How to automaticaly Rip disks to server? Assassin HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 07-03-2013, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Hey all,

Now I finally have my server sorted out, (Thanks to you guys here) I need to start ripping my disk to the server.

I bought a Prestige Series with all the bells and whistles, so all software is installed and setup. I was just wondering how I go about setting the HTPC automatically rip disks to the server. I have these programs installed on the HTPC I believe.

LAV Filters
Media Center Master
MCE Media Browser
Microsoft Security Essentials 
Teamviewer
XBMC
Plex


So can anyone guide me to getting things setup? BTW, I installed Media Center master on the Server, as I believe that is needed to have the server recognize the files.

Cheers Dave

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 Old 07-03-2013, 04:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 761
I use MAKEMKV.

Assassin has a guide showing you how to rip with MAKEMKV.

It's a free software and works really well

http://www.makemkv.com/download/

If it's not pre installed just download and install it and follow the excellent guide for using it.

I do it basically that way myself.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3 of 33 Old 07-03-2013, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 152
First thing to do is make sure you have all your networking sorted out, so you can connect straight to the server.

Andy_Steb is online now  
post #4 of 33 Old 07-03-2013, 05:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
You will need to use a program like MakeMKV. I have a free guide that shows you how to do it step by step.

Sadly there is really no real way to "automatically" rip to MKV using free software.
assassin is offline  
post #5 of 33 Old 07-03-2013, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_Steb View Post

First thing to do is make sure you have all your networking sorted out, so you can connect straight to the server.

Yeah, I am having trouble accessing the shared folders, I have set them for permission on both the server and the HTPC and still it will not allow me to open the folder. Why does everything have to be so difficult, nothing is ever straight forward for me...mad.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

You will need to use a program like MakeMKV. I have a free guide that shows you how to do it step by step.

Sadly there is really no real way to "automatically" rip to MKV using free software.

OK, so I download that and rip each disk. I will check out your guide.

BTW, I can't seem to login to the tutorials, could you email me if there is an issue?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #6 of 33 Old 07-03-2013, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Never mind I fixed the access issue.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #7 of 33 Old 07-03-2013, 10:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I use MAKEMKV.

Assassin has a guide showing you how to rip with MAKEMKV.

It's a free software and works really well

http://www.makemkv.com/download/

If it's not pre installed just download and install it and follow the excellent guide for using it.

I do it basically that way myself.

Thanks for the link. I was wondering, can I simultaneously run this program on all my PC's in my house to save the files to the server? What I mean is simultaneously write the .mkv files into the same shared folder on my server? Can the Server handle that?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #8 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 04:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Never mind, I have 6 PC's making MKV files and saving them to the server right now. close to 1000 Blurays, so this is going to take some time.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #9 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 05:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Yes, can handle multiple rips simultaneously with ease.

Make sure to test your rips occasionally to make sure you are getting what you want.
JapanDave likes this.
assassin is offline  
post #10 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 06:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by JapanDave View Post

Never mind, I have 6 PC's making MKV files and saving them to the server right now. close to 1000 Blurays, so this is going to take some time.

I actually bought dual blu ray drives in my desktop for this reason. You might even grab an external USB. Doing them at the same time is much more fun and faster. By the time the 4th one is done- you are ready to load a new disc into the 1st again.
JapanDave likes this.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #11 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Yep I have an internal slim bd-r and a pair of bd-xl's in USB 3.0 trays.

Best way to roll.

However, you may find that MakeMKV is not doing everything it needs to on Bluray rips. They are much more complicated than DVD rips, especially with forced subs and multiple audio tracks.

Spot check them.



Sent from my iPad2 using Tapatalk HD 1.3
goros is online now  
post #12 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 199
auto rip and compress is (was?) a pretty nice automatic solution. or as close to automatic as there is. lots of people on TGB used it before microsoft destroyed that site. I don't read much about it any more.

unless you save all subtitle tracks by default make sure to figure out which ones you need for forced subtitles. if you are going to rip a movie that has a foreign language (think war films, sci fi aliens, fantasy creatures) look up with subtitle tracks(s) you want to save.

occasionally they are burned into the video stream (this is called hard coded). thats easy to deal with - you dont need to do anything. other times the forced subtitles will be their own subtitle track. other times they will be a subset of the main english subtitle track.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #13 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
jcruse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
If you don't mind saving your blu-rays as ISO format (plex won't be able to play them), you can use MyMovies for WHS to rip and catalog automatically. It costs around $50 to enable that feature plus a license for AnyDVD HD (another $100 or so). It also comes with a pretty decent front end for navigating and launching movies on the HTPC. And if money is no concern, you can get a Nimbie-21 blu-ray drive ($900), which MyMovies supports to load up 100 disks at a time, and it then will rip them all in sequence. MyMovies also has the ability to auto-convert to mkv after the rip, but since it uses Handbrake for that feature, there's no way to get a non-recompressed video file. I've asked the developer to support eac3to or makemkv for lossless rips, but he doesn't seem interested in doing so.
jcruse is offline  
post #14 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
MKVMerge, DvDFab and Handbrake help with some of the more difficult ones.


Sent from my iPad2 using Tapatalk HD 1.3
goros is online now  
post #15 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcruse View Post

If you don't mind saving your blu-rays as ISO format (plex won't be able to play them), you can use MyMovies for WHS to rip and catalog automatically. It costs around $50 to enable that feature plus a license for AnyDVD HD (another $100 or so). It also comes with a pretty decent front end for navigating and launching movies on the HTPC. And if money is no concern, you can get a Nimbie-21 blu-ray drive ($900), which MyMovies supports to load up 100 disks at a time, and it then will rip them all in sequence. MyMovies also has the ability to auto-convert to mkv after the rip, but since it uses Handbrake for that feature, there's no way to get a non-recompressed video file. I've asked the developer to support eac3to or makemkv for lossless rips, but he doesn't seem interested in doing so.

I've always been surprised by the lack of interest in My Movies on this forum. The auto ripping feature works very well, and it's the only true automated solution I know of. Unfortunately, you have to use WHS or Windows Server 2012 Essentials. I never understood why they couldn't just make it work with Windows 7/8. Additionally, using more than one drive at a time requires a $100 donation.

It's also worth noting the WMC client has built-in refresh rate switching without launching an external program (although unfortunately that requires a $100 donation too).
lockdown571 is online now  
post #16 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 10:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Makemkv is free and mkv files are most compatible

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #17 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 05:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Thanks for the advise guys. I started yesterday afternoon and worked until about 12 o'clock at night. I managed to get close to 40 blurays done. (Ended up with 5 PC's doing the work)

Questions,
1. Some disks just don't want to be ripped, what then? (My 007 Skyfall bluray keeps throwing an error, no matter what machine I put it in)
2. What speeds are you guys getting when saving directly to the server? It depends on the PC, but I am only getting about 8 mb's to 13 mb's, is this normal?
3. I setup XBMC and it reads the folder,but when I access them to watch all I am getting is the file name. I thought that you get a pic of the cover of the Bluray and background to match the movie?
Like this below,

Mine is not like this.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
1. A disk not ripping usually means it's scratched
2. Sounds like you are running at 100 mb/s speeds, not gigabit
3. You need to set the content type to "movie"
JapanDave likes this.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #19 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Thanks Lockdown, where do you change the content to movie?

Is this it? Instead of "NONE" change to movies?



http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Video_library/Adding_media_sources

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
That's correct
lockdown571 is online now  
post #21 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 09:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Awesome! Thanks again.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 07-04-2013, 10:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
OK, I set the scrapper to IMDB and I am still not getting the layout like below.



I just get the folder with the list of all the movies.

When I click on the movie, the metadata is presented, so0 the metadata is obviously there. So how do I get it so I can browse through my collection via the bluray covers? What settings do I need to change?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 07-05-2013, 06:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by JapanDave View Post

OK, I set the scrapper to IMDB and I am still not getting the layout like below.



I just get the folder with the list of all the movies.

When I click on the movie, the metadata is presented, so0 the metadata is obviously there. So how do I get it so I can browse through my collection via the bluray covers? What settings do I need to change?

Two points,

#1 - Assassin has an excellent guide on MediacenterMaster : http://forums.mediacentermaster.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=7264

I would use that. Download and install it. Run it on each MKV file you rip. Just make sure they are named as good as possible. Example: If you are ripping the movie Die Hard and it comes out DieHard_01 from MakeMKV rename it Die Hard because the "_01" stuff creates problems when searching metadata and album art with any meta scraper.

I run MediaCenterMaster on every single MKV I rip. It will automatically put the MKV video file into a movie folder - add all the album art for you- all the meta data, even rename the file properly for you. I have mine all set to display the year and the resolution



Mediamaster basically does it all for you- and you will always have proper set up if you just do every movie as you add it or rip it. Personally I rip them to a folder then do the mediacentermaster on them- and then move them to my final directory or folder. Only 100% complete movie folders with proper naming get put into my library. If you do it one at a time as you rip them it's easier than having to go back and do them all at once. You might want to catch up and then start doing it this way. It will prevent all the errors your having with XBMC and setting up meta scraping. You should like the results.




#2- I think you need a different theme, or back ground setting to get it to look how you want. You should play around with the different themes and different appearance options. There is lots of ways to set up Mediabrowser and XBMC and make them look different. If your looking for a certain look I would advise playing around with that and seeing what you like. Personally I like the coverflow styles for movies , and the List style for TV episodes.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #24 of 33 Old 07-05-2013, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
For the life of me I cannot access those guides. I just keep clicking the links and I go around and around in circles. Nothing ever brings me up to a link.?????

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #25 of 33 Old 07-05-2013, 05:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Did you log in ? Do you know your login and PW?

Assassin is not on the forums as much these days but you could PM him here, or Ben at the email address.


Mine works. Not sure what to tell you. You have to login to access them. Click the square to do that.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #26 of 33 Old 07-05-2013, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
No, I don't have a login name or password. But I should do.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 07-05-2013, 06:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by JapanDave View Post

No, I don't have a login name or password. But I should do.

PM me your e-mail, desired username and desired blog password and I will get you signed up.
assassin is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 07-05-2013, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Thanks PM'ed you.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #29 of 33 Old 07-05-2013, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Went through all my DVD's and blurays today and looks like I way overestimated the size of my collection. Around 600 disk to convert. And at speeds of 8 mb/s to 30 mb/s each one is taking about 30min to convert. Is this normal? Right now using 5 PC's at a time to convert, one PC just won't play ball for some reason.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
post #30 of 33 Old 07-05-2013, 11:06 PM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes. DVDs are usually rip faster.
gonzo90017 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off