WMC freezes everytime when I turn on and off the AVR/TV while WMC is still running - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 10-13-2013, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dannieboiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I use WMC for all my entertainment, Media Browser, Music and Live TV.

My HTPC has ah HD6450 with the latest drivers connected to an Onkyo TX-SR875 via HDMI then to my Samsung TV via HDMI and all is control by a Harmony 1100. Anytime I power down my equipment (excluding the HTPC) while I'm in the middle of watching Live TV or Media Browser, the next time I turn it on WMC would freeze and my AVR/TV would not detect a signal until I Alt+Ctrl+Del then I get a signal. I'd then have have to go to Task Manager and end WMC then restart it again.

OTOH in my room, I have a Dell laptop on a docking station connected to a Samsung TV via DVI to HDMI cable and I don't have a problem turning it on and off.

Does anyone have a solution for this?
dannieboiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 10-13-2013, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,451
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2126 Post(s)
Liked: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannieboiz View Post

I use WMC for all my entertainment, Media Browser, Music and Live TV.

My HTPC has ah HD6450 with the latest drivers connected to an Onkyo TX-SR875 via HDMI then to my Samsung TV via HDMI and all is control by a Harmony 1100. Anytime I power down my equipment (excluding the HTPC) while I'm in the middle of watching Live TV or Media Browser, the next time I turn it on WMC would freeze and my AVR/TV would not detect a signal until I Alt+Ctrl+Del then I get a signal. I'd then have have to go to Task Manager and end WMC then restart it again.

OTOH in my room, I have a Dell laptop on a docking station connected to a Samsung TV via DVI to HDMI cable and I don't have a problem turning it on and off.

Does anyone have a solution for this?
I don't know if drivers are your problem, but the latest HD6450 drivers caused me all kinds of problems. Only version 12.8 or earlier works well for me.
mdavej is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 10-13-2013, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Try to find a version of the ATI drivers that work for you. Then don't ever update them or allow your system to update them. New is not better in this example! smile.gif
Sammy2 likes this.
assassin is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 10-13-2013, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 52
OP, here's some reading for you:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1492557/receiver-picking-the-wrong-output-and-breaking-wmc-codecs-trying-to-figure-out-where-the-problem-is#post_23781232

XBR-65Z9D | AVR-X2200W | UBD-K8500 | JRMC HTPC w/9 cable tuners | Fluance SV 7.1 + eD A3-300
hammerdwn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off