What should i buy to playback 3d bluray rips? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
skzzzzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What should i buy to playback 3d bluray iso rips?
totalmedia theater 6, powerdvd or dvdfab?

Or is there any other methods? or can i extract the video from the iso and play without needing special software?
skzzzzy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 10:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,191
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 372
PowerDVD, TMT (full memus) or Stereoscopic Player (individual title). No free 3D player yet.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Maestro2be's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe JRiver can also play all of those back. So that is another option.
Maestro2be is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rbmcgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: carmel, in, usa
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having all sorts of problems playing back a 3D MKV rip (MakeMKV) in Stereoscopic player (SP). I thought it would be easy, but it is not. For me at least.

Specs:
Win8 Pro 32
Nvidia GT630 with most recent drivers
TV: LG 7600 Passive
Core2Duo 4400 CPU
Video Connection: DVI to HDMI directly to TV
Audio Connection: HDMI to Pioneer AVR
Rip: MakeMKV choosing MVC mpeg4 - MVC 3D and DTS-HD audio streams (size 34.8 GB)

I manually put the TV into 3D mode.
I have enabled 3D stereoscopic in Nvidia control panel and watched the Nvidia demo. That looks great
I then open SP and go to File->Settings->Advanced Settings->Troubleshooting and deselect "Disable Hardware Accelerated Video Decoding"

I then just go to File->Open File and choose the MKV rip. It doesn't play properly (anaglyph) and not in 3D. Obviously I need to change some settings in SP.

I then proceed to choose a bunch of settings and test. When I choose View->Viewing Method->Quad Buffered DirectX, the movie plays in 3D and looks great. Unfortunately, the CPU maxes out, the video stutters and the audio/video is terribly out of sync - Unwatchable. Obviously, SP is not using the graphic card hardware. This does tell me however that the rip itself is fine.

Any other settings I've tried in SP do not produce a 3D picture. Some produce a decent 2D picture but most just show crap or a double image.

Obviously some people have this working properly. What am I doing wrong?

BTW, I have been ripping regular Bluray disks (MakeMKV) and playing them back in MPC-HC flawlessly for quite a while.

Bob
rbmcgee is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 12:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,191
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 372
CoreMVC 3D
Quote:
DXVA and CUDA are not supported for MVC playback.

You will need a better CPU.

BTW CPU load (~70%) of Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz at MKV playback with CoreMVC 3D:



Core 2 Duo E4400 2.0GHz is too slow.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 12:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,191
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maestro2be View Post

I believe JRiver can also play all of those back. So that is another option.

3D support in J.River MC won't happen.

JimH's reply:
Quote:
If it happens at all, it won't be any time soon.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,713
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 111
I use my Oppo. Granted, it doesn't play a direct ISO, but it can play the BDMV folder. So you can backup your ISO and just mount it and copy the BDMV folder to a USB hard drive before you want to play it. I've done it a couple of times now with success, but it took a while to figure out how to make it work correctly. Usually I'll just play them through the player but AnyDVD + Speedmenu makes the load time so much quicker too.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
damelon is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 03:12 PM
Member
 
scott750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Can any of the Blu-Ray rips/.MKV files play inside Media Browser?
scott750 is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rbmcgee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: carmel, in, usa
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

CoreMVC 3D
You will need a better CPU.

BTW CPU load (~70%) of Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz at MKV playback with CoreMVC 3D:



Core 2 Duo E4400 2.0GHz is too slow.

I didn't realize that stereoscopic player used CoreMVC and that CoreMKV does not provide hardware assist. I guess that means that the cpu will do all the work and the new video card was a waste. Live and learn.

Would a i3 2100 Sandy Bridge cut it? And would the on-board intel hd2000 allow me pump audio via hdmi to the avr (for HD audio) and pump video via dvi->hdmi to the TV just like the GT630 does? I believe the answer is yes but I'm misunderstood this before.

Bob
rbmcgee is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 03:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,873
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 834
how about FSBS or HSBS MKV's.... what would you playback those with ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,296
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

how about FSBS or HSBS MKV's.... what would you playback those with ?

FSBS and HSBS should be deleted and never watched.

bryansj is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 04:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,873
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 834
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

FSBS and HSBS should be deleted and never watched.

I don't have any... just curious. I am not familiar with ripping in 3D - or playback. My projector does not support it, so perhaps someday when I upgrade.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,870
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 205
on a normal tv a side by side mkv looks like a side by side cable channel - meaning it looks like two almost identical images squished onto the screen next to each other. the 3dtv slices it up and sends each side to each eye.

I would think in theory any video player that can play mkv could do a sbs one. the tv would have to figure out what to do with it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 10:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,191
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott750 View Post

Can any of the Blu-Ray rips/.MKV files play inside Media Browser?

Yes, you just have to launch a proper external player.

If you are going to use MBT's internal player, you have to convert MVC to SBS(H) by DVDFab. SBS(H) is just a normal HDMI 1.3 1920x1080p24 video that can be played back / output with any player / graphics card.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 09-04-2013, 10:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,191
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 372
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmcgee View Post

Would a i3 2100 Sandy Bridge cut it? And would the on-board intel hd2000 allow me pump audio via hdmi to the avr (for HD audio) and pump video via dvi->hdmi to the TV just like the GT630 does? I believe the answer is yes but I'm misunderstood this before.

Core i3 (SNB, IVB, Haswell [recommended]) CPU is fast enough to decode MVC and it supports Frame packing 3D video over HDMI (or DVI) and audio over DVI (or HDMI). You can dispense with a discrete graphics card.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 09-05-2013, 08:16 AM
Member
 
laverdure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

FSBS and HSBS should be deleted and never watched.

Interested in your reasons here. I am guessing you say that because with SBS, you lose half of the resolution basically?

But what if one is using a passive 3D set (i'm waiting on delivery of such)? Isn't each eye getting half resolution anyways? In which case, would it make a difference if you used SBS or full 3D, whether significant or not?

Thanks
laverdure is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 09-05-2013, 08:28 AM
Member
 
kokap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by skzzzzy View Post

What should i buy to playback 3d bluray iso rips?
totalmedia theater 6, powerdvd or dvdfab?
There are only 4 software players with full BD3D support (including BD-J menu support):
1. ArcSoft TotalMedia Theatre;
2. Cyberlink PowerDVD;
3. Corel/sMedio WinDVD;
4. Nero Blu-ray Player.

For ISO images you can use one of these players with free virtual BD tool such as DAEMON Tools Lite. Also you can use SlySoft AnyDVD HD to prevent Cinavia detection.
kokap is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 09-05-2013, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,296
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by laverdure View Post

Interested in your reasons here. I am guessing you say that because with SBS, you lose half of the resolution basically?

But what if one is using a passive 3D set (i'm waiting on delivery of such)? Isn't each eye getting half resolution anyways? In which case, would it make a difference if you used SBS or full 3D, whether significant or not?

Thanks

Picture quality goes down as well as the 3D experience IMO. I always see more ghosting and other issues that degrade the SBS version. Not sure about passive TV 3D... would that knock the quality down to 1/4th?
laverdure likes this.

bryansj is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off