**** So you've built your HTPC-NOW WHAT IS NEXT ?? How to get the "ULTIMATE" picture and sound quality from your HTPC !!!! (MADVR? SVP? XBMC? Mediabrowser? Jriver? ) - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 21Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 878 Old 07-10-2013, 04:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by BllDo View Post

Probably a noob question, but does the amount of memory on the graphics card aid in the processing. e.g. would a 2GB 7790 vs 1GB 7790 work better on 4k video?

A good question. GPU memory usage when upscaling / downscaling V5 (1920x1080p60) / V6 (4096x2160p60) to 3840x2160 with HD 7770 GDDR5 1GB + madVR Level 3:



- V5: 540MB / 380MB
- V6: 510MB / 200MB

So 1GB is enough.
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 878 Old 07-10-2013, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kimeran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quick question,

by using these programs to tweak your HTPC are you guys getting better picture quality than what an Oppo is capable of?

I ask because I would really like to build a HTPC capable of gaming and bluray playback when my PS3 finally dies(I suspect it will be soon) but I would like something with great picture and sound. I know I can bitstream the audio to the receiver for decoding of pretty much any format but I knew that the codecs for the video were usually limited to Oppo and other stand alone products.

I was also considering trying to get ahold of a Color Box with the Cube calibration to enhance the colors even more out of the HTPC for the best playback possible.

Trying to enjoy the simple things in life.

 

Steam: madbrayniak

Kimeran is offline  
post #93 of 878 Old 07-10-2013, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobbyTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I use a GT 430 everyday and for Live TV from my Prime through my Denon AVR 2312ci (the D in the the D+M holdings is Denon and the M is Marantz) to my Samsung LCD. On the very few channels with this bug this video card handles it quite well all the while providing superb video playback for Blu-Ray rips.

so if somebody was to give you a HD 6570/6670 for free would you still stick with the GT430?

and is it worth my while to try both cards to see if there is any difference?

I have a blu ray burner and plan to rip blu-rays now and then so please keep this in mind.
RobbyTV is offline  
post #94 of 878 Old 07-10-2013, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,398
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by BllDo View Post

Probably a noob question, but does the amount of memory on the graphics card aid in the processing. e.g. would a 2GB 7790 vs 1GB 7790 work better on 4k video?

This is a good question:

I thought about this myself and I was leaning towards the 2GB.

My thinking was that 1GB is enough, but 2GB is still better and the difference is only $10 or $20 usually. How I see it is that if you choose the appropriate card, it should work fine with only 1GB but 2GB is still better. If you are at a point where 2GB would work and 1GB would not you are cutting it too close and should probably step up a level on the card. If you are choosing a card like a 7790 or any 8xxx card you should be ok with either version.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #95 of 878 Old 07-10-2013, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BllDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Thanks for the data and your opinions.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

My thinking was that 1GB is enough, but 2GB is still better and the difference is only $10 or $20 usually.

This was my thought as well. I just picked up a 2GB 7790 for my new build before reading through this thread. I figured it wouldn't hurt for a couple bucks more. It's nice to see that it will do what I need it to do for some time.

-




Is it solipsistic in here, or is it just me?
BllDo is offline  
post #96 of 878 Old 07-11-2013, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,398
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by BllDo View Post

Thanks for the data and your opinions.
This was my thought as well. I just picked up a 2GB 7790 for my new build before reading through this thread. I figured it wouldn't hurt for a couple bucks more. It's nice to see that it will do what I need it to do for some time.

No prob biggrin.gif I am about to pull the trigger on the same card. What brand did you get ? Is it quiet ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #97 of 878 Old 07-11-2013, 07:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BllDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I got this one. I only had it installed briefly and then had to pull it out. When it was installed, I didn't think it was working because I literally could not hear any difference in the machine. I had to feel for the fans blowing to know that it was on. I think I am going to be very pleased with it if I can ever get the computer stabilized.

-




Is it solipsistic in here, or is it just me?
BllDo is offline  
post #98 of 878 Old 07-12-2013, 06:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,398
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Stabilized ???

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #99 of 878 Old 07-12-2013, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BllDo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 99
My components don't seem to be playing nice with each other and I don't have a clue what I'm doing so that doesn't help either.

-




Is it solipsistic in here, or is it just me?
BllDo is offline  
post #100 of 878 Old 07-12-2013, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,398
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 1054
Quote:
Originally Posted by BllDo View Post

My components don't seem to be playing nice with each other and I don't have a clue what I'm doing so that doesn't help either.

Start a thread ill help you troubleshoot.

Unfortunately I have a vast amount if experience with this area.

What's the issues ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #101 of 878 Old 07-14-2013, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Anyone with the Radeon 7770, how is the heat with the card?

My current Nvidia runs really hot.

Also anyone using DVI to HDMI output with audio? I used this with my current Nvidia to get around handshake issues.

Thanks
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #102 of 878 Old 07-14-2013, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Start a thread ill help you troubleshoot.

Unfortunately I have a vast amount if experience with this area.

What's the issues ?
Did you end up with the HD7790? I was disappointed with mine and pulled it in favor of the GT 650Ti Boost SC from EVGA... Yeah power consumption and heat are a bit more but the card is significantly faster. Virtually all the performance problems I had been seeing in JRiver MC with madVR and cable TV went away. I still have the 7790 and will find a home for it here, perhaps in the box I am typing in right now. Not a bad card but I went through the 7770 to the 7790 and the darned thing would not stop dropping frames with the Ceton in JRiver and madVR till I got to that performance level. One thing about he 7790 was it was on its own driver fork for awhile. I wonder if they ever got it supported with the standard releases?

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is offline  
post #103 of 878 Old 07-15-2013, 08:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
7790 was released in March. 13.4 ('13 April) driver supports 7790 but with some bugs, hence AMD released an updated driver for 7790 (I still noticed obvious bugs, however). The upcoming 13.7 (?) driver will support all 5xxx - 8xxx GPUs.
renethx is offline  
post #104 of 878 Old 07-18-2013, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 51
renethx: quick question on madvr levels

Is there a setting in madvr to select the level itself, or do you set the settings separately; e.g. madVR Level 2, you set BiCubic75 and Lanczos3?

Could you post screenshots for what you set for madvr level 4. I dont see level options...maybe using an older version.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
post #105 of 878 Old 07-18-2013, 07:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
The notion of levels is not official but just mine. Instead of describing a set of three scaling algorithms like "chroma upscaling: Bicubic 75, image upscaling: Lanczos 3, image downscaling: Catmull-Rom", I just call it "Level 2". It's just an abbreviation or definition for the sake of convenience. Nothing new is introduced.

Level 2 = (Bicubic 75, Lanczos 3, Catmull-Rom)
Level 3 = (Bicubic 75+AR, Lanczos 3+AR, Catmull-Rom+AR)
etc.
renethx is offline  
post #106 of 878 Old 07-18-2013, 07:45 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Is there a good place to look to both obtain the newest MadVR and set it up for someone who has never touched it or read about it before this thread?
cybrsage is offline  
post #107 of 878 Old 07-18-2013, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

The notion of levels is not official but just mine. Instead of describing a set of three scaling algorithms like "chroma upscaling: Bicubic 75, image upscaling: Lanczos 3, image downscaling: Catmull-Rom", I just call it "Level 2". It's just an abbreviation or definition for the sake of convenience. Nothing new is introduced.

Level 2 = (Bicubic 75, Lanczos 3, Catmull-Rom)
Level 3 = (Bicubic 75+AR, Lanczos 3+AR, Catmull-Rom+AR)
etc.

perfect. Thanks. there really should be a renethxepedia!

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
post #108 of 878 Old 07-18-2013, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybrsage View Post

Is there a good place to look to both obtain the newest MadVR and set it up for someone who has never touched it or read about it before this thread?

Take a look at MINDBOMB's Advanced MPC-HC Guide. The link and basic settings is in the first couple of posts.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #109 of 878 Old 07-18-2013, 01:36 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
MadVR does not require MPC-HC, does it? I use WMC for my playback. Also, it says there is not a 64bit version, is that still the case?
cybrsage is offline  
post #110 of 878 Old 07-18-2013, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
It can be forced to load in WMC but I believe that you need to get into registry hacks and such. MPC-HC is a better player anyhow because it is so easily configurable. madVR does not have 64bit and I don't know if it ever will but it runs just fine at 32 bit.

If you are not using MB for library management you can use Mikinho's Open With WMC add in to force WMC to use MPC-HC as the player for certain file types.

This won't work for TV playback with tuners AFAIK.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #111 of 878 Old 07-18-2013, 09:38 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Ah, ok, TYVM!
cybrsage is offline  
post #112 of 878 Old 07-19-2013, 04:54 PM
Member
 
vj950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
renethx: Thanks for this great information. My question might sound really silly since I am using SNB i3 2100 with HD2000 onboard graphics. Is there really a hope for me to get a good setting for madVR? I primarily use MPC-HC + madVR for DVD playback on 1080p projector.
vj950 is offline  
post #113 of 878 Old 07-19-2013, 08:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
DXVA2 is always the best for every Intel iGPU. Intel iGPU is optimized for running Intel driver's scaling algorithm on ASICs instead of running madVR's own algorithms on EUs (simply because there are not enough EUs for this purpose). You may need a faster memory to play back some video contents (i.e. not film) without dropped frames, however. If you see dropped frames, just stay with EVR (not EVR Custom Presenter), there is no big difference in PQ between EVR DXVA2 and madVR DXVA2 (because of the same Intel driver's algorithm).
vj950 likes this.
renethx is offline  
post #114 of 878 Old 07-21-2013, 02:37 PM
Member
 
vj950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

DXVA2 is always the best for every Intel iGPU. [/quote]

Can you direct me how to set this up? I have MPC-HC installed, but don't know what to do after that. (I have experience of using LAV filters and MadVR using the guide)
Thanks
vj950 is offline  
post #115 of 878 Old 07-21-2013, 08:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
If you select EVR (non Custom Presenter) as the video renderer, then DXVA2 is almost always used automatically. If you select madVR, then go to madVR settings, then choose DXVA2 for image up/downscaling in scaling algorithms (and Bicubic 75 for chroma upscaling, that is used when no image scalng is applied).
renethx is offline  
post #116 of 878 Old 07-23-2013, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Just got my Radeon HD 7770 in today...can't wait to test it out.

Saphire's "Vapor-X" edition...figured I'd spend a bit more on better cooling since my GT460 is burning up my HTPC.
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #117 of 878 Old 07-23-2013, 11:39 AM
Member
 
JL-F1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by FantaXP7 View Post

Just got my Radeon HD 7770 in today...can't wait to test it out.

Saphire's "Vapor-X" edition...figured I'd spend a bit more on better cooling since my GT460 is burning up my HTPC.

You will love it. That is what I run and it added no more noise to the system and can run all the great high mad-vr levels smile.gif
JL-F1 is offline  
post #118 of 878 Old 07-23-2013, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anthony_Gomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: On the coast
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 174
I've seen screen shots, and read explanations, but without the hardware, it is hard to self-demo.
Are there directly comparable downloadable video examples out there of SD movies processed with different algorithms?
Like...
Vid 1 = basic intel decoding
Vid 2 = MadV "lvl 2"
Vid 3 = MadVR "lvl 5"
Vid 4 = MadVR 5 + SVP etc
Anthony_Gomez is offline  
post #119 of 878 Old 07-23-2013, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
How's that going to work? It will only be as good as the monitor you are using and the player you are playing it on if it is screen capture and worse yet if it is shot with a cell phone or video camera aimed at the HDTV. There really is no way to do this except by experimenting with it yourself on your own hardware and especially with your own monitor in the room that you will be using.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #120 of 878 Old 07-23-2013, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anthony_Gomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: On the coast
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 174
The thought was this. MadVR doesn;t do much for SHD material, and it is for upscalling SD material. Our computers can play SHD just fine. So...take SD material, and use different upscale algorithms to generate SHD files where all the processing to upscale has been done.
Anthony_Gomez is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off