New Non HTPC build. i7-3970X centered build. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 42 Old 06-29-2013, 04:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Well I just started my new home PC build for browsing the interwebs.

Parts are as follows.

Rampage Extreme 4 Motherboard
Intel® Core™ i7-3970X Processor Extreme Edition (15M Cache, up to 4.00 GHz)
Dominator Platinum series DDR3 2400 64GB (8X8 GB) CMD64GX3M8A2400C10
Rosewill HERCULES-1600 1600W power supply
Intel 320 Series SSDSA2CW600G310 2.5" 600GB SSD
3 X Nvidia GeForce GTX 690

Anything else I should look out for? Or if anyone has any advise on the parts selected please let me know. I have already bought the CPU, MoBo, and RAM, so anything else is still undecided.
All the memory, CPU and Video cards will be water cooled. I have the Fusion D-tek 2 CPU block and the EK Corsair Dominator Series X4 Ram Liquid Cooling Block as well for starters.

Cheers Dave

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 42 Old 06-29-2013, 04:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 50
browsing the interwebs, or hosting the whole damn thing?!?! lol

thats one impressive machine. sounds like a badass gaming machine, wouldnt really know what else you would need honestly.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
post #3 of 42 Old 06-29-2013, 04:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I would not mind getting into gaming if I had the time.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #4 of 42 Old 06-29-2013, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 50
then why would you have 3 sli 690s? whats the purpose? might help better see what could be lacking, other than your own power plant i mean.

...and "more powerrrrr" with "because i can" is a perfectly good answer smile.gif

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
post #5 of 42 Old 06-29-2013, 06:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Yeah- I love overkill. But that is wayyyyyy overkill !

Surprised you did not get a Samsung 840PRO 512GB or a Vector 512GB. Seems more logical over an Intel SSD.

Your PSU is still way overkill I think. Make a 32GB RAM DISK for a cache smile.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #6 of 42 Old 06-29-2013, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by aliaskary77 View Post

then why would you have 3 sli 690s? whats the purpose? might help better see what could be lacking, other than your own power plant i mean.

...and "more powerrrrr" with "because i can" is a perfectly good answer smile.gif

B/c it will look bad ass! No other reason really. I made a custom case where the table is the case and I have a glass top so you can see all the parts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Yeah- I love overkill. But that is wayyyyyy overkill !

Surprised you did not get a Samsung 840PRO 512GB or a Vector 512GB. Seems more logical over an Intel SSD.

Your PSU is still way overkill I think. Make a 32GB RAM DISK for a cache smile.gif

I still have yet to get the SSD. I have the MoBo, CPU and RAM so far.

Here is a pic of the PC. That is a 9 x 120mm fan radiator for the water cooling.


My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #7 of 42 Old 06-29-2013, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 50
ah nice, been seeing these over in the hardocp forums. only thing....from the pictures anyway..that i would like is a nicely mounted triple display setup. i like the 24" screens myself, but you could do 27 or 30 if you have the space. also, i just saw over there some really nice stainless steel tubing for water cooling. very industrial.

http://hardocp.com/news/2013/06/27/h_reader_rig_day/

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
post #8 of 42 Old 06-29-2013, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
This is still the old mobo ,once i get the rest of the gear iwill be looking into what kind of hosing to us.some ofthose stainless steel stuff looks great.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #9 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 05:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Get a Vector or Sammy PRO 512GB then. Way better SSD IMO

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #10 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Secunia Personal Software Inspector, and CCleaner. $0

More overkill headroom though.......

OCZ Revodrive 3X2 480GB PCI-E SSD, an UPS, RAMDisk and RAMcache a la www.dvnation.com would complete your plans for world domination.
Tedd is offline  
post #11 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 06:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 63
And maybe a 50" 4K Sony hdtv for the display??
Tedd is offline  
post #12 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 06:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedd View Post

And maybe a 50" 4K Sony hdtv for the display??

Actually, you are reading my mind. It is about time I upgraded the monitor and a 4K one is probably the way to go.

And Tedd, can you buy stuff from that web page?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #13 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Tedd is offline  
post #14 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
You shouldn't do 3-690's. that's 6 way sli and no games support it. Quad sli would be 2 690's and 1 690 for physx...sick. Unfortunately, only one of the 2 CPU's on the 3rd 690 would operate the calcs for physx...so it would be a glorified 680. Also, there are no additional sli bridge connections on the cards, so you can't bridge more than 2 of them at once...add in the heat and power draw...

You should look into 3 titans. It will smoke the crap out of 3 690's. 4 titans loses performance in most games, same as 2-690's or more. At least with 3 or 4 titans you get true SLI instead of being limited to a single SLI bridge between 2 physical cards.

I'd wait for ivy bridge e and get an extreme version of the CPU, and a 4 way sli motherboard.

Also, 64gb of ram will be slower than 32gb of ram, because it has to address all 8 slots, and you have to use ecc ram for all 8 slots to make 64GB work - better going with a 2133 or 2400mhz and clocking down to tighter timings, like from 2400 13-13-13-33 2t to 1600 9-9-9-24 1t. The memory you chose isn't on the QVL for your motherboard, and my bet is you won't get it to work with the performance you want, if you can make it run at all. Your motherboard won't support ECC ram, so you may never get 64GB running - check the QVL and you'll see what I mean. The only board I know of that runs 64GB is the P9X79-WS, and it will support ECC. I use this board.

Throwing money at a rig isn't always going to make it faster. The speed gain from an extreme SB-E vs a 3930k, after setup and 24/7 overclock is about 1-2%. Once you add in 64gb of slow RAM in 8 slots and quad sli of any type you lose performance vs a rig with dual sli and 32gb of RAM in 4 slots.

Also, quad sli and 8 slots of ram reduces your ability to overclock as you increase the number of moving parts.

Also, x79 motherboards aren't true pci-e 3.0, they are 2.0 with a patch to make them almost 3.0...it's like 3.0 lite. You will never get it running at true 3.0 speeds with 3 cards. Close, but not quite. You are also restricted to x16/x8/x16 on your slots with 3 cards, so your physx card won't operate at true speed and will bottleneck.

It's your money, do what you want - but as another guy with unlimited play money for PC's - you aren't making well educated choices in your rig if you are serious about getting the best performance out of it.


Sent from my iPad2 using Tapatalk HD 1.3
goros is online now  
post #15 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 50
goros, all great points. however, bling could be primary factor for japandave, and losing 5-10% in performance might be acceptable. kind of like a bmw m3 with 20" wheels, instead of a more reasonable 18".

great points for him to consider though and definitely valuable info to me.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is offline  
post #16 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
He also can't use 8 RAM chips with those waterblocks. No space for them. Gonna be tight with 4.

To each his own, but it looks more like a list of the most expensive parts he can buy, even though they don't work together.


Sent from my iPad2 using Tapatalk HD 1.3
goros is online now  
post #17 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I am going to file away your comments Goros, for the future.

I built a "budget" 3930K, starting with a $400 3930K cpu and $70 H100 cooler off of Kijiji. 240G ssd and 32G of ram.
Hit a modest but rock solid 4 Ghz overclock on the first attempt, and haven't touched it since. I also played around with a ram drive.
Moved a Bluray drive, 850W power supply, and a 6950 over to the system. I don't game but figured the video card would get an upgrade once DayZ hit commercially.
(still waiting...). Lost interest in maxing it out more for now, as it's plenty fast. I did feel like I splurged on the P9X79 Pro motherboard. Just checked
the QVL and there's qualified 64G ram listed.
Tedd is offline  
post #18 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
For yours and mine there is. The only QVL ram his board supports in 64GB is 1333. That's actually slower than the default FSB BLCK 100 speed of 1600 for the board (which is what I recommend, even if a 2400 module exists)

Sent from my iPad2 using Tapatalk HD 1.3
goros is online now  
post #19 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by goros View Post

You shouldn't do 3-690's. that's 6 way sli and no games support it. Quad sli would be 2 690's and 1 690 for physx...sick. Unfortunately, only one of the 2 CPU's on the 3rd 690 would operate the calcs for physx...so it would be a glorified 680. Also, there are no additional sli bridge connections on the cards, so you can't bridge more than 2 of them at once...add in the heat and power draw...

You should look into 3 titans. It will smoke the crap out of 3 690's. 4 titans loses performance in most games, same as 2-690's or more. At least with 3 or 4 titans you get true SLI instead of being limited to a single SLI bridge between 2 physical cards.

I'd wait for ivy bridge e and get an extreme version of the CPU, and a 4 way sli motherboard.

Also, 64gb of ram will be slower than 32gb of ram, because it has to address all 8 slots, and you have to use ecc ram for all 8 slots to make 64GB work - better going with a 2133 or 2400mhz and clocking down to tighter timings, like from 2400 13-13-13-33 2t to 1600 9-9-9-24 1t. The memory you chose isn't on the QVL for your motherboard, and my bet is you won't get it to work with the performance you want, if you can make it run at all. Your motherboard won't support ECC ram, so you may never get 64GB running - check the QVL and you'll see what I mean. The only board I know of that runs 64GB is the P9X79-WS, and it will support ECC. I use this board.

Throwing money at a rig isn't always going to make it faster. The speed gain from an extreme SB-E vs a 3930k, after setup and 24/7 overclock is about 1-2%. Once you add in 64gb of slow RAM in 8 slots and quad sli of any type you lose performance vs a rig with dual sli and 32gb of RAM in 4 slots.

Also, quad sli and 8 slots of ram reduces your ability to overclock as you increase the number of moving parts.

Also, x79 motherboards aren't true pci-e 3.0, they are 2.0 with a patch to make them almost 3.0...it's like 3.0 lite. You will never get it running at true 3.0 speeds with 3 cards. Close, but not quite. You are also restricted to x16/x8/x16 on your slots with 3 cards, so your physx card won't operate at true speed and will bottleneck.

It's your money, do what you want - but as another guy with unlimited play money for PC's - you aren't making well educated choices in your rig if you are serious about getting the best performance out of it.


Sent from my iPad2 using Tapatalk HD 1.3

Great advise.

I am not just throwing money at the rig for the sake of it and I did do as much research as I could. I am just not very knowledgeable in this area.

The 64gb of RAM issue, I was watching this vid , let me know what you think? This is the main reason I went with this board and memory.

I had no idea that the 690's would not be able to be effectively used , so thanks for that piece of advise. Are you talking about these http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121724 when you say the 'titans'.

Cheers Dave

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #20 of 42 Old 06-30-2013, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Yes, those are the titans I was talking about. They run on the GK110 Kepler core and are the most "bleeding edge" product out there. 600 series operate on GK104's.

I would recommend capping them at dual SLI (2 titans with a single SLI bridge) so you get full x16/x16 throughput to the CPU.

As for that video, keep in mind that not every binning of a product is created equal. Some pieces of silicon will OC better than others - CPU, memory, and motherboard components alike. I didn't watch the whole thing as it was pretty dry, but with using memory not on the QVL, there is no guarantee that it wasn't throwing WHEA errors or that BSOD's were not edited out of the video.

QVL ram is supposed to be tested stable and guaranteed to operate at the advertised settings for the RAM configuration and size in question. Anything not on the list is a crapshoot for whether it will boot, if it will operate at a default speed (1333/1600) or if it will operate at it's advertised XMP profile (1833/2133/2400 etc). You don't know if it was stable or not - videos can be deceiving and Newegg is in business to make money. High end cards, boards, and RAM have higher profit margins as they sell less of them, so they push videos like that as it benefits them to sell one high end item as opposed to selling 5-6 budget products in order to make the same $$.

I'd return your ram if you are serious about using waterblocks on them (since you can't use them AND have 8 chips) and get a solid 2400 32GB (4x8GB) kit that you can overclock when the time comes. 64GB is slower as well as a waste.

The xtreme chip is a luxury IMO if you are planning to OC, but you may be able to get 4.3-4.6ghz stable. More cores usually means less speed at max stable OC.

What's a stable OC? After you OC your RAM, GPU's and CPU to your desired levels, test in this order.

24+ hours of memtest 86+ 4.20
24+ hours of Prime95 x64 with SUM (inputs) checking and rounding error checking enabled at 90% of available RAM used
8 hours of OCCT Linpack with AVX enabled and 90% of RAM used
1 hour of OCCT GPU with error checking on level 7

Then, run some intensive benchmarks like Ungine Heaven, Ungine Valley, 3DMark, PCMark, and some game benchmarks/demos on a loop and check for WHEA errors every few hours. It's time consuming, but stability can't be checked intensively enough.

Sent from my iPad2 using Tapatalk HD 1.3
goros is online now  
post #21 of 42 Old 07-10-2013, 12:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Did you build this beast dave ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #22 of 42 Old 07-10-2013, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Did you build this beast dave ?

I am waiting on a water block, but I have most of the parts. I am also still waiting on the 64g of memory. I did a fair bit of research after goros suggested that 64g is slower than 32g and I think he has a point. I am going to put that extra 32g into another HTPC build. I will post pics when I start the build.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #23 of 42 Old 07-11-2013, 05:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Your building a beast. I like how excessive you are with things.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #24 of 42 Old 07-11-2013, 10:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedd View Post

And maybe a 50" 4K Sony hdtv for the display??

With 3 x690s you should run 2 4k monitors.

Way overkill build, I can't imagine using more than 2 780s unless you have 2 or more 30"+ 2k+ screens.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #25 of 42 Old 07-12-2013, 02:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Way overkill build is pretty much the theme, isn't it ?

A single GTX Titan would handle the 4K, since it appears JapanDave doesn't game. And if that is indeed the case,
then the dual 780's lack the Titan's double precision compute ability.
Tedd is offline  
post #26 of 42 Old 07-12-2013, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Yeah, after the advise of others here, I am going to with the titans.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #27 of 42 Old 07-12-2013, 04:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Intel Xeon E5-2690 @ 2.90GHz
JapanDave likes this.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #28 of 42 Old 07-12-2013, 05:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Intel Xeon E5-2690 @ 2.90GHz

That is a beast of a CPU! eek.gif

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #29 of 42 Old 07-23-2013, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 99
OK, got the MoBo and the CPU. I setup the water cooling first, sprung a few leaks, lucky I just had the system connected to the old MoBo and power unit so no damage. Once I got that sorted I put in the memory and an AMD Radeon HD7850 OC I had lying around. So while I am waiting for the 2 Titans to show up , I have the PC up and running.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #30 of 42 Old 07-23-2013, 06:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,408
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Pics !!!

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off