Assassin Gigabyte Brix Build - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 Old 08-23-2013, 05:19 PM
Member
 
TeflonDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there ANY word on when the AMD version is going to be available?
TeflonDog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 Old 09-12-2013, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Is there anything wrong with using one of the cheaper Celeron models for HTPC duties?
Gigabyte GB-XM14-1037 is $199.
Intel BOXDCCP847DYE is $165 (I know, not a Brix, but a contender)

Just looking for a simple client to stream from my server. Windows 7.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #33 of 40 Old 09-12-2013, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

Is there anything wrong with using one of the cheaper Celeron models for HTPC duties?
Gigabyte GB-XM14-1037 is $199.
Intel BOXDCCP847DYE is $165 (I know, not a Brix, but a contender)

Just looking for a simple client to stream from my server. Windows 7.

Not sure about a Win7 machine but plenty of people using the celeron version and openelec for XBMC with 2 gb ram and a usb flash drive for the OS drive.
assassin is offline  
post #34 of 40 Old 09-12-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Has to be Windows 7. My FiOS TV is all tuned by an HDHR Prime. Wife insists on having TV available. Sorry I did not specify this in the original post.

That's a cool idea, booting off USB for a streamer.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #35 of 40 Old 09-12-2013, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

Has to be Windows 7. My FiOS TV is all tuned by an HDHR Prime. Wife insists on having TV available. Sorry I did not specify this in the original post.

That's a cool idea, booting off USB for a streamer.

I haven't tested the Celeron specifically with Windows and WMC. Maybe someone else has.

Maybe talk to Stardog: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1460922/assassins-intel-nuc-review/30#post_23033374
assassin is offline  
post #36 of 40 Old 09-12-2013, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I haven't tested the Celeron specifically with Windows and WMC. Maybe someone else has.

Maybe talk to Stardog: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1460922/assassins-intel-nuc-review/30#post_23033374

When I first got a Celeron 847 motherboard (Biostar version) I put together a PC with 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD and Windows 7. I hooked it up to the bedroom TV where there is a G620 system so my observations compare to that. This PC was connected to my GigE network via Cat 5e.

It ran Windows pretty well though the interactions in Windows felt a bit slow to me. Unzip is very slow. Starting programs seemed slow. WMC ran fine, moving through menus, etc. Live TV looked fine as well. I didn't notice any slowness in channel changing or the guide (HDHR3-CC tuner on the network). On the video playback side it played anything and everything -- all the high-bit rate samples I could find -- and looked very nice on my 50" plasma. Netflix HD played through the WMC plugin (Silverlight) which was remarkable since this was the first SoC to do so. CPU utilization was 85-90% and it did get hot but nowhere near the top end of 100C. I used the movie Firefly as the test and watched the whole thing. There was not one glitch. XBMC's internal player (Eden or Frodo) didn't work at all, either with or without DXVA. Launching an external player solved that issue.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #37 of 40 Old 09-12-2013, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Not sure about a Win7 machine but plenty of people using the celeron version and openelec for XBMC with 2 gb ram and a usb flash drive for the OS drive.
Has anyone been able to install Windows 7 and various apps on a bootable USB flash drive and run them from there? A 64GB USB flash drive should be large enough for the task. I'm curious as to whether the Windows installation disk will recognize the drive as an available drive for installing the OS.
captain_video is offline  
post #38 of 40 Old 10-24-2013, 06:59 PM
Newbie
 
Bryman31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

i just joined the forum here mainly because of a google search on this exact same setup.......looks like its been several weeks, hows this setup going? 

 

 

ive got the exact same box......ive got a 3td WD Red drive....and ive got about 200 movies on it so far..........i have yet to get the computer mainly because just this week the new BRIX model hit newegg and the new NUC models should be following soon after...... figure ill wait a few weeks.........

Bryman31 is offline  
post #39 of 40 Old 11-05-2013, 06:40 PM
Newbie
 
Bryman31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

bump for update?

Bryman31 is offline  
post #40 of 40 Old 01-09-2014, 07:02 AM
Member
 
GuyLR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeflonDog View Post

Is there ANY word on when the AMD version is going to be available?

Finally Newegg is showing an AMD based BRIX GB-BXA8-5545 with a 19W Richland A8-5545M for pre-order. It should be just a little more powerful than the low end Haswell equipped GB-BXi3-4010. It's also $40 cheaper and will be released at the end of January. Still no Kabini versions yet.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856164009
GuyLR is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off