HTPC for Music(1st), & Movies, budget $1000-$1200! - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 235 Old 09-23-2014, 11:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,245
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 1019
Try using REVO UNINSTALLER

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 235 Old 09-23-2014, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Kool & the Gang Mike..



Dan
Djoel is online now  
post #213 of 235 Old 10-07-2014, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Lately I'm hearing what it appears to be one of the Hard drives picking up incredible speed, as if it's changing gears and ready to jump to mach 5!

I could be wrong it being the HD, as it could be the case's fans trying to cool off the system??? I know wishful thinking.

Any idea what the heck is happening inside?

Thanks

Dan
Djoel is online now  
post #214 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 07:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,245
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 1019
Probably fan. Hard drives don't increase in speed. Does it last long ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #215 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
It picks up speed like a car barreling down a testing course, it's about less than a minute or so!

Dan
Djoel is online now  
post #216 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 11:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,245
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 1019
That sounds like your PSU fan, or something like that. Possibly GPU card fan? It's possible on case fans or CPU fans too...

A lot of products have settings where if it hits a certain threshold temp it goes to full tilt 100% until the temps drop back down. Most CPU, PSU and GPU fans do this... so my guess is it's that first. Secondly, could be a case fan, which you can go into the BIOS and use the fan speed controller to adjust those. There is a curve programed into your BIOS (I put it there ) for fan speed that steps up fan speed with temps, the curve was slightly aggressive (meaning I wanted it to be reasonably low speed and quiet most of the time) so it goes up steep. If you go in and look you'll see what I mean. You can cap the limit on 80% or something, instead of 100%, or even raise the threshold temp another degree or two higher... that should make it much less severe (if it's the case fans).

The CPU fan speed controller is basically the same way (and solution) But for PSU and GPU cards I am afraid you are probably stuck with the setting the MFG put in place.

My guess is first it's either a GPU fan, PSU Fan, or CPU fan. Next step is to figure out which. If it is CPU you can change, if it's the others it might be tougher. Some you can mod, but it's not a supported thing like changing a setting in the BIOS on the fan speed controller.

Hope that helps! Let me know a little more info if you find out something, I am sure there is an easy solution.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #217 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Will give it a go over the weekend for sure Mike.
I purchased 1TB SSD for just tunes that will be installing over the weekend so I'll do a check and see if the fans are all running and if it's just one pulling the weight for the others or something strange like that.

I know a guy who's going to put a few of my Hi Rez music in some hard drive for me, do you recommend external or internal?
I'm going on the side of external for some strange reason other than the internal types for now.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Dan
Djoel is online now  
post #218 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 01:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,245
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 1019
You mean internal vs external HDD ? I think they both have advantages... do you need to easily remove it to share or bring somewhere?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #219 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holt7153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 3,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post
Will give it a go over the weekend for sure Mike.
I purchased 1TB SSD for just tunes that will be installing over the weekend so I'll do a check and see if the fans are all running and if it's just one pulling the weight for the others or something strange like that.

I know a guy who's going to put a few of my Hi Rez music in some hard drive for me, do you recommend external or internal?
I'm going on the side of external for some strange reason other than the internal types for now.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Dan
Danno-you'll be connecting the hirez drive through your Oppo, no?

***************************************
My girlfriend works at Hooters…in the kitchen.
holt7153 is offline  
post #220 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by holt7153 View Post
Danno-you'll be connecting the hirez drive through your Oppo, no?

Hey Steve, actually I wanted to run it through Jriver. Jriver makes it sound so good, don't know how they do it, but I have been rediscovery all the enormous amount of music I have.

Why you ask, I like option, and flexibility so wouldn't mind testing both.

Thanks

Dan
Djoel is online now  
post #221 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holt7153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 3,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 113
aah, gotcha. I asked because I have some files that won't play through my NAS/Dune. I'm looking for simple solutions without adding more hardware.

***************************************
My girlfriend works at Hooters…in the kitchen.
holt7153 is offline  
post #222 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
You mean internal vs external HDD ? I think they both have advantages... do you need to easily remove it to share or bring somewhere?
Yeah like I mentioned earlier to Steve(aka) holt7153 I'm thinking of swapping between the HTPC, an Oppo player, so I think I just answered my own questioned. (Youooo, you'rrrre goooddd!)

Either way do you see anything that can hinder my listening experience. Such as large external are necessary good with music, or something as such that I'm not thinking of.

Thank you

Dan
Djoel is online now  
post #223 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by holt7153 View Post
aah, gotcha. I asked because I have some files that won't play through my NAS/Dune. I'm looking for simple solutions without adding more hardware.
Not too sure if you can do this with your set up but you definitely try Jriver, it's a real blast. I really do see why it can't work, it gave me a little headache at first but it all turn out OK for now, I'm still working out a few things but I feel I'm right there. It cost me 50 dollar and I think it's a bargain for sure.

I have the Ipad remote displaying of all your tune, and it works like a charm, it cost 10 bucks but it was worth every penny.

Let me know if you have any questions, it's not like I can answer them thou

Dan
Djoel is online now  
post #224 of 235 Old 10-08-2014, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holt7153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 3,255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 113
I'll look into JRiver, thanks.
Djoel likes this.

***************************************
My girlfriend works at Hooters…in the kitchen.
holt7153 is offline  
post #225 of 235 Old 10-11-2014, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
I'm attempting to add another a second storage driver( a SSD hd in particular), but realize that I don't have enough data connector out the mother board Any tricks of the trade? I'm beginning to see the advantages of NAS, or a server right about now


Thanks in advance

Djoel
Djoel is online now  
post #226 of 235 Old 10-11-2014, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
AHH.....where are the screws for the ssd hd????? The screw holes are tiny, I mean tiny...

Dan
Djoel is online now  
post #227 of 235 Old 10-11-2014, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
What ever I grabbed the Data cable out the second opt drive which was on the bottom, it never worked for some reason. I thought at one time it was disconnected because of lack of data connection, but it was actually connected to the MoBo. Is that something I had to configure to getting going, or a simple click and go would have sufficed?

Dan out!
Djoel is online now  
post #228 of 235 Old 10-12-2014, 07:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,245
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 1019
Data and optical drives are pretty simple. Make sure it has both power and sata connection. It should work. If you have an another that works, try swapping the wires from that one onto the one that doesn't work. If it still doesn't work it's probably broken. My experience with cheap optical drives is they are stamped out in mass quantity in Asia and they either work or they don't. They do die or go bad. I've replaced one myself in my desktop.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #229 of 235 Old 10-12-2014, 07:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,245
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 1019
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post
I'm attempting to add another a second storage driver( a SSD hd in particular), but realize that I don't have enough data connector out the mother board Any tricks of the trade? I'm beginning to see the advantages of NAS, or a server right about now


Thanks in advance

Djoel
Add a PCI express sata card?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #230 of 235 Old 10-12-2014, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Thanks mike, I'm trying to configure the SSD but the software is trying to make me migrate the information from the C drive?

Do I have to do this just to format the diver? I've done regular hhd and don't recall software/driver for it to configure it.

Dan

Last edited by Djoel; 10-12-2014 at 10:08 AM.
Djoel is online now  
post #231 of 235 Old 10-12-2014, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
Add a PCI express sata card?

Excellent I was looking to fill out the rear of the unit up with something.

Is there one you recommend??? You know I'll over spend on something outlandish


Like this



Dan

Last edited by Djoel; 10-12-2014 at 10:25 AM.
Djoel is online now  
post #232 of 235 Old 11-10-2014, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
I'm having a strange issue happening ever since I replaced a UPS, I just wanted a modular type to yield the excess cables.

So everything seems to work for the exception of the optical drive, which is odd how its behaving.

When the optical drive doesn't have a Data Sata cable it opens up, but the OS does not see it of course, when I add the data sata cables it's completely off, no light blinking can't open door just seems dead.

Any ideas as to why it's behaving this way???


Thanks

Dan
Djoel is online now  
post #233 of 235 Old 11-10-2014, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djoel View Post
I'm having a strange issue happening ever since I replaced a UPS, I just wanted a modular type to yield the excess cables.
Did you mean PSU? Double-check your power connection. Optical drive runs on the 5v side, not 12v.

Other than that I have no idea
Djoel likes this.

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #234 of 235 Old 11-10-2014, 10:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 7,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dropkick Murphy View Post
Did you mean PSU? Double-check your power connection. Optical drive runs on the 5v side, not 12v.

Other than that I have no idea

I'll check on that, but one would think it's fool proof to mess the connection up Yikes.

Thanks

Djoel
Djoel is online now  
post #235 of 235 Old 11-11-2014, 07:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,245
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 1019
Yeah it's fool proof .. Lol

It's a sata wire. It just plugs in.

I'd try another optical with same wires or that optical in another machine. That's fast easy way to confirm it's busted.

If so try an RMA or check warranty. Or go like I do and just order a new one cause I'm lazy lol...

Those things break all the time. I've got two or three busted optical drives kicking around. One BR, couple DVD. One of the lesser reliable parts generally.

Hopefully you find out it works in another machine and trace it back to a bad wire or something but I'm guessing not.
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Core I5 4670k 3 4ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Asrock , Asrock Z87m Extreme4 Lga1150 Intel Z87 Chipset Ddr3 Quad Crossfirex Quad Sli Sata3 Usb3 0 Microatx M , Seagate , Seagate Hard Drives
Gear in this thread - Lga1150 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off