XBMC with WHS2011 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 09-06-2013, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bkinder83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have been getting stuttering in XBMC while streaming movies lately that I feel are being caused by my server. High and low quality videos begin stuttering and recording "CDVDMessageQueue(audio)::Get - asked for new data packet, with nothing available" errors in the XBMC log that I have been fixing by rebooting the server. Does anyone have any ideas I could try to correct this?

XBMC Log:
http://pastebin.com/Wd74cafD

HTPC:
Win 7 SP1 x64
8 GB Ram
Intel i3-3320
Integrated Intel 2500 Graphics
XBMC 12.2

Server:
WHS2011
8 GB Ram
Pentium G630T

All machines are hardline on a gigabit network.
bkinder83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 09-06-2013, 07:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 761
XBMC has crappy playback with DVXA; it's broken

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 09-06-2013, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bkinder83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I disabled DXVA hardware acceleration and selected software as the render method over DXVA after hearing there were issues using Intel GPU and DXVA. Is this not enough to avoid its ill effects?
bkinder83 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 09-06-2013, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Sometime stuttering in XBMC is an audio issue -- like trying to send HD audio to a device that does not support it. The XBMC Wiki has more info.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 09-06-2013, 08:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Sometime stuttering in XBMC is an audio issue -- like trying to send HD audio to a device that does not support it. The XBMC Wiki has more info.

That is 100% correct. Make sure you are bitstreaming to something that can handle the stream. Bitstreaming DTS-HD to a TV monitor, for example, is going to not play or playback with stuttering.

Also you might want to consider an Intel Gigabit NIC. Since I have added one my speeds and stability went up.
assassin is online now  
post #6 of 14 Old 09-06-2013, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bkinder83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have it running to a Harman Kardon AVR 3550HD which has DTS-HD and Dolby True HD capability.

The mobo on the server has an Intel 82579V LAN chipset and the HTPC is using Realtek 8111E. Both are gigabit. Do you think getting an Intel Gigabit NIC for the HTPC could correct this then?

The one thing that has me feeling it is server related is the fact that once the server restarts all stuttering goes away with only having to restart the video on the HTPC side. The server is a dedicated media server so I'm certain it isn't having the processor or memory stressed.
bkinder83 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 09-06-2013, 11:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Slow hard drive or slow LAN ?

I would test both.

There's programs and instructions for doing both in my server thread if you need them.

I would check your LAN speed and also run a HDD test.

You could just try copy and pasting a problem movie and check your speed. If its over 50mb/sec then you know neither are your problem. In which case XBMC crappy player is the culprit. Double check settings or re install XBMC.

Have you tried other external players in the same problem movies ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 09-06-2013, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Looks like a potential problem with DTS streaming.

Try playing back something with another type of audio like Dolby Digital and see if it makes a difference.
Tong Chia is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 09-07-2013, 01:22 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Some valid random ideas provided but no structure. You need to eliminate areas of potential issues in a structured way. I would start by taking the htpc out of the equation and test a movie to another streaming device running MPC or VLC whilst connected to the same LAN point, if no stuttering then look further at the htpc, if stuttering move on to the network and work backwards to the server.

David
DavidT99 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 09-07-2013, 01:48 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Do you monitor your hdds smart data? Ii use the WHS add-in Home Server SMART 2013
DavidT99 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 09-07-2013, 10:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 761
A simple copy paste of a problem movie to and from server and HTPC can confirm with the copy speeds two things:

LAN speed and HDD speed ok.

If you get 50mb/sec or higher your fine on both.

Then you can quickly move to the HTPC as problem area ... Trying another player or re installing

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 09-08-2013, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bkinder83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidT99 View Post

Some valid random ideas provided but no structure. You need to eliminate areas of potential issues in a structured way. I would start by taking the htpc out of the equation and test a movie to another streaming device running MPC or VLC whilst connected to the same LAN point, if no stuttering then look further at the htpc, if stuttering move on to the network and work backwards to the server.

David

Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately?) the stuttering is not consistent . I feel it is occurring after a certain uptime on the server. Once I get the stuttering again you are definitely right that I should go to a different computer and try streaming there before restarting the server to get smooth playback.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Slow hard drive or slow LAN ?


I would check your LAN speed and also run a HDD test.

Ran the LAN Speed Test software from your server thread and am getting ~90MBps write/read speeds between Server and HTPC. I tried stopping the FlexRaid storage pool to test each drive individually and once the pool was stopped no drives (other than C:) showed in My Computer. Do you think this is indicative of an issue with my onboard SATA controller?
bkinder83 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 09-08-2013, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkinder83 View Post

.......................... I tried stopping the FlexRaid storage pool to test each drive individually and once the pool was stopped no drives (other than C:) showed in My Computer. Do you think this is indicative of an issue with my onboard SATA controller?

This is how flexraid works, it takes away the drive letters. Go to Windows disk management and reallocate the drive Letter's.

David
DavidT99 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-11-2013, 03:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 761
Your drives are still there.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off