Updated NUC with Haswell, HD 5000 4K graphics - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 09-13-2013, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,724
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 37
http://www.engadget.com/2013/09/13/intels-haswell-core-i5-nuc-overclocking-hd5000/

It will be interesting to see what pricing comes in at, and hopefully they offer color options as well wink.gif


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

oman321 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 09-13-2013, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Nice, we need a core i3 version.
jeffkro is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 09-13-2013, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
wtf.... why didn't they wait for HDMI 2.0? Obviously it will just be easy enough to release another model with HDMI 2.0 but it just seems like weird timing. The way that i5 is spec'd it basically is an i3.

Dual Core HT, 1.3GHz, no vPro, no ME, $342.00 Tray... that's an i3 with an i5 price tag if I ever saw one tongue.gif

edit: ahhhh the i3 version has lower end graphics: http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-kit-d34010wyk.html

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-kit-d54250wyk.html
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-board-d54250wyb.html
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-kit-d34010wyk.html
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-board-d34010wyb.html

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 09-13-2013, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Yeah, black or a dark color would be nice for HTPC. The IR is a welcomed change.
shortcut3d is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 09-13-2013, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 09-13-2013, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by itznfb View Post

wtf.... why didn't they wait for HDMI 2.0? Obviously it will just be easy enough to release another model with HDMI 2.0 but it just seems like weird timing. The way that i5 is spec'd it basically is an i3.

Dual Core HT, 1.3GHz, no vPro, no ME, $342.00 Tray... that's an i3 with an i5 price tag if I ever saw one tongue.gif

edit: ahhhh the i3 version has lower end graphics: http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-kit-d34010wyk.html

http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-kit-d54250wyk.html
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-board-d54250wyb.html
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-kit-d34010wyk.html
http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/nuc/nuc-board-d34010wyb.html

Haswell doesn't support HDMI 2.0, don't think anyways. 4k is going to require a new TV, new receiver, and new HTPC, ouch!
jeffkro is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 09-13-2013, 05:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,188
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 371
HDMI 2.0 is just too late to be implemented in Haswell. Maybe with Haswell Refresh in 2014 (as well as Broadwell). Currently all CE devices (displays, AVR) are limited HDMI 1.4a (i.e. 4K UHD up to 30Hz), so Haswell is just good. And DP always supports 4K UHD 60Hz of course.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-07-2014, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1552&products_id=25804

Noticed this relatively new Intel box...my question
is if used as a HTPC
how much difference would the onboard Intel HD 5000 graphics make
when using MadVR?
Does the increase from 20 to 40 units provide a level of power to make level 3 of MadVR?
devoz is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-07-2014, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
devoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry ..I needed to be more exact
with regards MadVR and Intel HD 5000

can it make a difference for Level 3 Video performance in MadVR?

From what I can see Intel HD 4600 can do Level 3 Film ...
devoz is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off