New media server... what hdd? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-23-2013, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Stephen Ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Building a new PC that will function as both a PC and a media server. It will be based on a Z87 and i7 4770 and will use SSDs for OS and applications such as photoshop, videoredo, makemkv, EAC, handbrake, etc.
It also will be a media server for use over gigabyte LAN with boxeebox, dune and roku (plex). I am wondering which hdd's to use for this second purpose. In the past I have used WD greens w/o any problems really. Just wondering if another drive might be more suitable.

I know WD recommends the reds for NAS but would they also be preferred for use in a media server. Or does it matter... would any drive be fine?
Stephen Ash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-23-2013, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Ash View Post

Building a new PC that will function as both a PC and a media server. It will be based on a Z87 and i7 4770 and will use SSDs for OS and applications such as photoshop, videoredo, makemkv, EAC, handbrake, etc.
It also will be a media server for use over gigabyte LAN with boxeebox, dune and roku (plex). I am wondering which hdd's to use for this second purpose. In the past I have used WD greens w/o any problems really. Just wondering if another drive might be more suitable.

I know WD recommends the reds for NAS but would they also be preferred for use in a media server. Or does it matter... would any drive be fine?

Go with the best price you can find. Don't forget external drives, the prices can be better than bare drives and you can gut them so you can install the hard drive in your server.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-23-2013, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post

Go with the best price you can find. Don't forget external drives, the prices can be better than bare drives and you can gut them so you can install the hard drive in your server.

Don't you void the warranty by doing this though?
lockdown571 is online now  
post #4 of 14 Old 07-23-2013, 08:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

Don't you void the warranty by doing this though?

I recently had a hard drive that I had gutted from an external go bad and they actually had me send it back to them outside of the case. They didn't want the case, power supply or anything at all.

The best part? They sent me an entirely new external hard drive with case and power supply.

So I think it varies but if you get a case that you can crack open easily just save it in case you need it later to send it back.
assassin is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 07-23-2013, 09:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Ash View Post


I know WD recommends the reds for NAS but would they also be preferred for use in a media server. Or does it matter... would any drive be fine?

Green is also good for your purposes (unless you are going with hardware RAID). Many people disable head parking for better performance and longevity, however (how: create a bootable USB flash drive, copy WDIDLE3.exe there, boot in DOS, type in "wdidle3 /d", hit Enter, disconnect power, reconnect it. That's it). With Red, this is disabled by default.
renethx is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-23-2013, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I recently had a hard drive that I had gutted from an external go bad and they actually had me send it back to them outside of the case. They didn't want the case, power supply or anything at all.

The best part? They sent me an entirely new external hard drive with case and power supply.

So I think it varies but if you get a case that you can crack open easily just save it in case you need it later to send it back.

I've RMA'd a few WD Greens that I'd pulled from cases as bare drives. No mention during the process of the case at all.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #7 of 14 Old 07-24-2013, 06:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,761
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I recently had a hard drive that I had gutted from an external go bad and they actually had me send it back to them outside of the case. They didn't want the case, power supply or anything at all.

The best part? They sent me an entirely new external hard drive with case and power supply.

So I think it varies but if you get a case that you can crack open easily just save it in case you need it later to send it back.

+1. I've done rma with Hitachi and WD from externals I've cracked open.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-24-2013, 06:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,761
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Ash View Post

Building a new PC that will function as both a PC and a media server. It will be based on a Z87 and i7 4770 and will use SSDs for OS and applications such as photoshop, videoredo, makemkv, EAC, handbrake, etc.
It also will be a media server for use over gigabyte LAN with boxeebox, dune and roku (plex). I am wondering which hdd's to use for this second purpose. In the past I have used WD greens w/o any problems really. Just wondering if another drive might be more suitable.

I know WD recommends the reds for NAS but would they also be preferred for use in a media server. Or does it matter... would any drive be fine?

If your not running hardware RAID any drive can work.

What kind of performance do you want ? Is it important ? If not - green or RED are ok.

A 4TB Seagate is often cheaper per TB, 5900rpm, and quite a bit faster than WD 5400rpm drives. It uses less energy too.

I use the Seagate 7200.14 3TB in my server. Huge difference and improvements from WD green drives I replaced. I will never buy 5400 rpm drives again. They are not worth it IMO.

I used to be a WD fanboy for years using only WD products but these days I prefer modern Seagates and Hitachis for a variety of reasons.

Do you have a strong brand preference for WD ? Or are you willing to look at better performing drives from other MFG at cheaper prices ? That's really the big question.

If you don't care about maxing out your LAN network connection speed you can ignore me. If you want to maximize your performance and minimize your costs I'd check out some other options. RED or GREEN will create a bottleneck in your speed below you LAN capability while costing more. There is no difference in noise or heat compared to a 4TB Seagate either. The Seagate uses less power and has 1TB more capacity too.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-24-2013, 06:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Put your programs on the ssd. Put everything else on your hard drives (as you started in your original post). For this application any hard drive will work well for playback and storage so I would grab the best deal per gb that you can find.
assassin is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-24-2013, 06:41 AM
Member
 
RobNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What HD really depends on your server. What I mean is how many HD's can fit in your server? If you can only fit 10 or so drives I would be looking at 4TB only if you have more room or don't care about adding external enclosures then go straight $ /tb. I had recently upgraded my server from 10 drive case to the Norco 4224 and so I was only considering 4TB before but man does your disk space grow like a weed lol Good luck with whatever you decide.

-RobNY
RobNY is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 07-24-2013, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Stephen Ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

If your not running hardware RAID any drive can work.

What kind of performance do you want ? Is it important ? If not - green or RED are ok.

A 4TB Seagate is often cheaper per TB, 5900rpm, and quite a bit faster than WD 5400rpm drives. It uses less energy too.

I use the Seagate 7200.14 3TB in my server. Huge difference and improvements from WD green drives I replaced. I will never buy 5400 rpm drives again. They are not worth it IMO.

I used to be a WD fanboy for years using only WD products but these days I prefer modern Seagates and Hitachis for a variety of reasons.

Do you have a strong brand preference for WD ? Or are you willing to look at better performing drives from other MFG at cheaper prices ? That's really the big question.

If you don't care about maxing out your LAN network connection speed you can ignore me. If you want to maximize your performance and minimize your costs I'd check out some other options. RED or GREEN will create a bottleneck in your speed below you LAN capability while costing more. There is no difference in noise or heat compared to a 4TB Seagate either. The Seagate uses less power and has 1TB more capacity too.

No RAID.

Yes... I like performance... but favor reliability.

No preference for brand. I've used them all.
Stephen Ash is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 07-24-2013, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
JackDiesel14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Which 2-4 TB drive operates at the lowest heat? I have a energy hogging, space heating 2 TB WD Black but I plan on building a new SFF PC that will serve as my download center, music player and organizer, and blu ray ripper. That WD Black won't do so I need something new.

EDIT: Nvm, I found this benchmark.
JackDiesel14 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 07-24-2013, 07:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,761
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Ash View Post

No RAID.

Yes... I like performance... but favor reliability.

No preference for brand. I've used them all.

Seagate for the win.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #14 of 14 Old 07-24-2013, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Davecraze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Samsung drives (and a time machine to go back and buy them all up).

Seriously, you are getting fine advice here from other folks - for media server purposes just buy the best $/TB drive from any major vendor if you are not using hardware raid.
Davecraze is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off