Intel HD4600 vs Radeon 3650??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 07-04-2013, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

I have been using my htpc for about 5 years. It is an e8400 using a powercolor fanless Radeon 3650 with 512MB GDDR2. I know. What a screaming machine, right? :-)

I am using the DVI out with a DVI/VGA dongle to the VGA input of my 52" Sony XBR. This has worked for many years and done quite a nice job. We have many standard def files that we run at 1080 on the tv and they look stellar. I usually cannot tell the difference between a standard def copy of a show and a full 1080p copy.

I wanted to update it and run off hdmi (so I don't have to switch the audio input). I figured that with a 5 year difference that I could get a new Haswell and the latest graphics from Intel would be better than my 5yo graphics card. Unfortunately I think I may have been very mistaken. I built the machine and ran the same file we just watched the night before on Radeon and it looked horrible. Extremely grainy.

So was my assumption wrong? Would an old dedicated gpu with 512MB of ram still do better than the brand new Haswell 4600 graphics engine? Or do I just need to tweak the drivers/settings?

Thanks,
Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 07-04-2013, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter

Ugh. A simple search would have given me the answer I needed. I wish I had done this before dumping $150+ on the mobo, cpu, and mem. Sigh.
http://www.game-debate.com/gpu/index.php?gid=1438&gid2=191&compare=intel-hd-graphics-4600-desktop-vs-radeon-hd-3650
post #3 of 7 Old 07-04-2013, 08:41 AM
Oxn

Thanks for your help.

I was about to make a HTPC with the 4600IGP, hoping it would be enough.

But now I can buy the cheaper ivy bridge version and get myself a Low profile 7750 GPU, and come out on top and save myself some money.
post #4 of 7 Old 07-04-2013, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 61