FlexRAID: Adding HDD to storage pool to existing RAID? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2013, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
I am using the Cruise control function in FlexRAID and I want to add more HDD's to the storage pool. I have added new HDD's to the storage pool in the below screen (This is the screen shot of the tutorial here)



So once you have added all the HDD's to the pool how do you get FlexRAID to register the new drives in the pool? They register in the storage manager, but when looking at C: drive they have not been added. Do you need to click "Initialize RAID" again?

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-13-2013, 01:41 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Your c drive is not the pool, FR by default creates the v drive for the pool but this is changeable.

David
DavidT99 is offline  
Old 07-13-2013, 02:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidT99 View Post

Your c drive is not the pool, FR by default creates the v drive for the pool but this is changeable.

David

My bad, I meant to say My computer screen. I added the DRU's like you do when you first setup cruise control. The DRU drives show up in the config screen, but not in the my computer screen.

BUT, I initialized the RAID again, rebooted and all the drives were added to V: drive.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
Old 07-13-2013, 09:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
V drive is Fkexraid

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 07-13-2013, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

V drive is Fkexraid
Yeah, I was trying add more HDD's to the pool. I have about 30TB now.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 04:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
WOW you blew right past me in your first week eek.gif

Your all set now with your server ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,407
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Hey Mfusick, yes I am all setup and good to go. I just have to setup the snap raid to automatically run on a set time.

I have brought another 20TB to be added since then. biggrin.gif

I have yet to get my HTPC bit streaming yet however. I keep getting static coming through the speakers when ever I set XBMC to DTS-HD/DolbyHD capable receiver. The receiver can certainly decode the codecs, but on any streaming software, when set to bit streaming I get static. I am at a lose.

My build thread

My 8 x RE XXX 18" Subwoofers, IB build
Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.

Do you know what Nemesis means?

JapanDave is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off