Weird MCE Remote Wake Issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-03-2013, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dreamscape86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This problem has mystified me for months. Seemingly at random, my MCE remote will just not wake up my Windows 7 HTPC. The receiver is clearly powered, because the red LED lights up when I hit the power button, but the machine just doesn't wake up. But if I go over and hit the keyboard or click a mouse button, the computer will wake up just fine. But other times (it's about 50/50 whether it will work or not), the remote wakes the computer just fine.

Has anyone ever seen something like this? Any ideas where to start tracking it down?
dreamscape86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-03-2013, 02:34 PM
Senior Member
 
gazebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The only time I saw this problem was when I was using a non-compliant "MCE" remote that passed itself off as an MCE remote, like this one. My experience with this remote was that it would take the PC down to standby state, but it was a hit-or-miss (more misses than hits for me) to wake it up.

My solution was get a real MCE remote, like this one. It worked 100% of the time.
gazebo is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-03-2013, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dreamscape86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! That's an interesting story. I think my remote is a "real" MCE remote... It's the one that came with my tuner card:



I was already thinking about replacing it with a Harmony, so it would be interesting to see if that fixes it. This may just have to wait until I can afford that addition. I'd welcome any other suggestions, though.
dreamscape86 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-03-2013, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Doesn't matter, some work, some don't. It's more to do with the dongle than anything. Make sure you check in device manager that all HID devices are set to wake the PC. You may have a similar setting in the BIOS as well. That looks like a remote for a Hauppauge. I don't think I could get mine to wake my PC either. But my Ortek/Adesso remote would wake just fine, and it's not Microsoft, not even MCE protocol at all.

Good luck, this can be a tough nut to crack.
mdavej is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-03-2013, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
gazebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
A real MCE remote receiver shows up as "Microsoft eHome Infrared Transceiver" in device manager in Windows 7.

Replacing the remote with a Harmony won't help since the problem appears to be on the receiver side.
gazebo is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-03-2013, 03:02 PM
jlv
Senior Member
 
jlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazebo View Post

The only time I saw this problem was when I was using a non-compliant "MCE" remote that passed itself off as an MCE remote, like this one. My experience with this remote was that it would take the PC down to standby state, but it was a hit-or-miss (more misses than hits for me) to wake it up...
I have a similar problem -- but using this remote (still recommended in assassin's blog) that looks identical to the one you linked above.

However, I think I only had this problem very sporadically until I added a Sony HT-CT150 soundbar between the HTPC and the TV. At least I think so -- I had the HTPC built and in use for less than a month before I added the soundbar (back in November). Either way, this problem happens all the time now.
jlv is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-03-2013, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Yep, I have the same problem. Sometimes MCE IR remote wakes up the PC, sometimes not. But the RF keyboard always works. I'm using a Rosewill RRC-126 WMC7 remote & receiver with the 20" USB extension.

Sometimes I restore or reboot the PC & that fixes things for a while.

When it acted up a few days ago I thought maybe the USB extension might not me plugged in all the way so I slid it in & out of the PC's USB port and the remote started working. And this worked for a while.

Then it acted up again the other day & I thought maybe the USB contacts were somehow dirty or corroded. So again I slide the USB extension in & out of the port a few times thinking this might clean up things. I noticed when doing this that the IR receiver blinked red a few times. I don't know the significance of that since I've never seen it blink before. But maybe the IR receiver is somehow re-establishing a connection with the PC. I don't know. I'll have to see how long this "fix" lasts.

Next time your remote does not work try what I did & see if that fixes things, even if temporarily. Maybe it will lead to a permanent fix.

Please let me know.
Mike99 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-04-2013, 10:57 PM
Senior Member
 
kesawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Try MCE Standby Tool (http://slicksolutions.eu/). That has fixed a lot of standby issues for me.

kesawi is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off