Controlling my HTPC by Remote? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-29-2013, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
is it possible for my HTPC to be accessed by a Kindle Fire HD via iRule?

mijotter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-30-2013, 08:10 AM
Member
 
Ruxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That is a very generic question, but in general, yes.

The control from iRule -> device is agnostic of whether you use iRule on the kindle, andriod, ios, etc. In my case my HTPC is running plex, and I use HTTP control rather than IR. If you want to use IR you will need some type of IP to IR converter (itach or the like).
Ruxl is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-30-2013, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
With most htpc software you can control it from your fire without the need to get an irule.
macks is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-30-2013, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
I've got the Ceton app running on my Android tablet.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Just as big an idea thief as)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
olyteddy is online now  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-30-2013, 10:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Ok good. I plan on using WMC. How does the tablet recognize the HTPC so I know what to look for?

mijotter is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-30-2013, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
It just Wi-Fis its way into any PC running WMC. If you have more than one HTPC you can access any of them with it. http://cetoncorp.com/products/companion/


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Just as big an idea thief as)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
olyteddy is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-31-2013, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,797
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Companion is a good start, but for complete control (keyboard and mouse), you need another app, of which there are many to chose from.

We still have no idea what you're looking for. What do you expect iRule or Companion to do, exactly?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-31-2013, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Sorry. Need it to access my HTPC. WMC, folders stored on the HTPC, Mouse and Keyboard control would be nice as well.

mijotter is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-31-2013, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,797
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Sorry. Need it to access my HTPC. WMC, folders stored on the HTPC, Mouse and Keyboard control would be nice as well.
I still don't know exactly what you mean by "access". Can you give specific examples of what you expect to see on your control device and what functions you would like to perform? Are you currently using iRule for other control or could you use something else? Can you see the computer screen on your TV while you are controlling it, or do you need the screen or some information from it to be displayed on your controlling device? Can you specify what's required and what would just be nice to have? The more you ask for, the more complex and expensive the solution will be.

When you say you want to access folders on your HTPC, do you simply want to be able to run file explorer, see it on your tv and pick files with a keyboard/mouse? Wouldn't it make more sense to use the nicer, remote friendly interface in WMC or XBMC or Media Browser or whatever, so you can see thumbnails and have different sorting/grouping options? Personally, I think using file explorer seems like an inefficient way to navigate an HTPC. If all you need to do is play files, do you even need an HTPC for that?

A remote is generally going to give you keyboard type control, where you press "Play" for example, and the active app will perform its play function. This is all most people need for HTPC control and can be done with a simple IR or RF remote. Some apps, like Companion, will also display your guide/recordings and control each of your extenders. Other apps, like Hippo Remote or MobileMouse also add custom controls for each program as well as full mouse control. If you need to see your whole computer screen on your control device as well as full control, then you'll need a remote desktop app, a magnifying glass and lots of advil. I find the best solution is a simple IR remote plus a real wireless keyboard/mouse like a logitech k400 when a lot of typing is required. That way anyone in the house can pick up any remote and control the HTPC without any special knowledge and without having to use a smart phone or tablet. You can always augment with other phone/tablet apps of course. I posted instructions on setting up iRule for HTPC in one of your other threads.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-31-2013, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
fschris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Columbia,SC
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I tried various remotes... the best thing I found is a wireless Bluetooth keyboard!!

I have tried several apps, tablets, remotes, harmony blah blah blah.... I end up using the wireless keyboard 90% of the time.

I only use an app to control music when the plasma is not on. the keyboard is nice is has a trackball, its easy to use, rest on lap well...etc.

just a thought.

FSChris
ASROCK H67 GE / HT
Core i3

Carver AV-705 5Channel AMP
Zaph 2.5MM TT'S DIY

Emotiva XPA3

Emotiva UMC 200

2 x MFW 15 Clones DIY

fschris is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 08-08-2013, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Is it possible to use my HTPC to access and browse the internet from my tablet via iRule. I apologize if this was already answered.

mijotter is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 08-08-2013, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,797
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 352
iRule isn't really designed to do that. It has no mouse control, which is essential for web surfing. All you need is a keyboard/mouse app like MobileMouse. Think of iRule more as a universal remote replacement.
mijotter likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off