**** So you've built your HTPC-NOW WHAT IS NEXT ?? How to get the "ULTIMATE" picture and sound quality from your HTPC !!!! (MADVR? SVP? XBMC? Mediabrowser? Jriver? ) - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 772 Old 06-24-2014, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
somy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
How about MB Server + XBMC with XBMB3C plugin + MPC-BE/PowerDVD? MB Server can be installed on a dedicated media server or an all-in-one system.
Wow, it looks like a complex setup.
I guess you launch MPC-HC/MadVR and PowerDVD as external players from XBMC right? How do you control those applications? With a mobile device or IR remote?
somy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 772 Old 06-24-2014, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,766
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 687
You can use a mobile device, or an IR remote. Both work great. remotes for bluray player software like power DVD can be more challenging, but controlling XBMC or Mediabrowser is pretty straigh forward. The guide at the top of the forum in "stickies" for MPC-HC should walk you through the set up of that well.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #753 of 772 Old 06-24-2014, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
somy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
MB server is the key... it lets you do so much more. I love the ROKU support and APP, and the ipad app is awesome too. The iphone app is ok. The web interface is outstanding. I would't want to give up any of these, so I second ReneTHX suggestions. MB3 server is a good foundation for a lot of things. You can use WMC and MB3 Classic if you want DVR and WMC functionality- it looks and works great and you can even set up external players like POwerDVD, or TMT for Disc/ISO support with menus or 3D- and you can set up external player like MPC-HC (or BE) with MadVR/SVP and whatever. If you don't like WMC or MBclassic you have more options. For those that prefer XBMC for whatever reason you can feed XBMC from MB3 server and retain your XBMC interface (called XBMB3C) - and if you want the better player you can still configure external players. Or for those that want to stay in the MB3 family MB3Theater supports MadVR and LAV audio and Vs filters and runs native with MB3 server with a single install and it's very easy to set up. It's only beta still but it's very promising too. And you can even use external players with that too. Lots of options. WMC fans will like classic, XBMC guys will like XBMC (XBMB3C), and MB3 fans will like the MB3 project flagship "Theater" product. All three are good options and all three will support external players too (although MBtheater supports madvr).

I would imagine almost anyone could find happiness with one of those options^. And you can even use them all, in different places. That is the strength of MB server IMO. I could have one of each type of system in my house, or I could have an HTPC that had all three solutions on it and they would work seamlessly. No reason you need to only have 1. Without MB3 server you would lose a lot of functionality and multi product support for tablets, ROKU, phones and all that too. You'd give up transcoding and remote access too. MB3 project is advanced past PLEX at this point.

The ROKU app craps all over the PLEX ROKU app. One last thing left is for MB3 to fix the Fast Forward and Rewind (in process) and after that it's really not a contest which is better. PLEX developers blame the limited ROKU OS code but the MB3 ROKU app in the beta channel proves a lot more can be done with good developers and creative out of the box thinking. I could write a book on the small details the ROKU app for MB3 gets right while the PLEX app gets it wrong. MB3 server does so much more in terms of metadata, notifications, trailers, actors images and bio, metadata management, it has a way nicer user interface too. MB server is clearly better than PLEX server. And I think MB front ends are better than the PLEX front ends generally. At first I used PLEX more because it was straight forward and just works, but recently MB is emerging as the clear favorite - it is also becoming a lot more straight forward and easy to use and set up- and the beta problems are fixed quickly and the project keeps advancing rapidly. XBMC or PLEX never showed the promise that MB3 does, and the lightning fast blitzkrieg of apps and features is amazing and doesn't seem to stop. Even long term hardcore XBMC front end users should find value in MB3 platform.
I'm trying MB3 now, bot MBS and MBT. I have already flooded MB support forum with many questions. I agree a server that host all meta data and provide streaming service to other devices is a must today, and I also think MB3 is more promising than Plex. When MBT matures, it will also be a killer client with the best PQ with MadVR/VS filter/LAVF.
However I do have several issues with MB3 which will prevent me from using it as a production system:
1) It doesn't support subtitles in other encoding scheme. XBMC isn't flexible in terms of subtitle support either, but at least I can manually configure the encoding. MediaPortal uses MPC-HC subtitle engine which I think is the best subtitle engine which choose right encoding automatically based on language
2) The iOS app isn't as good as plex which support both streaming to the mobile device as well as controlling the Plex theater.

I love MB3, and I definitely hope it will be better.
somy is offline  
post #754 of 772 Old 06-24-2014, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,766
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 687
iOS for ipad or iphone ? There is two apps, The iphone app I believe is currently being improved. The ipad app is pretty good though.

For subtitles how are you doing it ? I see a lot of people with subtitle problems and I don't understand why. I don't have any. I have mine set to English and forced subs only. Did you install any extra plugins for subtitles ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #755 of 772 Old 06-24-2014, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
somy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
iOS for ipad or iphone ? There is two apps, The iphone app I believe is currently being improved. The ipad app is pretty good though.

For subtitles how are you doing it ? I see a lot of people with subtitle problems and I don't understand why. I don't have any. I have mine set to English and forced subs only. Did you install any extra plugins for subtitles ?
Sorry iPhone I meant. I normally need subtitle in my home language (traditional chinese), and those subtitles are unfortunately not utf-8 encoded, they are GBK or BIG5 encoded. If MB3 tries to render the subtitle in utf-8, I will only see question marks.
somy is offline  
post #756 of 772 Old 06-24-2014, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,766
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 687
The iphone app could be better. But I don't use it much anyways, I use ipad a lot more.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #757 of 772 Old 07-04-2014, 01:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia; now run by adults.
Posts: 5,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Does anyone know the max settings for madVR in the iGPU4600 in my 4770?
It appears I may have another stuffed mobo (Z87 Extreme 4) as installing either of my 7790's gets me no video, either from the mobo or the GPU card. If someone might have an idea of what settings I've missed/stuffed up, please feel free to comment.
A9X-308 is offline  
post #758 of 772 Old 07-04-2014, 01:17 AM
Senior Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 58
gpu power connector and uefi setup
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #759 of 772 Old 07-04-2014, 01:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia; now run by adults.
Posts: 5,191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
gpu power connector and uefi setup
It's a new PSU so I assume it's OK - it was plugged in. In UEFI I have it set to Primary Graphics Adaptor - PCIe (it's in the correct slot too) set as per the pic. I'm sure it's the way I did it last time referencing Assassin's blog. Have I missed something?

iGPU is enabled in my settings.

A9X-308 is offline  
post #760 of 772 Old 07-04-2014, 02:00 AM
Senior Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 58
the pc is still booting?
i mean you don't get a picture at all right?
have you connected both gpu at the same time maybe windows is trying to send a signal over VGA have you tried the onboard VGA connector if present.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #761 of 772 Old 07-04-2014, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Have you taken a look at the AMD catalyst control center? It is software that came with the 7790.

I am guessing you have both a monitor and a display connected to one computer using HDMI cables. But it would be helpful if you first explain your video setup in more detail.
Postmoderndesign is online now  
post #762 of 772 Old 07-04-2014, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,766
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 687
Turn on multi monitor. Hook up mobo oft to monitor 1. Hook up GPU to second monitor. Try installing it and getting to to work as second monitor inside windows. Then unplug the mobo side after it's working. You don't even see bios on the boot up ? Or just windows is black screen ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #763 of 772 Old 07-04-2014, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,766
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by A9X-308 View Post
Does anyone know the max settings for madVR in the iGPU4600 in my 4770?
It appears I may have another stuffed mobo (Z87 Extreme 4) as installing either of my 7790's gets me no video, either from the mobo or the GPU card. If someone might have an idea of what settings I've missed/stuffed up, please feel free to comment.
To answer your question it depends on your set up. Is it a k chip ? Do you have really fast/good ram ? If you are rocking 2400mhz+ of the good stuff and a k chip you can over-clock the iGPU pretty well and step up one level on MadVR. It will work for film (easier) which for a lot of people is enough to make them happy.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #764 of 772 Old 07-04-2014, 08:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
The chip does not have to be K, memory / GPU overclocking is always supported with Z87/Z97 chipset. In this old post I overclocked Celeron G530 iGPU (6EUs)/memory with Z68 chipset and in this post Core i3-2105 iGPU (12EUs)/memory.

Last edited by renethx; 07-04-2014 at 11:31 AM.
renethx is offline  
post #765 of 772 Old 07-04-2014, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,766
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 687
I stand corrected then. So yeah.. overclocked your iGPU and RAM whatever safe amount you can and you should be able to step up one level on madvr film. Refer to renethx charts earlier using HD4000 and just go another step up and try that first. If you get bad results step down... 4600 overclocked should go a bit farther than the HD4000 so you should be safe. I think I got to the old level 4 on mine before I put the GPU back in.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #766 of 772 Old 07-09-2014, 12:29 AM
Member
 
Plutotype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So are there any HDMI 2.0 graphic cards on the horizon? HDMI 2.0 AVRs are coming out, but we dont have equal GPUs..
Plutotype is online now  
post #767 of 772 Old 07-09-2014, 03:15 AM
Senior Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 58
all nvidia kampler and better gpu can send a hdmi 2.0 4:2:0@UHD signal to a hdmi 2.0 TV and a lot of TV doesn't take more than 4:2:0 anyway.

wait for proper UHD TV first and get a GPU when it's time for them. the panasonic got DP and can be used right away.
Mfusick likes this.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #768 of 772 Old 07-22-2014, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,766
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plutotype View Post
So are there any HDMI 2.0 graphic cards on the horizon? HDMI 2.0 AVRs are coming out, but we dont have equal GPUs..
Nope. We are in transition period.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #769 of 772 Old 07-27-2014, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 9,786
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by StinDaWg View Post
I'm curious though, can your card (I was at one time looking at buying that exact model) do NNEDI3 at 1080p with 720p60 content? 7770 can't, 7850 can, I'm curious what fits in between.
After getting a new TV I can answer your question. It can't. The render time for 16 luma neurons 720 -> 1080 is >16.6ms even with ED turned off (using catmull-rom AR LL downscaling).

It can do a real nice 720p24 -> 1080p though. 64 luma neurons + 32 chroma neurons with ED turned on.
Stereodude is online now  
post #770 of 772 Old 07-29-2014, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Clinton,MS
Posts: 6,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
.
R9 290X can handle NNEDI3 32 1080i/p60 -> 2160p.

There are some cases where 64 is better. You'd better try youself.
How does overclocking/water cooling improve this? I added a Prolimatech MK-26 to the Sapphire R9 290x which was a GREAT improvement over the stock coolers noise level and temps. With your experience could you give a pump recommendation for low noise for the R9 290x? I am using a Nofan Cr-95 on my i7 4790k for now, so no fan there. I have become very familiar with quiet fans and think I can figure out the radiator, water block and reservoir part. I know nothing about pumps and which ones are quiet.

I also have the Asus R9 290x Directcu II as well and it is also low noise compared to stock Sapphire R9 290x but still run much hotter than the Sapphire R9 290x with Prolimatech MK-26 with Prolimatech USV 14 fans. Asus does provides great software to overclock the Directcu R9 290x. I'm ready for another project. The Prolimatech one was fun. Time to go underwater now. Just point me to a pump.

One more concern I have is 4k60hz. Do I really need that? Won't 4k30hz be fine for NFL football?

Never become so involved with something that it blinds you.

Last edited by Bulldogger; 07-29-2014 at 06:32 PM.
Bulldogger is offline  
post #771 of 772 Old Yesterday, 12:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger View Post
How does overclocking/water cooling improve this? I added a Prolimatech MK-26 to the Sapphire R9 290x which was a GREAT improvement over the stock coolers noise level and temps. With your experience could you give a pump recommendation for low noise for the R9 290x? I am using a Nofan Cr-95 on my i7 4790k for now, so no fan there. I have become very familiar with quiet fans and think I can figure out the radiator, water block and reservoir part. I know nothing about pumps and which ones are quiet.

I also have the Asus R9 290x Directcu II as well and it is also low noise compared to stock Sapphire R9 290x but still run much hotter than the Sapphire R9 290x with Prolimatech MK-26 with Prolimatech USV 14 fans. Asus does provides great software to overclock the Directcu R9 290x. I'm ready for another project. The Prolimatech one was fun. Time to go underwater now. Just point me to a pump.

One more concern I have is 4k60hz. Do I really need that? Won't 4k30hz be fine for NFL football?

For example,

Pump: Laing DDC-1T. Laing is a famous Germany pump manufacturer.
Reservoir: Depends on your case. For example, I use Alphacool Repack - Laing DDC - 5.25 Bay Station (15165) for the Corsair Obsidian Series 250D case.
Radiator: Alphacool NexXxoS ST30 120mm+240mm or more depending on CPU/GPU/case. 30mm thickness is enough (or even better) for low rpm fans.
CPU water block: EK-Supremacy Clean CSQ - Acetal+Nickel
GPU water block: EK-FC R9-290X - Acetal+Nickel for Radeon R9 290X Full Cover Water Block. There are many other choices. Stren's R9-290/290x Water Block Testing
Tubing: XSPC Tubing 3/8" x 5/8". 3/8" is the inner diameter, 5/8" is the outer diameter. There are many other choices. You have to choose compression fittings that match the inner/outer diameter.
Compression fitting: Alphacool 16/10 Compression Fitting (you will need several depending on the number of water blocks and radiators). 3/8"=10mm, 5/8"=16mm approximately.
Distilled water / additives: EK-Ekoolant CLEAR.

60fps (after deinterlacing) is normal in recordings of sports events. At 30Hz, half the frames are decimated, resulting in awkward movements.

Last edited by renethx; Yesterday at 11:42 AM.
renethx is offline  
post #772 of 772 Old Yesterday, 12:20 AM
Senior Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger View Post
One more concern I have is 4k60hz. Do I really need that? Won't 4k30hz be fine for NFL football?
sport benefits most from 60 hz
mightyhuhn is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off