HTPC won't boot...just looking for suggestions or first thoughts - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Which one do you think it is
PSU 1 100.00%
Motherboard 0 0%
CPU 0 0%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 07-01-2013, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mcrommert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay I know this isn't technically a troubleshooting forum but I thought those who have built a lot more htpcs than me might have a good feel for what has happened.

My build is based on a ASROCK h77 pro4-m motherboard with an i5-2750k ivy bridge chip. It is in a Silverstone gd07b case( big gargantuan thing). It has been running fine....I stress tested it for a week...blah blah blah until yesterday.

I was cleaning around the case with a paper towel that was damp. I took off the dust cover and started wiping the grill the sits on the case over the case fan...computer immediately cut out.

Will not start at all...I get the light to flash on the fans, cd drive spin for a second and then stop. I have eliminated everything but psu (it turns on with paperclip but still could be issue) motherboard and cpu. What does everyone think? frown.gif
mcrommert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 07-01-2013, 11:51 AM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
You shorted something out, while working on it live. A very expensive life lesson, that I hope you will not do again, when you get the new motherboard, power supply or both to replace what you blew.
gregzoll is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 07-01-2013, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mcrommert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrommert View Post

Okay I know this isn't technically a troubleshooting forum but I thought those who have built a lot more htpcs than me might have a good feel for what has happened.

My build is based on a ASROCK h77 pro4-m motherboard with an i5-2750k ivy bridge chip. It is in a Silverstone gd07b case( big gargantuan thing). It has been running fine....I stress tested it for a week...blah blah blah until yesterday.

I was cleaning around the case with a paper towel that was damp. I took off the dust cover and started wiping the grill the sits on the case over the case fan...computer immediately cut out.

Will not start at all...I get the light to flash on the fans, cd drive spin for a second and then stop. I have eliminated everything but psu (it turns on with paperclip but still could be issue) motherboard and cpu. What does everyone think? frown.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

You shorted something out, while working on it live. A very expensive life lesson, that I hope you will not do again, when you get the new motherboard, power supply or both to replace what you blew.

Well I can rma the board...the board is floating though...how on earth did I kill it by touching the case
mcrommert is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 07-01-2013, 12:38 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Static Electricity, along with most likely bad Earth ground in your place that you are using the computer at. Regardless, you should never work on a computer or any electronics live, and also suggest calling an electrician in to go over the distribution system where you live, to make sure the sytem and outlets are properly grounded.

I have never had any units go bad when cleaning them. Then again I always have them powered down and make sure I do not have any static buildup in myself, by touching the chassis while it is still plugged in but turned off.
gregzoll is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 07-01-2013, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mcrommert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gotcha...thanks for the tip...testing the psu when I get my hands on a different one
mcrommert is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 07-01-2013, 01:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
SugarBowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have a graphics card? I've had several PC's fail this way and it was the graphics card.
SugarBowl is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 07-01-2013, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mcrommert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no I have a card I may incorporate, but I have been running from beginning using the hd4000 for video acceleration. I had a tuner card but I removed that and tested without it
mcrommert is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 07-01-2013, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Zon2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
This is probably a dumb comment, but are you certain you simply didn't unseat some wire or connector by accident when you were wiping around inside? Is everything firmly plugged in where it should be?

I'm having a hard time believing wiping off that fan grill would short anything out.
Zon2020 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 07-01-2013, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mcrommert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trust me i'm having a hard time believing it too, but it seemed to happen...I wasn't even inside the case...this was the outside of the case...perhaps i knocked something else and it only seemed like the wiping was the issue.

I have reseated the cpu...taken everything off the board other than the cpu and ram...took the ram out...reseated the power...checked the screws...nothing
mcrommert is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 07-01-2013, 02:34 PM
Member
 
ove1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did a screw or other part roll under the mainboard? It sounds like the PS is sensing a short and shutting down.

Did you reseat both the 24-pin and the 4/8 pin ATX MB connectors from the PS?

Have you tried resetting CMOS. Maybe the BIOS settings got corrupted when the machine shut down.

Is there a speaker (buzzer) connected to the mainboard? Usually the BIOS will beep an error code. Some boards have an LED status readout.

If none of that works, substituting a known-good power supply with no PCI cards, disks, or DVD drives and one stick of memory is a good next step. You'll need to have a display connected and hope for a BIOS display. If that works, you can start adding devices back one at a time.
ove1 is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 07-03-2013, 07:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mcrommert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay update...I have tested psu and mother board.. They both seem to be good. I had no idea that a bad cpu could make my computer do this but perhaps it can. Any guidance would be helpful.
mcrommert is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 07-03-2013, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
How did you test the motherboard?

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 07-03-2013, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Mac25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ms gulf coast
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
discharge any currents on the board, remove the cpu then remove mobo battery for thirty minutes, re-insert the battery and cpu and try again.
Mac25 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 07-03-2013, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mcrommert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I bought a new motherboard to test and breadboarded it. Hooked up test speaker power and CPU. exactly the same problem as with the other motherboard....power for a second and then turn off. I have tested the psu because I hooked up another psu and same thing happened. Memory could be an issue but then it would at least give a beep, but no beep no nothing.
mcrommert is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 07-03-2013, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mcrommert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
done all of those things...the cmos battery was actually out for 24 hours at one point and I cleared the cmos with jumpers...I am testing the cpu today but I always thought that a computer will at least do something if the motherboard is good...a bad cpu isn't supposed to make it do nothing
mcrommert is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 07-03-2013, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Mac25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ms gulf coast
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
cpu can cause mobo to do many weird things, replace it.
Mac25 is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 07-03-2013, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mcrommert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's what I'm doing tonight...build computers for years...this is the weirdest thing that has ever happened
mcrommert is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off