Graphics card with HDMI Audio - Page 2 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 42 Old 08-30-2013, 05:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 395
720p24 is popular in torrents. There are still tons of DVDs. BD and HDTV are 1080p24, 1080i50/60, 720p60.
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 42 Old 08-30-2013, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chakotay2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

What are your sources (e.g. DVD, AVI, MKV, live TV) and audio formats (stereo PCM, multichannel PCM, AC3, Dolby TrueHD etc.)? WMC internal player is a bit complicated and there is no simple answer. That's why nobody uses it these days.
Netflix (within WMC), WMC Live and recorded shows, and CyberPower DVD within WMC. So WMC is pretty much it. As far as audio formats, not really sure. I've played blu ray disks and it sounds great now that I switched the card to 2 channel (clearly getting full 7.1 surround now)
chakotay2 is offline  
post #33 of 42 Old 08-30-2013, 05:46 PM
Newbie
 
Aquitaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a similar issue: I am outputting video and audio from a GTX 760 to a Yamaha RX-675 and when I select 5.1 speakers in Windows, it works for 5.1 sources but stereo sources are still being received by the AVR as 5.1 and so there is no upmixing done.

When you change Windows to 2 speakers, everything is output in stereo and the AVR goes 'oh you must want me to upmix this' and so everything fires on all speakers - but 5.1 sources like DVDs or games are not output in 5.1

Anyone have a way around this?
Aquitaine is offline  
post #34 of 42 Old 08-30-2013, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chakotay2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

WMC internal player is a bit complicated and there is no simple answer. That's why nobody uses it these days.

What's being used now?
chakotay2 is offline  
post #35 of 42 Old 08-30-2013, 07:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 395
WMC for TV only (in particular CableCARD tuner). MPC-HC+Media Browser/My Movies+WMC, XBMC, MediaPortal, JRiver MC are popular.
renethx is offline  
post #36 of 42 Old 08-31-2013, 06:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chakotay2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

WMC for TV only (in particular CableCARD tuner). MPC-HC+Media Browser/My Movies+WMC, XBMC, MediaPortal, JRiver MC are popular.
So with the cable card / HD Homerun Prime, WMC is really the only option?
chakotay2 is offline  
post #37 of 42 Old 08-31-2013, 06:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 395
For Copy Once, WMC is the only option. For Copy Freely, there are several options: J.River MC, MP, NextPVR, MythTV.
renethx is offline  
post #38 of 42 Old 08-31-2013, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chakotay2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

For Copy Once, WMC is the only option. For Copy Freely, there are several options: J.River MC, MP, NextPVR, MythTV.
How do I tell what Comcast / XFinity uses? (or is it channel specific)
chakotay2 is offline  
post #39 of 42 Old 08-31-2013, 07:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 395
renethx is offline  
post #40 of 42 Old 08-31-2013, 07:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chakotay2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Yes, channel specific.

How can you tell which channels use which method?
chakotay2 is offline  
post #41 of 42 Old 08-31-2013, 07:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 395
Try to play recordings in MPC-HC, for example. If you can play, it is copy freely, otherwise copy once. Other ways.
renethx is offline  
post #42 of 42 Old 08-31-2013, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
chakotay2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Try to play recordings in MPC-HC, for example. If you can play, it is copy freely, otherwise copy once. Other ways.
I'll look into that, thanks.
chakotay2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off