How to Tame Over-Saturation with HTPC Software? ( on a JVC RS1 projector ) - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2013, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tangled Cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I'm thinking about buying a JVC RS1, but its default image is over saturated and it does not have any saturation controls. In one of the threads about this issue someone mentioned a workable HTPC solution and said there was already a thread about it on here.

I have looked and can find no link to this thread anywhere.

Can any of you tell me if it is possible to use an HTPC and software to fix saturation issues? I know this would only apply to discs and rips on the PC, but that would be enough for me ...
Tangled Cable is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2013, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tangled Cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 35
No one wants to even take a stab at this?
Tangled Cable is offline  
Old 09-07-2013, 09:10 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Take a look at the control panel for the various PC video makers (ATI, NVidia, Intel) and look to see if they have methods of controlling video saturation. I believe ATI does in their CCC, not sure about the others.
cybrsage is offline  
Old 09-08-2013, 11:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 18,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 679 Post(s)
Liked: 336
The problem with the RS1 is it's gamut is too wide, you really need some sort of 3D LUT/Gamut calibration. MadVR can make use of yCMS, but apparently there are some limitations to that. There's also the issue that that only calibrates video, not everything the PC displays. IMO you're probably better off getting a new JVC with more accurate colors to start with, or maybe a Lumagen Radiance Mini which has a 125 point 3D Gamut calibration feature.

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is online now  
Old 09-09-2013, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Tangled Cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Thanks a ton cybrsage and stanger89 for weighing in!

cbyrage I have ATI cards in my laptop and desktop (though I actually prefer Nvidia) so I'll check to see what they offer as options.

Stanger89--I will look into MadVR andf see what I can find.

Thanks again you guys!
Tangled Cable is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Jvc Dla Rs1 Projector
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off