hdmi video capture pci / pcie card - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 09-11-2013, 10:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rcgldr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently I use the firewire output on a DVR to occasionally transfer video from the DVR to a PC. We're considering a DVR upgrade, but the new DVR doesn't have 1394 output, so I'm considering getting a HDMI video capture card for the PC. SInce I rarely do this (2 or 3 times a year), I don't need a high end capture card, but would want one that could capture 1080p with reasonable quality. The computer is an Intel 2600K, 3.4ghz, multi-boot with Win XP or Win 7 64 bit. Hard drives are Seagate 2TB Barracuda XT drives which should have a fast enough streaming write rate to not be an issue.

I'm hoping someone here can offer some advice on these capture cards.
rcgldr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 09-11-2013, 11:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,951
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 316
There is always a HDCP problem. Some capture cards made in China and Korea can bypass it (as expected smile.gif). For example, SKYHD CaptureX HDMI (1080P). English information.
renethx is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 09-12-2013, 12:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rcgldr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I"m not sure if HDCP would affect me. We don't have any movie channels or pay per view channels enabled. Just over the air stuff, and the basic cable channels like cnn, espn, ... , and as mentioned, I rarely do this, maybe 2 or 3 times a year if there's something interesting that I want to archive on my computer. I had the impression that copy protected stuff wouldn't go out the 1394 interface of a DVR, which is what I've been using so far without any issues. Apparently HDCP this doesn't affect component capture, which would probably be good enough for the rare times I'd do this.

The only reason for switching to a new DVR is if there turns out we would want to record more than 2 channels at the same time, which sometimes happens because some program doesn't on the hour but a minute or two afterwards.

update - turns out that switching to the dvr would increase our cox cable bill by $25 / month so we won't be switching for now, but at least I'm aware of the HDCP issues. Thanks for the reply.
rcgldr is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off