Ceton InfiniTV6 PCI-e version now available - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 08-16-2013, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 118
It's now posted on Amazon ($299) and Newegg ($294) and appears to be in stock with free shipping from both vendors.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00D97B9BU/?tag=vglnk-c1247-20

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815706005
captain_video is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 08-16-2013, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I want an HDHR prime with 6 tuners....with transcoding support....tongue.gif
kapone is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 08-16-2013, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 118
So buy one, smartass.tongue.gif
captain_video is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 08-16-2013, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 38
er...er.... it doesn't exist?tongue.gif
kapone is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 08-17-2013, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 118
The six tuner model does. It's been around for quite some time,although I believe it was recently discontinued as SiliconDust will be coming out with a 4-tuner model sometime soon. You'll have to deal with transcoding on your own, although It's beyond me why anyone would want to do it in the first place. I suppose you're one of those kids that likes to watch videos on a smartphone or a tablet.

FWIW, I've been using both the HDHR Prime and the InfiniTV4 tuners for a couple of years and I prefer the Ceton PCI-e tuners by a wide margin. Then again, it all depends on how you want to use them.
captain_video is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 08-17-2013, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kapone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

The six tuner model does. It's been around for quite some time,although I believe it was recently discontinued as SiliconDust will be coming out with a 4-tuner model sometime soon. You'll have to deal with transcoding on your own, although It's beyond me why anyone would want to do it in the first place. I suppose you're one of those kids that likes to watch videos on a smartphone or a tablet.

FWIW, I've been using both the HDHR Prime and the InfiniTV4 tuners for a couple of years and I prefer the Ceton PCI-e tuners by a wide margin. Then again, it all depends on how you want to use them.

I realize that, and I was being a lil flip, I guess.smile.gif

There's one (and one only) reason for transcoding support in the tuner itself. DTCP-IP. Unless transcoding software(s) start supporting that......
kapone is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 08-17-2013, 09:41 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I wonder if this tuner runs cooler (due to better design, newer chips, etc) than the 4 tuner version. It still does not have a fan on it and I felt mine needed one.



I have the Eth6 currently and it is sitting on a laptop cooler (along with my switch). Keeps it in the mid 40s all the time and looks better than having a fan blowing down into it. smile.gif
cybrsage is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 08-17-2013, 06:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobbyTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post


FWIW, I've been using both the HDHR Prime and the InfiniTV4 tuners for a couple of years and I prefer the Ceton PCI-e tuners by a wide margin. Then again, it all depends on how you want to use them.

I have both myself, but currently only using the HDHR Prime. What is the advantage to the Ceton PCI-e tuner?

thanks..
RobbyTV is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 08-18-2013, 06:06 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
The PCIe tuner is internal to your box so you do not have other devices sitting around. It does not need a seperate power supply either. When you reboot your PC, it also gets rebooted (both a plus and a con). It is not better, just different.
cybrsage is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 08-18-2013, 07:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,488
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbyTV View Post

I have both myself, but currently only using the HDHR Prime. What is the advantage to the Ceton PCI-e tuner?

thanks..
I should revise my previous statement to say that I prefer the Ceton PCI-e tuners by a slight margin and not a wide one as I previously overstated. I used to get the "Tuner not available" error occasionally with the HDHR Prime, but never with the Ceton. I haven't seen it in a while so the current firmware and drivers probably fixed the issue.

I use the Ceton tuners ( I have two InfiniTV4's in my primary HTPC) for recording shows and the HDHR Prime tuners for feeding live TV to other PCs. I do have a minor pet peeve with the HDHR Prime. I've found that every time I rerun WMC TV signal setup I have to go into each channel I record and change the tuner priority because it tends to put the HDHR tuners at the top of the list for some reason. I like to keep the HDHR Prime tuners freed up for use by my other HTPCs since they don't have internal tuners.
captain_video is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 08-18-2013, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RobbyTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

I should revise my previous statement to say that I prefer the Ceton PCI-e tuners by a slight margin and not a wide one as I previously overstated. I used to get the "Tuner not available" error occasionally with the HDHR Prime, but never with the Ceton. I haven't seen it in a while so the current firmware and drivers probably fixed the issue.

I use the Ceton tuners ( I have two InfiniTV4's in my primary HTPC) for recording shows and the HDHR Prime tuners for feeding live TV to other PCs. I do have a minor pet peeve with the HDHR Prime. I've found that every time I rerun WMC TV signal setup I have to go into each channel I record and change the tuner priority because it tends to put the HDHR tuners at the top of the list for some reason. I like to keep the HDHR Prime tuners freed up for use by my other HTPCs since they don't have internal tuners.

thank you for your reply!
RobbyTV is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 08-19-2013, 08:33 AM
Member
 
bLKPANTHR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapone View Post

I realize that, and I was being a lil flip, I guess.smile.gif

There's one (and one only) reason for transcoding support in the tuner itself. DTCP-IP. Unless transcoding software(s) start supporting that......

Never going to happen, as it would require CableLabs approval due to DTCP.

A protected stream cannot be intercepted without the encryption keys.
bLKPANTHR is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off