WMC Freezes When Trying to Play a Recorded Show - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-20-2013, 05:51 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
etttescott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Although it doesn't happen every time, on a frequent basis, my HTPC will freeze when trying to play a recorded show. After selecting the recording, then selecting play, the loading circle comes up and the screen freezes there. The system becomes completely unresponsive (CtrlAltDel does nothing), and the only available option is a cold restart. This is happening a lot, maybe half of the time I try to play a recording. Ive looked through event logs and havent been able to find any patterns or obvious events. im not all that experienced at looking through the MS event log though. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Sys Specs:
-Intel NUC (core i3 ultra book series)
-OS installed on msata
-Recorded tv is on a 3TB WD green drive in a usb 3.0 enclosure
-win8 professional
-I boot into EventGhost as a shell and always have XBMC running. WMC launches and pushes XBMC to the background.
-Tasks being performed on the storage drive at any given time:
--recording up to 3 TV shows from HDHR
--processing recordings for commercials (DVRMST, only one worker at a time)
---watching a recording


Btw I've already removed the top to the enclosure and troubleshooted heat issues (which are a problem with the intel NUC) and that's not the problem.
etttescott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-20-2013, 06:42 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 7,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 154
It sounds like the video is freezing. You can check for new drivers, or install old drivers. Also, if you installed any additional codec packs, remove them if updating the driver does not fix it.
etttescott likes this.
cybrsage is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-20-2013, 11:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 11,995
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 645

Just for fun have you tried disabling the commercial skip (entire process) within WMC?.. presuming it's enabled.


| 120" Screen | 1080p Projector | 7.2.4 Boston Acoustics & Power Sound Audio | Yamaha RX-A3060 & AudioSource AMP110 | Sony UBP-X800 | LibreELEC/ODROID-C2 Media Client | Ubuntu/ODROID-XU4 Server via Kodi/Plex Media Server : LG 65EG9600 OLED TV | TiVo | Roku Premiere+ | Blu-ray Movies for Sale | Digital HD Codes for Sale |
Charles R is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 08-21-2013, 09:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,879
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Check your USB 3.0 connection.

Disable power saving options on the HDD.

I get the same delay, sometimes a minute or so, when trying to play recorded show off a green drive on USB 3.0

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-21-2013, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
etttescott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great ideas. Ill troubleshoot over the next few days and get back. Thanks!
etttescott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off