Which media players reconfigure HDMI to match number of source channels? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 42 Old 10-19-2013, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Mpc hc has a wasapi audio renderer but I think its buggy.
Selden Ball likes this.
Mrkazador is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 42 Old 10-20-2013, 03:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

Mpc hc has a wasapi audio renderer but I think its buggy.

Thanks!

Unlike the other players, it doesn't explicitly show WASAPI as an option. I discovered (by Web search) that you have to seledt "MPC Output Renderer" in the "Playback Output" menu. You're right about it being buggy, too. E.g. when you "Stop" playback, it generates a loud "staccato" noise in the output. frown.gif

This was with MPC-HC v1.7.0

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #33 of 42 Old 10-20-2013, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nevcairiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 110
JRiver Media Center can output using WASAPI Exclusive among many other ouput modes, and directly output the right number of channels if so desired. Its not free, though.
Nevcairiel is offline  
post #34 of 42 Old 10-20-2013, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
CountryBumkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There's a free trial. So you can see if it solves your problem (for free) - then purchase it if you want.
CountryBumkin is offline  
post #35 of 42 Old 10-20-2013, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
mpc be has a wasapi renderer that works. it is called mpc audio renderer.

with mpc hc, you are best off using reclock.
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #36 of 42 Old 10-20-2013, 11:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevcairiel View Post

JRiver Media Center can output using WASAPI Exclusive among many other ouput modes, and directly output the right number of channels if so desired. Its not free, though.

Further, I've found iJRiver Media Center's in-built upmixer called JRSS, to be superior to Dolby PLIIx, or any format my receivers have, My stereo music and 5.1 movies are upmixed to 7.1 using JRSS and then sent as PCM to my receivers, which then apply DTS Neo:X to add height and wide channels to mix up to 11.1. The results are pretty impressive for music and video.


IIRC: Another advantage of JRSS is that if the media file is being played from within its own library, it knows whether it's a music file, a tv show/movie or a music video, and it will subtly change the upmix profile. Therefore a music video, even though it's a video file, will receive the same upmixing algorithm as a music file. Further, you can specify various DSPs and specify rules in ZoneSwitch to apply different playback rules, e.g. output channels, or ouput device based on the rules.

So, not free, but stupendously customisable.
fitbrit is offline  
post #37 of 42 Old 10-21-2013, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by MlNDBOMB View Post

mpc be has a wasapi renderer that works. it is called mpc audio renderer.

with mpc hc, you are best off using reclock.

You do have to be sure to download the most recent version, but indeed MPC-BE v 1.2.1.0 -3592 works fine!

In case people haven't noticed, I'm updating the initial post in this thread to include a list of freeware players that I know play stereo files using 2.0 HDMI channels.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #38 of 42 Old 12-05-2013, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
YusakuCz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THANK YOU, thank you, thank you... for this analysis. Just 4 years after buying 5.1 surround, I can play all the audio and video from PC the way it was supposed to be played (MPC BE for me). Stereo upmixed by receiver to all channels using DPLII, multichannel movies playing all channels.
YusakuCz is offline  
post #39 of 42 Old 12-05-2013, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 358
You're very welcome smile.gif

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #40 of 42 Old 12-24-2013, 07:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If I choose the "disable all enhancements," in my playback device settings, I get no LFE from my sub when playing WMA Lossless files using Windows Media Player. I DO get LFE when playing FLAC 5.1 files.

If I uncheck Disable Enhancements box and select "Bass Management" box, I do get LFE from my sub when playing WMA Lossless files. However, it sounds awful compared with when my AVR handles bass management.

Is there a way to make this work?
elee532 is offline  
post #41 of 42 Old 12-24-2013, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 358
I just wrote a long response to your other thread. Hopefully it'll help. Basically, your description is consistent with bass management being disabled in your receiver. I.e. someone might have changed the speaker settings to "Large". They should be "Small".

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #42 of 42 Old 12-24-2013, 03:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
elee532's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Pretty much an issue of user error. :-) See here for more.
elee532 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off