Pro Logic IIx not working with 5.1 audio - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-03-2013, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
idividebyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
When I set the windows settings to 7.1 speakers Pro Logic IIx doesnt use the side speakers with a 5.1 source. I only get sound out of the speakers when playing a 7.1 PC game (I dont have a bluray player installed right now so I havent tested video). If I set the speakers to 5.1 then it works, but I will lose true 7.1.

It works like it should on the PS3 but not the PC, is there a setting somewhere or does it just not work with 7.1 speaker config?
idividebyzero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-03-2013, 09:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
In 7.1 mode, your PC is sending out a null signal over the rear channels. Your AV receiver isn't matrixing the rears because it thinks it's getting a "real" rear signal, albeit a silent one.
Are you using HDMI as an output, or spdif or something else?
fitbrit is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-04-2013, 05:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,955
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Windows Audio Engine upmixes 5.1 to 7.1 (if your speakers setting in Windows is 7.1) with null signals in the two channels. The solution is bypass Windows Audio Engine by WASAPI exclusive mode.
renethx is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-04-2013, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
idividebyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Im using HDMI (nvidia)

How do I do WASAPI exclusive mode? Is it just the "allow applications to take exclusive control" checkbox in the playback device properties? I already have those 2 checked.

I changed the speaker configuration in Shark007 to "same as input" and that fixed the 5.1 files, but the LPCM stereo stuff still doesnt work with Pro Logic, which is my main goal. LPCM is also a lot louder that it should be and doesnt sound as good.

Is there a way to get LPCM stereo set as 2 channels instead of 7.1?
idividebyzero is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-04-2013, 10:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,955
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 325
It is the audio renderer's role to select WASAPI shared mode (normal mode) or exclusive mode. Audio renderer that support WASAPI exclusive mode are ReClock, MPC-BE's audio renderer, JRiver MC, MediaPortal, XBMC.

Only in WASAPI exclusive mode, you will get unmolested LPCM.
renethx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off