Bluray Ripping Challenges - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-29-2013, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Well, looks like I am having a hard time ripping some of my Blu discs. I have an Samsung BD-ROM drive that I have had for I am thinking almost 2 years....when I first got it I had no trouble ripping my Blu movies (yes, ones I bought new and own).

Now, I can't seem to really rip anything. Using Clown BD I constantly get 'Audio Track is not Clean' messages and the "Source file is damaged......" message. With MakeMKV once it begins the process it gives me errors and eventually fails, claiming the source files are corrupted, which I know are not. I have tried several BD discs, all well cared for and no fingerprints, cracks or scratches on the discs (I'm very anal about taking care of my media collection).

I have a possible feeling.....drive failure? Even with a few DVD's I have tried, it did the same thing (in MakeMKV). The same DVD ripped perfectly in my much older Pioneer DVD drive that I had for over 7 years with no problems. I was surely hoping it was not my discs or else I would've been very pissed! The BD drive itself hasn't been used that often so if it indeed is going bad, what's a good drive that is reliable and will last? I can't even rip the new BD's I recently bought now as I have to put on hold until I get the drive issue solved.

I hate equipment failures! mad.gif
AVTechMan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-29-2013, 08:34 AM
Member
 
colohtpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not sure how to diagnose possible hardware failure other than try just AnyDVDHD with no "extra" software. I bought my Blu-Ray drive I think in 2008 it is a Lite-On IHES106 (obviously now discontinued). I have used it continuously for all those years with zero problems, ripping, playing various movie discs and music discs. Never had a disc it won't play or rip. (not exactly true it is not universal so no SACD or DVD-A not a drive problem just what it is) So that's a recommendation for Lite-On.

colohtpc is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-29-2013, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by colohtpc View Post

Not sure how to diagnose possible hardware failure other than try just AnyDVDHD with no "extra" software. I bought my Blu-Ray drive I think in 2008 it is a Lite-On IHES106 (obviously now discontinued). I have used it continuously for all those years with zero problems, ripping, playing various movie discs and music discs. Never had a disc it won't play or rip. (not exactly true it is not universal so no SACD or DVD-A not a drive problem just what it is) So that's a recommendation for Lite-On.

Well the thing is, AnyDVD HD does read the disc fine and Clown BD goes through the motions of selecting the playlist, where to save, etc. The problem comes when it actually rips the disc. Even when I had ripped the disc as an ISO, I still have those errors in the programs.
AVTechMan is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-29-2013, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
acejh1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Have you tried ripped straight from the disc with MakeMKV with other programs (AnyDVD) disabled?
Are you able to make an ISO using AnyDVD built in ripper?

If neither of these work than I'd say its either a bad disc or drive, and since its happening on everything its probably the drive.

I have a LG WH14NS40 and have never had any issues ripping a BD/DVD with AnyDVD or MakeMKV, its pretty fast too.
acejh1987 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-29-2013, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
AVTechMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The State of Michigan
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by acejh1987 View Post

Have you tried ripped straight from the disc with MakeMKV with other programs (AnyDVD) disabled?
Are you able to make an ISO using AnyDVD built in ripper?

If neither of these work than I'd say its either a bad disc or drive, and since its happening on everything its probably the drive.

I have a LG WH14NS40 and have never had any issues ripping a BD/DVD with AnyDVD or MakeMKV, its pretty fast too.

Yes, I tried ripping the disc with MakeMKV with AnyDVD off, and did a rip with AnyDVD to an ISO file, which took a long time but succeeded. But of course when trying to process the ISO in Clown or MakeMKV, the error message still appear.

In trying several BD discs all turned out the same, so I'm sure its the drive. Tested a good DVD in the same BD drive with no success, but in an older HD-DVD drive I have, it worked with no issues.

Its a Samsung BD drive, so looks like they aren't that good. So I will check into either an LG or LiteOn model.
AVTechMan is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off