Can't seem to get 5.1 - PC->HDMI->TV->Toslink->Amp - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 07-25-2013, 11:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LawRayLiet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My setup is as follows: PC->HDMI->TV->Toslink->Amp
When I plug in my PS3 via the same method, 5.1 passes through just fine. Anyone have an idea how I can get my PC to work in the same way?
Graphics Card (Click to show)
EVGA GeForce GTX 660 (SC)
TV INFO (Click to show)
Monitor
Model name............... SONY TV
Manufacturer............. Sony
Plug and Play ID......... SNYEA01
Serial number............ n/a
Manufacture date......... 2010, ISO week 1
Filter driver............ None
EDID revision............ 1.3
Input signal type........ Digital
Color bit depth.......... Undefined
Display type............. RGB color
Screen size.............. 1600 x 900 mm (72.3 in)
Power management......... Not supported
Extension blocs.......... 1 (CEA-EXT)
DDC/CI................... Not supported

Color characteristics
Default color space...... Non-sRGB
Display gamma............ 2.20
Red chromaticity......... Rx 0.635 - Ry 0.336
Green chromaticity....... Gx 0.285 - Gy 0.608
Blue chromaticity........ Bx 0.146 - By 0.061
White point (default).... Wx 0.280 - Wy 0.290
Additional descriptors... None

Timing characteristics
Horizontal scan range.... 15-70kHz
Vertical scan range...... 58-62Hz
Video bandwidth.......... 150MHz
CVT standard............. Not supported
GTF standard............. Not supported
Additional descriptors... None
Preferred timing......... Yes
Native/preferred timing.. 1920x1080p at 60Hz (16:9)
Modeline............... "1920x1080" 148.500 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
Detailed timing #1....... 1280x720p at 60Hz (16:9)
Modeline............... "1280x720" 74.250 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync

Standard timings supported
640 x 480p at 60Hz - IBM VGA
800 x 600p at 60Hz - VESA
1024 x 768p at 60Hz - VESA
1280 x 1024p at 60Hz - VESA STD

EIA/CEA-861 Information
Revision number.......... 3
IT underscan............. Not supported
Basic audio.............. Supported
YCbCr 4:4:4.............. Supported
YCbCr 4:2:2.............. Supported
Native formats........... 0
Detailed timing #1....... 1920x1080i at 60Hz (16:9)
Modeline............... "1920x1080" 74.250 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 interlace +hsync +vsync
Detailed timing #2....... 720x480p at 60Hz (16:9)
Modeline............... "720x480" 27.000 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync
Detailed timing #3....... 720x480p at 60Hz (4:3)
Modeline............... "720x480" 27.000 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync
Detailed timing #4....... 1440x480i at 60Hz (4:3)
Modeline............... "1440x480" 27.000 1440 1478 1602 1716 480 488 494 524 interlace -hsync -vsync

CE video identifiers (VICs) - timing/formats supported
1920 x 1080p at 60Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
1280 x 720p at 60Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
1920 x 1080i at 60Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
720 x 480p at 60Hz - EDTV (16:9, 32:27)
720 x 480p at 60Hz - EDTV (4:3, 8:9)
720 x 480i at 60Hz - Doublescan (16:9, 32:27)
720 x 480i at 60Hz - Doublescan (4:3, 8:9)
1920 x 1080p at 24Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
640 x 480p at 60Hz - Default (4:3, 1:1)
NB: NTSC refresh rate = (Hz*1000)/1001

CE audio data (formats supported)
LPCM 2-channel, 16/20/24 bit depths at 32/44/48 kHz
AC-3 6-channel, 640k max. bit rate at 32/44/48 kHz

CE speaker allocation data
Channel configuration.... 2.0
Front left/right......... Yes
Front LFE................ No
Front center............. No
Rear left/right.......... No
Rear center.............. No
Front left/right center.. No
Rear left/right center... No
Rear LFE................. No

CE vendor specific data (VSDB)
IEEE registration number. 0x000C03
CEC physical address..... 1.0.0.0
Supports AI (ACP, ISRC).. Yes
Supports 48bpp........... No
Supports 36bpp........... No
Supports 30bpp........... No
Supports YCbCr 4:4:4..... No
Supports dual-link DVI... No
Maximum TMDS clock....... 150MHz
Audio/video latency (p).. n/a
Audio/video latency (i).. n/a
HDMI video capabilities.. No
Data payload............. 030C001000801E0F

Report information
Date generated........... 7/26/2013
Software revision........ 2.70.0.989
Data source.............. Real-time 0x0071
Operating system......... 6.2.9200.2

Raw data
00,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,FF,00,4D,D9,01,EA,01,01,01,01,01,14,01,03,80,A0,5A,78,0A,83,AD,A2,56,49,9B,25,
0F,47,4A,21,08,00,81,80,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,02,3A,80,18,71,38,2D,40,58,2C,
45,00,40,84,63,00,00,1E,01,1D,00,72,51,D0,1E,20,6E,28,55,00,40,84,63,00,00,1E,00,00,00,FD,00,3A,
3E,0F,46,0F,00,0A,20,20,20,20,20,20,00,00,00,FC,00,53,4F,4E,59,20,54,56,0A,20,20,20,20,20,01,5F,
02,03,22,70,49,10,04,05,03,02,07,06,20,01,26,09,07,07,15,07,50,83,01,00,00,68,03,0C,00,10,00,80,
1E,0F,01,1D,80,18,71,1C,16,20,58,2C,25,00,40,84,63,00,00,9E,8C,0A,D0,8A,20,E0,2D,10,10,3E,96,00,
40,84,63,00,00,18,8C,0A,D0,8A,20,E0,2D,10,10,3E,96,00,B0,84,43,00,00,18,8C,0A,A0,14,51,F0,16,00,
26,7C,43,00,B0,84,43,00,00,98,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,07
I've searched for hours for a solution, so any help would be appreciated.
LawRayLiet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 03:00 AM
Senior Member
 
vzphoneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
What media player are you using?

The lazy man finds the easiest way ... Ben Franklin
vzphoneman is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LawRayLiet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply. I know how to get 5.1 while watching a movie through my media player(Media Player Classic/CCCP) (despite it still only being set to stereo in my speaker config). I'm mainly looking to be able to select 5.1 in my speaker configuration via Windows, so then I'll be able to get surround sound while gaming on my PC. Any ideas?
LawRayLiet is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 248

PC games use multichannel pcm for audio. SPDIF only supports 2ch pcm.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LawRayLiet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I understand what you're saying, then it's only possible to have surround sound in games via HDMI? You're saying that even if I bought a sound card with a digital optical out, then 5.1 wouldn't work in games?
That doesn't sound right to me, so please explain if you're able to.
I was thinking it's an issue with my PC detecting the TV as 2 channel and not passing through to the 5.1 amp. There's no way available to manually setup my speaker configuration (like PS3 and Xbox allow)?
LawRayLiet is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by LawRayLiet View Post

My setup is as follows: PC->HDMI->TV->Toslink->Amp
When I plug in my PS3 via the same method, 5.1 passes through just fine. Anyone have an idea how I can get my PC to work in the same way?
 

I don't understand why your setup isn't PC -> Amp -> TV, all HDMI, no Toslink.

And welcome to AVS. smile.gif


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 248

You have three choices to output multichannel audio in PC games...

 

  1. Output HDMI from the GPU into the receiver. The receiver and GPU must support HD AUDIO or at least Multi Ch PCM.
  2. Buy a sound card that supports Dolby Digital Live or DTS Interactive. This will convert Multi Ch PCM to Dolby Digital or DTS which SPDIF can passthrough. HDMI would go into the TV and SPDIF into the receiver.
  3. Use the audio outputs from your sound card using three 3.5mm to rca jacks. This will connect to the multi ch input on your receiver.
LawRayLiet likes this.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LawRayLiet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post

I don't understand why your setup isn't PC -> Amp -> TV, all HDMI, no Toslink.
And welcome to AVS. smile.gif
Well to complicate matters, I recently bought a 5.1 capable headset, so the only way I can configure it so that it would work with all my systems as well is through the setup I mentioned.
Which is essentially: PS3/PC/Xbox -> HDMI -> TV -> Toslink -> Headset AMP -> Toslink -> AMP
This currently works for my other 2 systems, just not my PC...
This would all be solved if my AMP had a Toslink output so then I could just run everything through there and then out into my headset amp, but unfortunately it has no such output...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

You have three choices to output multichannel audio in PC games...
  1. Output HDMI from the GPU into the receiver. The receiver and GPU must support HD AUDIO or at least Multi Ch PCM.
  2. Buy a sound card that supports Dolby Digital Live or DTS Interactive. This will convert Multi Ch PCM to Dolby Digital or DTS which SPDIF can passthrough. HDMI would go into the TV and SPDIF into the receiver.
  3. Use the audio outputs from your sound card using three 3.5mm to rca jacks. This will connect to the multi ch input on your receiver.

I understand now. Guess I'll probably be going with option 2. Thanks for the help.
LawRayLiet is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EricN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 154
I'll wager it's your TV. Many TVs will forcibly downgrade the digital audio output to 2.0 channels when fed from an HDMI source, even though they happily output 5.1 when fed from their own ATSC/QAM tuner.

It sounds mind bogglingly stupid, but it's true. There are a few threads scattered around all the forums here complaining about it. You won't be able to solve this problem by fiddling the audio settings on your PC. You need to change to Source->AVR->TV. If you don't have or want an AVR capable of this, you can get an EDID-aware HDMI audio extractor and put it upstream of the TV.
EricN is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That's my first impression as well. But how do you explain that OP's PS3 works fine?
pixelation is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
wpbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Sounds like a hdmi splitter should get it done. You'd be running hdmi to both the avr and the tv. I don't have first hand experience with one but I can't imagine it not working. That's assuming your avr has hdmi input, if not check here..
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1215060/hdmi-to-toslink-splitter
wpbpete is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
wpbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
wpbpete is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EricN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelation View Post

That's my first impression as well. But how do you explain that OP's PS3 works fine?

Does the PS3 ignore the display's EDID when 5.1 output is explicitly selected?


Regarding the hdmi splitter or the hdmi->toslink audio extractor, this may not solve the problem if the TV is claiming that it will only accept 2.0 audio over hdmi. If that is the case, you'll need some way to override the EDID
EricN is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 05:17 PM
Senior Member
 
wpbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
If i understand the op correctly, pc gaming is the issue and that's kind of the point of a HDMI splitter..both the TV and avr would be receiving the HDMI signal from the PC.
wpbpete is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LawRayLiet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricN View Post

Does the PS3 ignore the display's EDID when 5.1 output is explicitly selected?
Even when I don't set it "Manually" on the PS3 and just select "Automatic" in the sound settings, my PS3 incdludes Dolby Digital 5.1 in the setup. Not sure if it's detecting it, but that's what I'd assume. Dolby 5.1 plays perfectly in games, movies, etc..

But if what my understanding of what Mrkazador said is correct, then that's because my PS3 supports Dobly Digital Live and my GTX 660 only supports Dolby Digital. You would think a $200+ graphics card would support such a thing...
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpbpete View Post

Sounds like a hdmi splitter should get it done. You'd be running hdmi to both the avr and the tv. I don't have first hand experience with one but I can't imagine it not working. That's assuming your avr has hdmi input, if not check here..
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1215060/hdmi-to-toslink-splitter

Well, my AMP has an HDMI output. So what I was doing before was: PC->HDMI->AMP->HDMI->TV
Which worked just fine, 5.1 and all. But If you read one of my previous post, you can see why I need to set it up the way I mentioned:
Quote:
Originally Posted by LawRayLiet View Post

Well to complicate matters, I recently bought a 5.1 capable headset, so the only way I can configure it so that it would work with all my systems as well is through the setup I mentioned.
Which is essentially: PS3/PC/Xbox -> HDMI -> TV -> Toslink -> Headset AMP -> Toslink -> AMP
This currently works for my other 2 systems, just not my PC...
This would all be solved if my AMP had a Toslink output so then I could just run everything through there and then out into my headset amp, but unfortunately it has no such output...
LawRayLiet is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 07-26-2013, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 248
The reason consoles can output games in multichannel is because the audio is being output as Dolby Digital. Having Dolby digital live on the GPU would be a useless feature, maybe one out of 100000 people would use it.
Most TVs don't output 5.1 from the optical port when using HDMI. Do you know for sure its outputting 5.1 and not 2.0???
Mrkazador is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 07-27-2013, 12:30 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LawRayLiet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

The reason consoles can output games in multichannel is because the audio is being output as Dolby Digital. Having Dolby digital live on the GPU would be a useless feature, maybe one out of 100000 people would use it.
Most TVs don't output 5.1 from the optical port when using HDMI. Do you know for sure its outputting 5.1 and not 2.0???
Yes, I'm sure. At the XMB on PS3 it's 2 channel, but when I start a game or movie which has 5.1 audio, I can see the speakers become active on my amp. I've played many games and watched many movies on my PS3 and XBOX 360 with this setup and it's apparent the 5.1 surround works perfectly. Which is why I'm dumbfounded that my GPU doesn't work in the same way.

In case it may be relevant.... My AV reciever: http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=STRKS360S&LOC=3#/howtoTab
LawRayLiet is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 05-05-2014, 10:24 AM
Newbie
 
rogerthat1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LawRayLiet View Post

So if I understand what you're saying, then it's only possible to have surround sound in games via HDMI? You're saying that even if I bought a sound card with a digital optical out, then 5.1 wouldn't work in games?
That doesn't sound right to me, so please explain if you're able to.
I was thinking it's an issue with my PC detecting the TV as 2 channel and not passing through to the 5.1 amp. There's no way available to manually setup my speaker configuration (like PS3 and Xbox allow)?


I was having similar issues with a PC and amp.

But

as you are going from your TV to your amp via Toslink/Optical, I ask a couple of things....

1)

As you have 24/bit 48000Hz available from your TV output.

Are you inputting to your TV from your PC at the same data rate?

I tested my PC at outputting 24/bit 192000Hz, and my amp started twitching like crazy on the screen. It only works at up to 24/bit 96000Hz (and I had to alter Sound Settings in PC Control panel).

 

2) Have you checked for a firmware update for your TV? (assumes you have already looked through the TV software settings in menu).

 

3) Have you checked for a sound update for your PC?

 

4) Are your cables definitely in perfect condition?

 

5) I only guess you are using an up to date HDMI cable...

 

For me, I use an optical from my PC to my amp (for the DVi monitor).

But I also use HDMI as an option (as I have two monitors).

Both work in 5.1

 

Yamaha RX-S600 which works with every file type I have been able to throw at it.

rogerthat1945 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off