WMC freezes everytime when I turn on and off the AVR/TV while WMC is still running - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2013, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dannieboiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I use WMC for all my entertainment, Media Browser, Music and Live TV.

My HTPC has ah HD6450 with the latest drivers connected to an Onkyo TX-SR875 via HDMI then to my Samsung TV via HDMI and all is control by a Harmony 1100. Anytime I power down my equipment (excluding the HTPC) while I'm in the middle of watching Live TV or Media Browser, the next time I turn it on WMC would freeze and my AVR/TV would not detect a signal until I Alt+Ctrl+Del then I get a signal. I'd then have have to go to Task Manager and end WMC then restart it again.

OTOH in my room, I have a Dell laptop on a docking station connected to a Samsung TV via DVI to HDMI cable and I don't have a problem turning it on and off.

Does anyone have a solution for this?
dannieboiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-13-2013, 01:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,231
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1112 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannieboiz View Post

I use WMC for all my entertainment, Media Browser, Music and Live TV.

My HTPC has ah HD6450 with the latest drivers connected to an Onkyo TX-SR875 via HDMI then to my Samsung TV via HDMI and all is control by a Harmony 1100. Anytime I power down my equipment (excluding the HTPC) while I'm in the middle of watching Live TV or Media Browser, the next time I turn it on WMC would freeze and my AVR/TV would not detect a signal until I Alt+Ctrl+Del then I get a signal. I'd then have have to go to Task Manager and end WMC then restart it again.

OTOH in my room, I have a Dell laptop on a docking station connected to a Samsung TV via DVI to HDMI cable and I don't have a problem turning it on and off.

Does anyone have a solution for this?
I don't know if drivers are your problem, but the latest HD6450 drivers caused me all kinds of problems. Only version 12.8 or earlier works well for me.
mdavej is offline  
Old 10-13-2013, 01:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Try to find a version of the ATI drivers that work for you. Then don't ever update them or allow your system to update them. New is not better in this example! smile.gif
Sammy2 likes this.
assassin is offline  
Old 10-13-2013, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,777
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 42
hammerdwn is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off