Google Fiber - what are you using it for? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 73 Old 08-04-2013, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any other Google fiber users out there? Just curious as to what to do with all this upload bandwidth, leaving out the obvious download stuff of course in this discussion.

1) For starters I would like my family out of town to be able to stream our home videos, which I imagine plex should work. Planning to just create a dedicated folder on my HTPC for this purpose. I don't think plex supports intel quicksync yet. You also have to pay $5 for mobile client software (android/ios/etc). Though the server/app is free.

2) Probably run OpenVPN for connecting via open starbucks wifi hotspots. They have restrictions on TOS on running servers but don't really specify beyond that.


3) Cloud backup to - provided 1tb Google drive, though oddly I hear the upload speeds are slow. Others to consider - Crashplan, bitcasa, backblaze.

4) Any other ideas?


***UPDATES

Source was a Raid 0 Array at 77 MB/s read and 89 MB/s write seq

Upload to Google Drive: 10-22 Mbps (web interface)
Upload to network box: ~300-350 Mbps (limited by target intrinsic 2tb hdd rotation speed apparently)
Upload to Skydrive: (won't load > 2gb file) 10-50Mbps (avg 30s, used web interface)
Upload to Dropbox: 50-70Mbps (avg 60s, used application, not web interface)
Download from astraweb (max 20 connections) 200-300 Mbps - can't seem to get more than 300-400 Mbps even if I tag another 20 or even 50 connections from another provider (NGD/UNS)


ymarker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 73 Old 08-04-2013, 09:06 PM
Member
 
mike10778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Just a whole lot of people who WISH they could come here and share our stories with you....
bulls and jeffkro like this.
mike10778 is offline  
post #3 of 73 Old 08-05-2013, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
While my fiber is not provided by Google, I guess I can share anyway. I host a number of servers which benefit from a fast uplink, Plex is one great example.

Also run a live TV server (DVBlink) serving some remote Media Centers over VPN.

Being able to run several Netflix/Vudu/HBO streaming sessions at once is a great use of my gigabit downlink, although 100 Mbps would probably do just fine. Gigabit is cool to have though cool.gif
politby is online now  
post #4 of 73 Old 08-05-2013, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
bulls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 22
^probably lives in the Nederalands
bulls is offline  
post #5 of 73 Old 08-05-2013, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JerryW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Tor bridge node - it is ingress only so no worry about getting your IP address fingered for accessing "bad" sites, but you can help out dissidents in china, iran, etc.

Copyright is not property, it is merely a temporary loan from the public domain.
JerryW is offline  
post #6 of 73 Old 08-06-2013, 12:31 AM
Senior Member
 
tmservo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It is a mind blowing experience. So far, we're using it mostly Crashplan, though someone is right, the upload isn't as great as I wished, it's better then anything I've seen cable/etc. around here, so I can't complain.

The downloads, though.. holy free-holy. I'm basically emptying my seedbox nightly (sftp keeping my openVPN client logged in) and it's fantastic.

Very impressed so far..
ymarker likes this.
tmservo is offline  
post #7 of 73 Old 08-06-2013, 12:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulls View Post

^probably lives in the Nederalands

Close but no cigar. Sweden...
Lots of things here that drive me nuts - like 56% income tax - but Internet infrastructure is not one of them wink.gif
politby is online now  
post #8 of 73 Old 08-06-2013, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by bulls View Post

^probably lives in the Nederalands

Close but no cigar. Sweden...
Lots of things here that drive me nuts - like 56% income tax - but Internet infrastructure is not one of them wink.gif

But I think you have a better safety net. I have relatives in Sweden and they love it there.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #9 of 73 Old 08-06-2013, 05:23 PM
Member
 
dheiskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in austin and am looking forward to google fiber rolllout here in 2014. Out of curiosity how did google run it's cable both in neighborhoods, and from the curb to your home. Did they tear up a lot of streets? Or were they allowed to pull their fiber in existing chases? Since Kansas City and a couple cities in kansas are the only places where it has been installed, there is little information about how it was done!
dheiskel is offline  
post #10 of 73 Old 08-06-2013, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmservo View Post

It is a mind blowing experience. So far, we're using it mostly Crashplan, though someone is right, the upload isn't as great as I wished, it's better then anything I've seen cable/etc. around here, so I can't complain.

The downloads, though.. holy free-holy. I'm basically emptying my seedbox nightly (sftp keeping my openVPN client logged in) and it's fantastic.

Very impressed so far..

What's the max upload speed you're seeing on crashplan?

Yeah, even though on google fiber speed tests, it shows close to full gigabyte (800-900mbps), still trying to achieve that. Astraweb even with full 20 connections only nets me about 300-400 mbps. I did a tracert to US astraweb and got about 42ms. Used a IPv6 astraweb routing and got 54ms (oddly with 20 connections the most it could do was 90mbps using IPv6 though that may have been sabnzbd). Considering trying an alternate nzb provider preferably IPv6 (just cause it's cool! smile.gif

Are you running an openVPN server? Any other servers?
ymarker is offline  
post #11 of 73 Old 08-06-2013, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dheiskel View Post

I live in austin and am looking forward to google fiber rolllout here in 2014. Out of curiosity how did google run it's cable both in neighborhoods, and from the curb to your home. Did they tear up a lot of streets? Or were they allowed to pull their fiber in existing chases? Since Kansas City and a couple cities in kansas are the only places where it has been installed, there is little information about how it was done!

They used existing overhead utility poles.
ymarker is offline  
post #12 of 73 Old 08-06-2013, 08:04 PM
G--
Member
 
G--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

They used existing overhead utility poles.

Wait, so they don't service neighborhoods with underground utilities?
G-- is offline  
post #13 of 73 Old 08-06-2013, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JerryW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-- View Post

Wait, so they don't service neighborhoods with underground utilities?

Why do you think Austin and Kansas city have any neighborhoods with underground utilities?

Copyright is not property, it is merely a temporary loan from the public domain.
JerryW is offline  
post #14 of 73 Old 08-06-2013, 10:08 PM
G--
Member
 
G--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryW View Post

Why do you think Austin and Kansas city have any neighborhoods with underground utilities?

Because every other city I have been around is about 50/50 aerial and underground, new construction is always underground.
G-- is offline  
post #15 of 73 Old 08-06-2013, 10:47 PM
Newbie
 
Whoosy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryW View Post

Why do you think Austin and Kansas city have any neighborhoods with underground utilities?

Why do you think they don't? (hint: you would be wrong)
Whoosy is offline  
post #16 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

But I think you have a better safety net. I have relatives in Sweden and they love it there.

Myth. cool.gif
politby is online now  
post #17 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 04:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Google Fiber? What is that, a new breakfast cereal?
captain_video is offline  
post #18 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

Google Fiber? What is that, a new breakfast cereal?

A energy bar actually.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=re0VRK6ouwI
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #19 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

But I think you have a better safety net. I have relatives in Sweden and they love it there.

Myth. cool.gif

Not wanting to have a political discussion here so will just leave it at this..

Sammy2 is offline  
post #20 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

Google Fiber? What is that, a new breakfast cereal?

A energy bar actually.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=re0VRK6ouwI

Nice..

Sammy2 is offline  
post #21 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

But I think you have a better safety net. I have relatives in Sweden and they love it there.

"better safety nets" are not sustainable. Look at Greece, Italy, Iceland... Once the number of people on the "safety net" exceeds the tax payers, the country is doomed.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #22 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-- View Post

Wait, so they don't service neighborhoods with underground utilities?

This is exactly why we'll never have FiOS in our neighborhood. All our utilities are underground. Everyone with above-ground utilities just outside the neighborhood can get FiOS but everyone inside Comcast is our only choice.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #23 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 06:50 PM
Member
 
dheiskel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All newer neighborhoods in Austin are underground utilities! Austin has lots of newer neighborhoods. It of course has older neighborhoods. I assume Kansas City has some new neighborhoods with underground utilities, what has google done in these?
dheiskel is offline  
post #24 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 08:09 PM
Senior Member
 
tmservo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ymarker View Post

What's the max upload speed you're seeing on crashplan?

Yeah, even though on google fiber speed tests, it shows close to full gigabyte (800-900mbps), still trying to achieve that. Astraweb even with full 20 connections only nets me about 300-400 mbps. I did a tracert to US astraweb and got about 42ms. Used a IPv6 astraweb routing and got 54ms (oddly with 20 connections the most it could do was 90mbps using IPv6 though that may have been sabnzbd). Considering trying an alternate nzb provider preferably IPv6 (just cause it's cool! smile.gif

Are you running an openVPN server? Any other servers?

Max I'm getting with Crashplan is about 200mb=300mb/s up. I can get better upload elsewhere, so I think the limit isn't here.

I just use the OpenVPN off my Seedbox (UltraSeedbox) which works fine, I can get about 540mb/s download from there.

I haven't hit a site yet - EXCEPT Microsoft and Google, where I get over 540mb/s data transfer.
tmservo is offline  
post #25 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 08:27 PM
G--
Member
 
G--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

This is exactly why we'll never have FiOS in our neighborhood. All our utilities are underground. Everyone with above-ground utilities just outside the neighborhood can get FiOS but everyone inside Comcast is our only choice.

That's a bunch of crap, cherry picking subs. They should budget that some installs will cost more then then others and it will even out. I imagine Google fiber does the same, except probably worse. Only servicing the cheapest subs. I will say though, here in WA, fios is wired in most neighborhoods with underground utilities within fios areas.
G-- is offline  
post #26 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 09:46 PM
Newbie
 
Whoosy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dheiskel View Post

All newer neighborhoods in Austin are underground utilities! Austin has lots of newer neighborhoods. It of course has older neighborhoods. I assume Kansas City has some new neighborhoods with underground utilities, what has google done in these?

It depends on which part of KC you are talking about. Where I live the utilities have been underground since about 1970. Of course Google fiber hasn't rolled out here yet. When the power company ran new underground lines (I think about 1995) they buried extra undergound conduit which can be leased.
Whoosy is offline  
post #27 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 11:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JerryW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

This is exactly why we'll never have FiOS in our neighborhood. All our utilities are underground.

It is more likely because Verizon has cut back all new FIOS roll-outs to the barest minimum that they are contractually bound as part of their non-compete agreement with comcast.

http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2012/08/us-doj-just-barely-preserves-competition-between-verizon-fios-cable/

Copyright is not property, it is merely a temporary loan from the public domain.
JerryW is offline  
post #28 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 11:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Not wanting to have a political discussion here so will just leave it at this..

You are right. Apologies for the OT.
politby is online now  
post #29 of 73 Old 08-07-2013, 11:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmservo View Post

Max I'm getting with Crashplan is about 200mb=300mb/s up. I can get better upload elsewhere, so I think the limit isn't here.

I just use the OpenVPN off my Seedbox (UltraSeedbox) which works fine, I can get about 540mb/s download from there.

I haven't hit a site yet - EXCEPT Microsoft and Google, where I get over 540mb/s data transfer.

Crashplan itself is throttling the bandwidth. That's how they can stay so cheap. Highest upstream speed I have seen is about 2 Mbit/s. I am far away from their data centers though.

And I suspect gigabit speed on Google Fiber is, as with most providers, mostly theoretical i.e. only guaranteed as far as the nearest switch.
politby is online now  
post #30 of 73 Old 08-08-2013, 03:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

And I suspect gigabit speed on Google Fiber is, as with most providers, mostly theoretical i.e. only guaranteed as far as the nearest switch.

Of course, once you hit the shared pipes, you can only get what is available.
I don't think they would really throttle this per user, but once it reaches capacity it'll of course go down.
Nevcairiel is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off