Are you using Windows 8 as a HTPC? - Page 4 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


View Poll Results: Are you using Windows 8 as a HTPC?
Yes 66 47.14%
No 74 52.86%
Voters: 140. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 104 Old 03-16-2015, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaJohnNV View Post
You can say that WMC is dead, but it is alive and well in my Living room, and I'd like to keep it that way for awhile longer. It is all but confirmed that it will be gone completely from the RTM version of Windows 10. My concern is upgrading from Windows 7 or 8.1 with WMC to Windows 10. If I push that upgrade button, will WMC go “poof” and disappear?
If it's not in Windows 10, then obviously it would be gone when you upgrade. If/when it's confirmed to not be in Windows 10, I don't know why you would think it would be/could be/should be any other way.
staknhalo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 104 Old 03-16-2015, 03:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaJohnNV View Post
It is all but confirmed that it will be gone completely from the RTM version of Windows 10.
Not sure where your information is coming from, but it is not from Microsoft.
In any Windows 10 Technical Preview release, open an elevated command prompt and type the following
dism /online /get-targeteditions
press enter to execute the command
This command will display possible upgrades to the current installation. WMC is presented there.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #93 of 104 Old 03-16-2015, 03:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post
Not sure where your information is coming from, but it is not from Microsoft.
In any Windows 10 Technical Preview release, open an elevated command prompt and type the following
dism /online /get-targeteditions
press enter to execute the command
This command will display possible upgrades to the current installation. WMC is presented there.
That's not very conclusive/reaffirming. That could very well just be legacy code from 8.1 they haven't updated or removed yet. I mean, it very well could be because they intend to have a 'Win 10 w/ WMC' version as well.

It's just not confirmed yet it is or isn't in 10 one way or the other. Many/most just think it most probably won't be (based on the past/recent history of WMC). Until we get something conclusive from the horse's mouth, there's no telling/everything is just conjecture.

Last edited by staknhalo; 03-16-2015 at 03:58 PM.
staknhalo is online now  
post #94 of 104 Old 03-16-2015, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 61
conclusive would require an RTM release.
At least its enough to keep the dream alive, for now.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #95 of 104 Old 03-16-2015, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post
conclusive would require an RTM release.
They (Microsoft) could very well announce 'No WMC in 10' in a statement anytime before RTM release. I don't see how that wouldn't be conclusive either.
staknhalo is online now  
post #96 of 104 Old 03-16-2015, 04:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post
Not sure where your information is coming from, but it is not from Microsoft.
In any Windows 10 Technical Preview release, open an elevated command prompt and type the following
dism /online /get-targeteditions
press enter to execute the command
This command will display possible upgrades to the current installation. WMC is presented there.
actually, it needs to be typed in a 'Pro' release because Enterprise doesn't see WMC as an upgrade.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #97 of 104 Old 03-17-2015, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garrett Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stockton, CA USA
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 267 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Well we won't know until RTM but it is refreshing to see. Here's my results on Build 9926:

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.9926]
(c) 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\WINDOWS\system32>dism /online /get-targeteditions
Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
Version: 10.0.9926.0
Image Version: 10.0.9926.0
Editions that can be upgraded to:
Target Edition : ProfessionalWMC
Target Edition : Enterprise

The operation completed successfully.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>
Garrett Adams is offline  
post #98 of 104 Old 03-18-2015, 11:44 AM
Member
 
JavaJohnNV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post
If it's not in Windows 10, then obviously it would be gone when you upgrade. If/when it's confirmed to not be in Windows 10, I don't know why you would think it would be/could be/should be any other way.
Upgrading from Windows 8 to 8.1 via the Microsoft app store left all installed programs and settings intact. I would expect the same behavior this summer when upgrading from 7 or 8.1 to Windows 10 via Windows Update. But then again Microsoft doesn't always do whats expected.
JavaJohnNV is offline  
post #99 of 104 Old 03-18-2015, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaJohnNV View Post
Upgrading from Windows 8 to 8.1 via the Microsoft app store left all installed programs and settings intact. I would expect the same behavior this summer when upgrading from 7 or 8.1 to Windows 10 via Windows Update. But then again Microsoft doesn't always do whats expected.
It varies really...


You can do an in-place upgrade from 7 to 8.
You can do an in-place upgrade from 8 to 8.1.


However you cannot do an in-place upgrade from 7 to 8.1. If trying to upgrade to 8.1 from 7, it will force you to do a clean install and the only thing you can do in the sense of "upgrading" is carrying over your personal files/data. Obviously the way around this is to upgrade from 7 to 8 first, and then do the free update to 8.1 from there. Honestly I don't know why anyone would do an in-place upgrade at all, but that's the way you have to do it to get to 8.1 from 7 as an upgrade install.


So, if you can't go from 7 to 8.1, I would imagine you can't go from 7 to 10 either. As for 8 or 8.1 to 10, that remains to be seen. I'm guessing it will force a clean install too, but could be different.
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #100 of 104 Old 03-18-2015, 12:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Right, but when you do an in-place upgrade, legacy OS components/software (which WMC is one of) don't get carried over. It would be wiped if it isn't part of 10. That's why I don't get how he though WMC would carry over.
staknhalo is online now  
post #101 of 104 Old 03-18-2015, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post
Right, but when you do an in-place upgrade, legacy OS components/software (which WMC is one of) don't get carried over. It would be wiped if it isn't part of 10. That's why I don't get how he though WMC would carry over.
Hmm, perhaps he was thinking since WMC was really an add-on "pack" to 8 (and not really part of the OS), maybe it should carry through?
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #102 of 104 Old 03-18-2015, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 148
It's an add-on pack that integrates into the OS. It even has it's own OS designation/version and OS specific keys and activation; so no matter what it's called - it's part of the OS (more specifically, its own version of the OS), not a stand-alone program.
staknhalo is online now  
post #103 of 104 Old 03-18-2015, 04:04 PM
Member
 
JavaJohnNV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
What I would really like is for Microsoft to weigh in with an answer. Will Windows 8.1 be the end of the line for WMC, or will there be a way for it to live on in Windows 10?
JavaJohnNV is offline  
post #104 of 104 Old 03-18-2015, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaJohnNV View Post
What I would really like is for Microsoft to weigh in with an answer. Will Windows 8.1 be the end of the line for WMC, or will there be a way for it to live on in Windows 10?
You'll find out closer to the release of 10. I'm sure lots of people would like to know now but MS has from now until the release of 10 to say anything about it. Given 10 isn't even at RP yet, I wouldn't worry too much yet.
ES_Revenge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off