Theory About Intel's HDMI Quantization Range Setting (Full 0-255) - Page 8 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 218 Old 03-01-2015, 08:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hi I'm running intel i5 4440. The blacks looks grey and it's been driving crazy. This thread is 2yrs old and I was just wondering if the old hack is still current.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizziwig View Post
Wow... lots of great developments since I started this thread almost 4 months ago.

I can confirm that the registry setting works on both Sandy Bridge and Haswell iGPU. Glad this has finally been resolved after all these years.

Combined with the best available refresh rate accuracy for 23.976 and 59.940 content, the Haswell iGPU is now unbeatable for most HTPC usage.
how do I make it 0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Intel IGD will always convert 0-255 into 16-235 on your HDTV via HDMI (read this thread). You will have to use the registry key override posted in last page to force intel not to convert. So, did you use that registry hack when you posted that?
which registry hack did you use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post
This is a photo of a cheap Vizio 26" TV fed by an i7-2600 (HD2000 graphics). I've had no trouble getting 0-255 on either of my Vizios, both of which are fed by Intel HD graphics.


Here's the whole testchart:
<a class="attachment loginreq" href="/attachments/72478" title="">testchart.zip 122k .zip file
viziotvowner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 218 Old 03-01-2015, 09:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetLow View Post


Anyone, who want FullRange RGB HDMI output on Intel Graphic may try this:
1. Find your current Intel Graphic Adapter software registry instance under:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}\xxxx
(0000 on my PC).
2.Create DWORD value:
EnableRGBFullRange
and set it to 1
3. Reboot.
4. Enjoy.

AM I doing it wrong? why isn't it working? I shut it down and reset after following all 4 steps.

IT seriously took me an hour just to get this far. Please help.

viziotvowner is offline  
post #213 of 218 Old 03-02-2015, 07:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,275
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 285
IIRC, new Intel drivers added necessary UI for you to choose output range. No hacks needed but the hack will still work (you just need to find out the correct driver reg key to apply the hack).


Also, there are other issues you need to consider. The hack is only to override video driver settings (so it won't try to convert) but the particular video player of your choice may still output video at limited range instead of full range. You will need to make sure playback software, video driver and TV all configured correctly. There is no magic fix.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #214 of 218 Old 03-02-2015, 08:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,768
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
IIRC, new Intel drivers added necessary UI for you to choose output range. No hacks needed but the hack will still work (you just need to find out the correct driver reg key to apply the hack).


Also, there are other issues you need to consider. The hack is only to override video driver settings (so it won't try to convert) but the particular video player of your choice may still output video at limited range instead of full range. You will need to make sure playback software, video driver and TV all configured correctly. There is no magic fix.
What do you do with the settings under color management/advanced/ windows color system defaults and icc rendering intent? Seems that these would also affect your output....would it not?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #215 of 218 Old 03-02-2015, 06:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,275
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post
What do you do with the settings under color management/advanced/ windows color system defaults and icc rendering intent? Seems that these would also affect your output....would it not?
No, those are typically for photo display, not affecting video playback at all.


Remember videos are always produced using limited range (16 as darkest black and 235 as brightest white). It will never match well with the default PC display range (0 as darkest black, 255 as brightest white) unless someone does the properly conversion. HDTVs, cable box, DVD and BD players are all designed to use limited range as its standard format, not the PC full range.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #216 of 218 Old 03-02-2015, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
you just need to find out the correct driver reg key to apply the hack).
So I had to input a reg key on registry ???? I'm not good with computers so you gotta explain to me in steps.
viziotvowner is offline  
post #217 of 218 Old Yesterday, 04:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,275
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by viziotvowner View Post
So I had to input a reg key on registry ???? I'm not good with computers so you gotta explain to me in steps.
No, just follow the instructions carefully. Or, you can google for a tool that can set the registry for you written by fellow forum member.


But remember, that's just one of the 3 major factors in determine the final outcome of a video black level. The other two are the video player software and HDTV. All three have to be perfectly matched. Yes, either one can be configured to use either full range or limited range.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #218 of 218 Old Today, 02:13 PM
Member
 
SweetLow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
IIRC, new Intel drivers added necessary UI for you to choose output range.
For right hardware only.
SweetLow is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Intel Core I5 4670k 3 4ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Core I7 4770k 3 5ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Intel Core I3 4130 3 4 3 Fclga 1150 Processor Bx80646i34130
Gear in this thread - G2020 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off