Cutting WMC loose - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 10-14-2013, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,

I've been using WMC for about 6 years, and for a great deal of that been using my Ceton InfiniTV 4 with it. Overall, WMC has served me well, but with support and software for WMC on life support, i'm interested in looking at alternatives. It seems to me that WMC requires a lot more babysitting than i'd like to deal with anymore (Bugs with addins, menu strips, resolutions, etc.) and needs a lot of tinkering to make it do what I want. Before I needed it since I extended to a Xbox 360, but I'm not anymore hence the interest in the best overall packaged alternative.

Having been out of the loop, might I ask you all for your recommendations?

Some reqs:
- I would like to continue to use my InfiniTV4 to watch Live TV (no premium / copy once content - mostly basic cable)
- Good TV guide and DVR capabilities
- Good UIs for pictures, music, movie library (I use media browser and have liked it over the years)

Let me know if I need to clarify any additional options.

Thanks in advance...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 10-14-2013, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 187
I have not had to baby sit WMC at all, really.

For US CableTV I think that it is probably the best PVR software still but I have not tried any other software either.

post #3 of 13 Old 10-14-2013, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member

Oh, and hang tight because Media Browser Theater is coming soon and from what I've been told it will blow your socks off..

post #4 of 13 Old 10-14-2013, 10:18 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You should give Mediaportal a try. It has a great looking UI and you can use other pcs as extenders. Which means shared guide, stop playback in one room and resume in another, etc..There is also a Mediabrowser plugin in the works.
post #5 of 13 Old 10-15-2013, 05:37 AM