rendering test to check your PCIe buss speed. I recall when I first set up my system it was only running at x8 1.1 I had to do a Bios update and move some cards around to fix it.
Mfusick likes this.

Andy_Steb is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off