Anyone know how to rip DVD-A or DVD-AUDIO disc ?????? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 09-07-2013, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,228
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
I own a couple DVD audio format DVD's from back when DVD audio looked to be superior sound quality to CD and normal DVD, and also allows surround music.

Specifically I have about 5 of them, and one of them I really want to rip to my server to play back in 5.1 (metallica black album). It's a pretty cool surround music demo to my friends so I would like to have it available but I cant figure out how to rip the disc ? MakMKV does not even see it.

Suggestions ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 09-07-2013, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Thrillho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Halifax,NS
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I'm on my phone right now so I can't do links. But if you get foobar, the DVD-A plug in, and flac.exe you can open the disc in foobar and convert each track to flac.
Thrillho is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 09-07-2013, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 51
google DVD-Audio Explorer

good luck
qz3fwd is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 09-08-2013, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Smitty2k1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Its possible with foobar2000 playback with plugins. It can be a DTS format or, easier, FLAC

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 4
Smitty2k1 is online now  
post #5 of 19 Old 09-08-2013, 08:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,228
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
What's better and why ? Is flac 5.1?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #6 of 19 Old 09-08-2013, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tong Chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

What's better and why ? Is flac 5.1?

It boils down to what your music streamers and/or portable devices will support. My inclination would be FLAC between the two choices, more so if you keep it uncompressed, use the format you find most convenient to store your music.

The other consideration is whether you find metadata useful, these are things like album/artist info and and embedded album artwork cover, if so FLAC has some support for ID Tags
Tong Chia is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 09-09-2013, 08:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,228
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
I'm only going to playback with my HTPC ... And only once in a great while. I've already stored my movies but the DVD-A would not copy to HDD using my normal method.

Since I am playing back from HTPC via HDMI to my Denon AVR - I don't thing support for any format is a concern.

So... ? Which format should I choose ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #8 of 19 Old 09-09-2013, 08:25 AM
Member
 
carefreepastor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have more than 50 DVD-A's ripped to FLAC using Foobar and plugins. I like the sound quality of FLACs. Though you can use lots of players for playback because you now have the audio files in a readily useable format, Foobar will play back DVD-A's without ripping. However, once ripped to FLAC, in the Foobar GUI, you can see all four channels loading. DVD-A's are disappearing, and, therefore, becoming ever more expensive. If that were not the case, I would buy more. Next best, though, is high def recordings from folks such as HD Tracks.
carefreepastor is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 09-09-2013, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Thrillho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Halifax,NS
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Flac keeps it lossless. Convert to flac and then if you need another format in the future you've already got a source. Foobar, J river, and xbmc all play multichannel flac no prob. 7mc didn't last I used it about two years ago so if you're using mb2.x or mbc3 you may need an external player. I'm really hoping that mbt3 plays them but only time will tell.
I've got about 30 discs all ripped to flac and stored away. The value is going nuts on them, so rip them and keep your discs safe.
Thrillho is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 09-09-2013, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,228
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
Is there a tutorial ? I have never ripped to FLAC before... I am not a big audio guy. MP3 has always been ok for me...

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #11 of 19 Old 09-09-2013, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Thrillho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Halifax,NS
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
On my phone again so can't do links but....
Download dvda plug in for foobar and place in the components directory. (or install it if it's packaged as an installer).
Download and install flac.exe
Open foobar and open the dvda disc. You should see a list of tracks, the names will tell you the channels and the sample rate, most discs have stereo and multichannel.
Select the tracks you want to rip, then right click and choose convert. Under the format pick flac, leave it at level 5 and auto bit depth. Point foobar to flac.exe when asked.
Pick an output folder and hit start. Don't worry about naming convention because you'll have to do that yourself afterwards as well as manually tag them too.
Done.

This was all from memory but should be mostly right.
Thrillho is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 09-09-2013, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,449
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Sorry, but what phone doesn't let you do links?

bryansj is online now  
post #13 of 19 Old 09-09-2013, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Thrillho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Halifax,NS
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
The kind that I don't want to blow my meager data plan by googling and finding all the links to copy/paste.
Thrillho is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 09-10-2013, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,228
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
Lol. Who is your provider ? I spent LOTS of time here on my cell and I'm not even close to mine ....

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #15 of 19 Old 09-10-2013, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I have Sprint. I stream Plex (and/or Mediabrowser now) and use up about 5 or 6 GB of data a month.

They say that you are limited to 1GB for movie watching on their "unlimited" data plan but what they do not know is that my movie watching doesn't come from known servers such as netflix, hulu and the like.

biggrin.gif

Sammy2 is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 09-10-2013, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Back to the original question.. I realize that the flac solution is probably the way to go but just as a matter of discussion, what about makeMKV?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 09-10-2013, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 267

I don't think MakeMKV can rip DVD-A, can it?

Mrkazador is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 09-10-2013, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,228
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1017
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

I don't think MakeMKV can rip DVD-A, can it?

NO.. I don't think so. (I tried it)

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #19 of 19 Old 09-10-2013, 12:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Thrillho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Halifax,NS
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Bell Canada. 1gb a month. Work plan and has to cover all my email and remote work in emergencies. I can really only use basic surfing beyond that. At least I don't have to pay for it, a plan up here with 1gb of data are usually around $75 now.
Thrillho is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off