How do you backup and restore your HTPC with no optical drive? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-23-2013, 09:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The HTPC that I just built does not have an optical drive. For folks who don't have an optical drive in their HTPCs, which backup/restore software do you use? (Preferably free)

Can it make a bootable restore USB memory stick which just loads the restore program, which then allows selecting an external USB hard drive to restore from?

Thanks,
Skylark
Skylark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-23-2013, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,838
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Clonezilla
Mrkazador is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-23-2013, 10:07 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Not free, but I use Acronis True Image and back it up across the network to a USB External Hard Drive I keep plugged into my HTPC. The nice thing is that each PC has Acronis on it and each one can read the saved images of the others. Makes pulling out individual files much easier.

I recently accidently deleted 100 pictures by deleting the folder they were in. I just went to my last backup and they were there waiting for me. smile.gif
cybrsage is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-23-2013, 11:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
My HTPC's are backed up using WHS 2011. And since my backups are stored on the server its just the matter of loading the USB stick and locating the server where the backup is--instant restore.
AVTechMan is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-24-2013, 12:15 AM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Make a Sysprep image compress it store on like an 8GB USB Drive
staknhalo is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-24-2013, 02:50 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Skylark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks folks for your replies. I just discovered that my paid for copy of Image For Windows allows use on up to 3 computers. So I can use a copy for my HTPC.

Thanks again,
Skylark
Skylark is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off