Help me identify these HP remotes please. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 08-06-2013, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Afroteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Founds these two remotes for $3 each. There's no model numbers on them so I can't look up manuals. Wanna find out what they are capable of and if they'll work with Win 7/8, XBMC/WMC/Mediaportal.
Afroteddy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 08-06-2013, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Link? Pic? Kind of hard to help with the information posted.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 08-06-2013, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Afroteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry. I took the pic from my phone and the mobile site wouldn't/didn't upload the pic. Had to load the desktop page and reload the pic.
Afroteddy is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 08-06-2013, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Green Button = Good to go!

Sammy2 is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 08-06-2013, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Yep both are good.

Do you have the IR receiver?
FantaXP7 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 08-06-2013, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Afroteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found one with the remotes. I assume both are compatible.
Afroteddy is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 08-06-2013, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have the one on the right. Love it. Great remote like the layout. Got it with a desktop some years back. Great deal you got there.
whiteboy714 is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 08-07-2013, 04:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post

I have the one on the right. Love it. Great remote like the layout. Got it with a desktop some years back. Great deal you got there.

whiteboy???? I have not seen you in these parts for at least six months or maybe even a year!

Sammy2 is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 08-07-2013, 05:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afroteddy View Post

I found one with the remotes. I assume both are compatible.

Ya they should be.
FantaXP7 is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 08-07-2013, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 80
I have one similar to the one on the right, but it has more buttons up on top to switch between Extender, TV, AUX, Cable box... and it is programmable. I like the soft bluw glow under the buttons when using at night.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 08-11-2013, 09:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Afroteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I take it neither remote does mouse functions.
Afroteddy is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 08-11-2013, 09:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,540
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1281 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afroteddy View Post

So I take it neither remote does mouse functions.
No. If you want a mouse on your remote, check out the Ortek VRC-1100 or one of its many clones. Better yet, use a smart phone app or a mouse/keyboard like the Logitech K400. You could use a universal remote, but it will be clunky to use buttons rather than a pad.
mdavej is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 08-12-2013, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afroteddy View Post

So I take it neither remote does mouse functions.

You don't need mouse functionality with a 10 foot HTPC GUI.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 08-12-2013, 11:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,540
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1281 Post(s)
Liked: 643
mdavej is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 08-13-2013, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

You do in Win 8.

Then it is not an HTPC, it is just a PC connected to a TV.

Lesson: Don't use Win 8.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 08-13-2013, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 2,339
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 278
It sure helps. Having one of these makes navigating stuff like Pandora and HBO Go easier.


My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 08-13-2013, 11:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,540
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1281 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueiedgod View Post

Then it is not an HTPC, it is just a PC connected to a TV.

Lesson: Don't use Win 8.
I agree 110%. OP said he used Win 8. So he has no choice but to use a keyboard, mouse and/or touchscreen since nobody at Microsoft gives a flying flip whether a remote works or not. C'mon, forget the 10 foot interface, elegance, logic and ease of use. Embrace the future and its ugly, awkward, illogical, useless interfaces. I'd rather sit 6 inches from my 60 inch TV and get fingerprints all over it anyway. The only thing that could make it better would be to put a $400 gaming machine in between so I can yell at my TV to change the channel, control my cable DVR with a taped on IR blaster (cutting edge 20th century technology there), and pay an extra $5/month for the privilege. What a great idea!

Sorry, I got carried away thinking about all the great alternatives we have to Win 7 WMC.
mdavej is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 08-14-2013, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 46
All of the HP MC remotes (green button) that I've tested have worked.

Jim Hillegass / JRiver Media Center
jriver.com or Owners Thread at AVSForum
jriver is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 08-15-2013, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

I agree 110%. OP said he used Win 8. So he has no choice but to use a keyboard, mouse and/or touchscreen since nobody at Microsoft gives a flying flip whether a remote works or not. C'mon, forget the 10 foot interface, elegance, logic and ease of use. Embrace the future and its ugly, awkward, illogical, useless interfaces. I'd rather sit 6 inches from my 60 inch TV and get fingerprints all over it anyway. The only thing that could make it better would be to put a $400 gaming machine in between so I can yell at my TV to change the channel, control my cable DVR with a taped on IR blaster (cutting edge 20th century technology there), and pay an extra $5/month for the privilege. What a great idea!

Sorry, I got carried away thinking about all the great alternatives we have to Win 7 WMC.

You can actually yell and swing your arms at both Win 7 and Win 8 machines. They both work with Kinect. No need for the XBOX 360 or XBOX One.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off