Setup RAID 0 on SSD's - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 67 Old 10-04-2013, 09:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,716
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Dude this is JapanDave, don't tease him. He might do it. eek.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 67 Old 10-04-2013, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Dude this is JapanDave, don't tease him. He might do it. eek.gif
LOL, I do like the look of that Server though.

I have been doing a bit of research and the PCi SSD's look like the way to go. But, that still does not answer the question if I made a recover disk , will it back up all my apps and programs?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

JapanDave is offline  
post #63 of 67 Old 10-04-2013, 09:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by JapanDave View Post

LOL, I do like the look of that Server though.

I have been doing a bit of research and the PCi SSD's look like the way to go. But, that still does not answer the question if I made a recover disk , will it back up all my apps and programs?

You'll want to reinstall the programs. If you're going to go that route. Just get FusionIO cards biggrin.gif

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #64 of 67 Old 10-05-2013, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
JapanDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

You'll want to reinstall the programs. If you're going to go that route. Just get FusionIO cards biggrin.gif
Those cards look are huge for SSD's.

Re-installing is not what I wanted to do, but if it needs to be done.mad.gif


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Couldn't pour water out of a boot with instructions on the heel.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

JapanDave is offline  
post #65 of 67 Old 10-14-2013, 09:42 AM
Member
 
andy497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JapanDave View Post


Re-installing is not what I wanted to do, but if it needs to be done.mad.gif

You're going to be re-installing an awful lot if you commit to 12-way raid 0. Every time a single drive has an error, the whole array is dead. Seriously, look into nested raid like 1+0 on a dedicated server-class card. You can get serious performance AND serious redundancy. A typical strategy we have at work is twelve disk sans, ten participating in 1+0 with two hot spares. It's amazing how often drives fail too when you have so many running, but hot spares mean you don't even notice.

Also, FYI the sata3 aka sata 6.0 standard is 6 gigabit, not six gigabyte. You will quickly saturate it with that many drives.

p.s. so much want in this thread eek.gif, but I particularly wouldn't mind that genuine LG FP10k now that my clone 10k is acting up.
andy497 is offline  
post #66 of 67 Old 10-15-2013, 12:49 PM
Member
 
ridindirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
OP can I have some money? You seem to be flushing a bunch down the toilet. I could use a new amp. cool.gif
ridindirty is offline  
post #67 of 67 Old 04-25-2014, 02:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,716
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Dave did you ever finish this project ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off