Help moving old HTPC media to new HTPC's HDD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-25-2013, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
EpicVegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just built a new HTPC that has a 126gb SSD and a 3Tb 7200rpm Baracuda HDD. I need to move all my media from my old 1TB HTPC's HDD to the new HTPC's 3TB baracuda drive. How can I do this fast and easy?

Right now both HTPC are in the same room next to each other.
Please help, Thanks.
EpicVegas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-25-2013, 06:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicVegas View Post

I just built a new HTPC that has a 126gb SSD and a 3Tb 7200rpm Baracuda HDD. I need to move all my media from my old 1TB HTPC's HDD to the new HTPC's 3TB baracuda drive. How can I do this fast and easy?

Right now both HTPC are in the same room next to each other.
Please help, Thanks.

Gigabit switch.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

assassin is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-25-2013, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
EpicVegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty new to networking. Would a need to purchase a gigabit switch or could I just run a ethernet cable between the two computers?
EpicVegas is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-25-2013, 07:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
itznfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicVegas View Post

I'm pretty new to networking. Would a need to purchase a gigabit switch or could I just run a ethernet cable between the two computers?

Did your internet provider install a router? Typically the routers they install have a 10/100 or 10/100/100 switch built in.

Running Windows Home Server 2011 Evil Abandoned Edition
itznfb is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-25-2013, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Personally I would just toss the old drive into the new machine and move everything over then put the drive back into the old machine or just leave it depending on if the old one is being decommissioned.

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-25-2013, 08:22 AM
Senior Member
 
wpbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I just used Win7 Explorer. It moved everything, albeit its very slow. I also used Xbmc's file program to do the same thing, its faster. And if you need to rename your files you can also use programs like Couch Potato, Sickbeard and theres others.
wpbpete is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-25-2013, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
EpicVegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ill try the gigabit switch first. If I remove the old drive and add it to my new pc it says it needs to format it in order to use it. I've already got xbmc, sickbeard and couchpotato running in the new system. I can also try my external usb 2.0 drive dock to transfer if its not too slow.
Thanks for the help
EpicVegas is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off