Help me build a NAS from an old computer - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 601
I just traded my Dune TV303D, for a i5 CPU + Mobo deal. Getting ready to start building a more power server. I'm probably going to go with Win 8 or WHS2011 + FlexRaid. I am going to keep my UnRaid server for back up purposes, and the FlexRaid will be for streaming within and outside network. biggrin.gif

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 950
You might was well copy over your data from the Unraid server to the flexraid ... Then dismantle it. Add the drives from Unraid to your new flexraid server.

Save the power and energy of running two machines.

WHS has automated back up of desktops and laptops and does that really well.
GusGus748s likes this.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #93 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
All I want is storage box that is accessible by movie boxes and PC/Macs. A NAS box.

I like how unraid allows the flexibility to swap drives, different sized drives, if one drive fails no biggie, only powers up drives you need vs. all drives because data is strewn across all drives.

Seems a lot easier if a failure does occur to have an unraid setup vs. a raid setup.

Very little reading, but what I have read makes sense to me.

Feel free to point out what I am missing.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #94 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

All I want is storage box that is accessible by movie boxes and PC/Macs. A NAS box.

I like how unraid allows the flexibility to swap drives, different sized drives, if one drive fails no biggie, only powers up drives you need vs. all drives because data is strewn across all drives.

Seems a lot easier if a failure does occur to have an unraid setup vs. a raid setup.

Very little reading, but what I have read makes sense to me.

Feel free to point out what I am missing.

I agree, but I am trying to do more than just storing my data, and UnRaid is difficult to work with for me. In my opinion Windows + FlexRaid will be easier to deal with, and FlexRaid works similar to UnRaid, and you can have 2 parity drives vs 1 with UnRaid.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #95 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 950
Flexraid does all that and then sum biggrin.gif. It's just like Unraid (software RAID)

I agree you don't want hardware RAID. Unraid will work for what you want to do just fine.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #96 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

You might was well copy over your data from the Unraid server to the flexraid ... Then dismantle it. Add the drives from Unraid to your new flexraid server.

Save the power and energy of running two machines.

WHS has automated back up of desktops and laptops and does that really well.

I agree. I need to get at least 10 TB first for FlexRaid before I can do that though. I'll probably start selling Mobo + CPU + RAM + UnRaid Pro License as soon as I can get FlexRaid working and set up to do what I need.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #97 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:32 AM
Member
 
scott750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

No Unraid is a fine choice.

WHS2011 ($35) + Flexraid ($69) is probably better in that it has some good advantages over Unraid but sometimes those advantages are not important to some people.

Both are tried and true solutions with lots of happy users. It often comes down to Linux vs windows (but flexraid works on Linux) .

If you want the myriad of windows advantages or WHS features you add Flexraid to cheap WHS2011. If you don't need or don't want windows at all you go Unraid.

Neither is right or wrong though.

Where are you seeing WHS2011 for $35? Cheapest I found was $50 on Newegg.

Also can Flexraid give the ability to add drives to the array at a later time? Or do I need to have all drives during setup, like FreeNas? I have 2x WD Red 3Tb drives now and was wanting to buy 2 more when they go on sale at Amazon.
scott750 is offline  
post #98 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I agree, but I am trying to do more than just storing my data, and UnRaid is difficult to work with for me. In my opinion Windows + FlexRaid will be easier to deal with, and FlexRaid works similar to UnRaid, and you can have 2 parity drives vs 1 with UnRaid.

What? Not too long ago you stated Unraid was solid for you, and you have no issues with it.

What changed?

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #99 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
And what's the advantage of two parity drives over one? If a parity drive backs the data up (unraid is max 96 TB) then the only reason I can see to add another parity is for the ability to add more storage drives.

Unless the extra parity is mirroring in case the first parity fails. But that doesn't make much sense.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #100 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 950
Dual parity with flexraid allows you to suffer dual simultaneous HDD failures without data loss.

With 1 parity if you lose 1 data drive you survive but if you lose 2 at same time your out like a boner in sweatpants and SOL.

Dual parity is for increased protection but is not needed. I doubt you need that (yet). Dual parity is advisable if you have more than 8 data drives.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #101 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
4TB drives just showed up. Took about 3 seconds to crack them open.

Do I need to format in a certain way?

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #102 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

What? Not too long ago you stated Unraid was solid for you, and you have no issues with it.

What changed?

I doubt anything is "wrong" with Unraid.

It's probably that he's discovered some of the advantages of flexraid and/or things have changes recently with newer and more capable front ends now utilizing a "server" program to be run on a server (mediabrowser3 and PLEX) in addition to the traditional front end only applications historically popular (media browser 2 and XBMC)

The newer front ends allow for transcoding on the fly to tablets and smartphones and laptops , and even up streaming your media over the Internet to enjoy when your away. Things you did not do years ago when XBMC and Mediabrowser2 launched.

A basic cheap Unraid server is not appropriate for such things; a Windows or WHS machine is much better.

Plus with Flexraid you can add full drives or drives with data on them any time (you can't or lose the data with Unraid). You can also remove or take apart a flexraid server and your HDDs are readable in any windows machines. Unraid that's not possible natively.

It's not fair to give flexraid credit over Unraid for the myriad of windows or WHS advantages like compatibility with basically anything and ability to do anything because that's a feature of windows advantage and not necessarily flexraid but still it's worth pointing out.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #103 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I doubt anything is "wrong" with Unraid.

It's probably that he's discovered some of the advantages of flexraid and/or things have changes recently with newer and more capable front ends now utilizing a "server" program to be run on a server (mediabrowser3 and PLEX) in addition to the traditional front end only applications historically popular (media browser 2 and XBMC)

The newer front ends allow for transcoding on the fly to tablets and smartphones and laptops , and even up streaming your media over the Internet to enjoy when your away. Things you did not do years ago when XBMC and Mediabrowser2 launched.

Got it...

I just want a simple nas box. If I need a movie on the iPad I'll rip it into a small file and load it on. Old school.....
biggrin.gif

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #104 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 11:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

4TB drives just showed up. Took about 3 seconds to crack them open.

Do I need to format in a certain way?


Yes. Initialize them as GPT and not MBR. Delete all partitions and format them as a single 4TB partition using windows standard NTFS defaults (for windows or WHS and not Unraid )
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

Got it...

I just want a simple nas box. If I need a movie on the iPad I'll rip it into a small file and load it on. Old school.....
biggrin.gif

Don't under estimate how much of a PITA this is compared to a modern front end like PLEX or MB3 doing this automatically for you (and your entire media collection)

Really it's pretty awesome biggrin.gif

Clearly this is the direction things are headed and this will only grow as time goes on. If your building today consider tomorrow.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #105 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Thanks.

Ahh something to look forward to then I guess. It's less than once a year I need movies/shows on the iPad.

I just want a big storage box. Too bad these cases on the HGST are such a PITA to open..... they'd be worth a bit of money with some of the smaller drives I have laying around.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #106 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 11:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 950
I don't mean to push you into anything only make you aware. Sounds like you'll survive fine without it.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #107 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

What? Not too long ago you stated Unraid was solid for you, and you have no issues with it.

What changed?

It works fine for streaming to my devices within my network. Now, I want to access my server outside network, and this has become too much work for me to do. I think by using Windows it will be easier to do and set up.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #108 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

Got it...

I just want a simple nas box. If I need a movie on the iPad I'll rip it into a small file and load it on. Old school.....
biggrin.gif

Plex will do that for you.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #109 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 01:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Plex will do that for you.

Or the new media browser 3

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #110 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Or the new media browser 3

I haven't tried Media Browser 3. I might give it a try.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #111 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 02:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

Thanks.

Ahh something to look forward to then I guess. It's less than once a year I need movies/shows on the iPad.

I just want a big storage box. Too bad these cases on the HGST are such a PITA to open..... they'd be worth a bit of money with some of the smaller drives I have laying around.

Why not include those drives with your server pool of storage ? (one of advantages of Flexraid is you can even add them full of data on them)

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #112 of 166 Old 09-12-2013, 02:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 950
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I haven't tried Media Browser 3. I might give it a try.

It is still beta so no rush. But it's very much "plex like" in that is has a "server" program that runs on your server (runs very well on my WHS+FLEXRAID) and then a client that runs on your HTPC (and android or iOS biggrin.gif )

There is both a "MB3 Classic" (much like Mediabrowser 2) that works and installs inside of WMC (great if you do DVR with HDTV tuner cards) and a MB3 Theater (which is the new flagship product) that installs on it's own like XBMC and does not require WMC at all. The server client offers like PLEX offers both transcoding, and steaming up your media over internet to enjoy when your away from home. (Not possible with MB2 or XBMC)

The "Theater" product also has support for MadVR (high end upscaling), Reclock (perfect sync audio and video) and SVP (24fps->60fps frame upconversion) within the built in player so you can take advantage of the slick looking HD overlays without needing an external player like MPC-HC commonly used now with XBMC or MB2 to get this stuff or codec packs like window media player needs.

It's going to be a complete solution that offers simplicity, high end features, ios apple device and Android support- steaming over the internet when you are away, even transcoding resolutions for different devices and displays. Game Changer I think it will be- but too early to declare a winner. I would wait for the official release unless you like to tinker with beta's and pre-release.



References:

RE-CLOCK
The purpose of ReClock is to definitely get rid of jerky playback of AVI and MPEG material on a PC (or a HTPC driving a TV, a flat panel, or a video-projector). It's a DirectShow filter which is loaded in place of the default directsound audio renderer.
It provides a new reference clock that is locked to the video card hardware clock, in order to ensure that frames are played at the exact speed of what is expected by the video card vertical sync.
It also provides a frame rate adaptator for media files that do not match a multiple of the video card refresh rate (ex: playback of 23,976fps IVTC NTSC on a PAL TV).
The combination of the two will give you the true experience of smooth playback with your PC.
Finally it is an audio renderer with hardware or software rate adaptation in real-time, multi-channel audio, audio timestretching (pal speedup compensation) and dynamic range compression capabilities.
For a full description of ReClock, please read carefully the README file in the distribution. There is also a little FAQ at the bottom of the page that answers common questions.




SVP:
SVP allows you to watch any video on your PC file with frame interpolation (like you can watch it on high-end TVs and projectors). It increases frame rate by generating intermediate animation frames between existing ones to produce very smooth, fluid and clear motion. The technology is well-known for a while ("TrimensionDNM", "Motion Plus", "Motionflow" and others), but now it's available for free to PC users with simple GUI and just a couple of mouse clicks.


SVP provides GPU acceleration and it's possible to watch FullHD 1080p-video recalculated to 60Hz in real-time with mid-range CPU and almost any GPU hardware.

SVP actually is not a video player itself, but it enables almost any player to play smooth video.
Yeah, also in 3D smile.gif



MADVR
madVR is a high quality video renderer (GPU assisted) that can offer superior upscaling and picture quality, specifically when doing DVD>1080p, or even 720p>1080p or even 1080p>4k

Features of madVR

- high quality chroma upsampling
- high quality scaling (bicubic, mitchell, lanczos, spline etc)
- high quality YCbCr -> RGB conversion
- gamut & gamma correction for display calibration
- full 16bit processing queue
- final 16bit processing result is dithered down to RGB output bitdepth
- bypasses graphics card's video (damage) algorithms
- all work is done via GPU shaders
- no shortcuts, highest quality has priority over anything else


There is a good sticky at top of this forum on set up of MADVR with MPC-HC if you want to try it out now:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1357375/advanced-mpc-hc-setup-guide/0_100

You can run MadVR, Re-clock, and SVP all together if you wish.... or any combination you like. But using external players loses the advantage of HD overlay in XBMC or Mediabrowser2 or MB3 Classic, so having an all in one high end solution that is stand alone is going to be really nice when the MediaBrowser3 Theater flagship launches soon.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #113 of 166 Old 09-14-2013, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
I am getting 35-40 MB/s using anydvdHD.

Am I safe to assume there is no rip lock?

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #114 of 166 Old 09-14-2013, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Yes. Initialize them as GPT and not MBR. Delete all partitions and format them as a single 4TB partition using windows standard NTFS defaults (for windows or WHS and not Unraid )
Don't under estimate how much of a PITA this is compared to a modern front end like PLEX or MB3 doing this automatically for you (and your entire media collection)

Really it's pretty awesome biggrin.gif

Clearly this is the direction things are headed and this will only grow as time goes on. If your building today consider tomorrow.

There is a preclear utility and I think that formats the drives as MBR.

I'm following the guide here-- http://lime-technology.com/wiki/index.php/Configuration_Tutorial#Install_UnMENU

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #115 of 166 Old 09-14-2013, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Holy sh*t this preclear process is LOOOONNNGGG

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #116 of 166 Old 09-14-2013, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

Holy sh*t this preclear process is LOOOONNNGGG

Yes it is. I usually preclear all the drives at once.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #117 of 166 Old 09-14-2013, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
As am I. Although I chose to do each drive separately vs. the other option of doing them all off one command line.

Just seemed easier to me. So what..... one drive is 1 percent behind the other.

At 40 percent after 4 hours, 6 beers, and a SSD that is now full of movie ISOs. I'm having to burn to my external drive which has slowed things to below 10 MB/s.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #118 of 166 Old 09-17-2013, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
pdxrealtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,515
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 141
http://t.costco.com/CatalogSearch?langId=-1&storeId=10301&catalogId=10701&keyword=HDSEPTM&sortBy=PriceMax%7C1&EMID=B2C_2013_0916_877_Alex

Why is it the internal drives are more expensive?

And.... What happens to the warranty of the drives I ripped out of their cases. Cases that are impossible to split open without breaking.

FS- Netgear 550 .ISO player - PM me
My Gear-Pioneer, JBL Pro Cinema, Fi Car Audio 4- SP4 18", Peavey IPR2 7500 x 4 -Mini-Dsp 4x10, GIK Acoustics, Seymour Screens 110" AT, Dune Smarts, uNraid Server
Theater Build and Two Sono Sub Builds Here-
pdxrealtor is offline  
post #119 of 166 Old 09-17-2013, 09:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

http://t.costco.com/CatalogSearch?langId=-1&storeId=10301&catalogId=10701&keyword=HDSEPTM&sortBy=PriceMax%7C1&EMID=B2C_2013_0916_877_Alex


Why is it the internal drives are more expensive?

And.... What happens to the warranty of the drives I ripped out of their cases. Cases that are impossible to split open without breaking.


By braking and taking the drives out of their case, you void the warranty.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #120 of 166 Old 09-17-2013, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxrealtor View Post

http://t.costco.com/CatalogSearch?langId=-1&storeId=10301&catalogId=10701&keyword=HDSEPTM&sortBy=PriceMax%7C1&EMID=B2C_2013_0916_877_Alex

Why is it the internal drives are more expensive?

And.... What happens to the warranty of the drives I ripped out of their cases. Cases that are impossible to split open without breaking.

Lately, the externals have been cheaper since they may be using a lower quality HDD over the internal ones. Also the warranty may be lower.

As far as the warranty when opening the case, the actual warranty on the external product will be voided but I have discovered that if you just enter the serial number of the drive you will find that they will accept the bare drive for RMA...at least that what happened to me when one of my Hitachi drives died after I opened the case.
Killroy is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off