Audigy 2 ZS - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 06-19-2013, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rockon2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
......any info would be great...
I have a computer dedicated for audio play back only, library of mp3 etc. files.
my audio card is an Audigy 2 zs ..I use a 3.5 to dual rca jack from card to run the main amp and speakers, works great.
I also have a subs and a separate amp that I need to hook up to a low pass (sub)output


any Idea how to do this? Thanks
rockon2u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 06-19-2013, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 272
Use a 3.5 to stereo rca and connect to the sub/center of your sound card. One of the rca ends will connect to the input on the subwoofer.
Mrkazador is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-19-2013, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rockon2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the problem I'm having is this sound cards hookup info doesn't show where or how or what jack. It only shows 4.1, 5.1 and 7.1
also I tried already and did this but it seems that all the other jacks are dead..
rockon2u is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 06-19-2013, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rockon2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is there a trick to activating the other jacks ?
rockon2u is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 06-19-2013, 08:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 272
I'm not familiar with that card but I'm sure you can "activate" the other channels in the control panel for the sound card.
Mrkazador is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-19-2013, 08:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rockon2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I just figured it out ,,it says use a 3.5 (surround) to RCA cable
I was using a 3.5 stereo to RCA cable
rockon2u is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-19-2013, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 272
There is no such thing as a 3.5 surround to rca cable.
Mrkazador is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-19-2013, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rockon2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that's what I thought ,, never herd of it before ,,I'm going to radio shack and find out ................
rockon2u is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-20-2013, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,000
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockon2u View Post

......any info would be great...
I have a computer dedicated for audio play back only, library of mp3 etc. files.
my audio card is an Audigy 2 zs ..I use a 3.5 to dual rca jack from card to run the main amp and speakers, works great.
I also have a subs and a separate amp that I need to hook up to a low pass (sub)output


any Idea how to do this? Thanks

The card was designed for the old analog surround speaker setups that Creative used to sell through their Cambridge Soundworks/Creative Labs speaker brand so you'd have to configure the outputs from the card to your hardware to resemble something like one of those setups. Another option is to use the CMSS (fake surround sound processing), which is what the current Creative 5.1 speakers require. The best way to get 5.1 is with the digital i/o drive and toslink output but that probably isn't an option for you.
LexInVA is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off