Dual monitors over HDMI/DVI - Have I thought this through correctly? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 10-17-2013, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cmyden2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm in the planning stages of rewiring my house, and before I place an order on MonoPrice for the various wires and switches, I want to make sure I've thought this part through correctly and would appreciate any wisdom or guidance.

.

Below is a sketch of how I *think* everything should be hooked up, but I've never attempted a purely digital multi-monitor set up like this before.

 

Below the sketch I've listed the 3 scenarios in which I would use the dual monitor setup.

 

 

 

Is this the best way to go about setting this up? Or is there a better way to do this without involving a powered HDMI splitter? (which I know can be prone to failure)

Any pitfalls to be aware of when it comes to digital multi-monitor setups?

The hardware involved would be:

Video cards: Sapphire Radeon HD 7770 GHZ 1 GB DDR5 HDMI/DVI-I/DP PCI-Express Graphics Card 11201-17-20G (1 HDMI output, 1 DVI output, 1 DisplayPort output)

HDMI switch: 4x2 True Matrix HDMI® Switch w/ Remote (Rev. 3.0)
http://www.monoprice.com/Product?p_id=5312

Monitors: Asus VS247H-P 23.6-Inch Full-HD LED-Lit LCD Monitor (standard LCD monitors each with 1 VGA input, 1 DVI input, and 1 HDMI input)

Thanks for any advice or guidance, definitely appreciated.

cmyden2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 10-17-2013, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I could be wrong but I don't think you can output HDMI & DVI at the same time. I know that the 2 motherboards that I have wont do it but a video card may be different (I've never used one). For dual display on my PC's I use HDMI, & VGA.

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 10-17-2013, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fitbrit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dropkick Murphy View Post

I could be wrong but I don't think you can output HDMI & DVI at the same time. I know that the 2 motherboards that I have wont do it but a video card may be different (I've never used one). For dual display on my PC's I use HDMI, & VGA.

The simultaneous DVI and HDMI has been possible for a few years now, on newer hardware motherboards. You can certainly do this on video cards, but any Core i3/5/7 should be able to too (with the right motherboards), except first generation i7s and higher numbered i5s.
fitbrit is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 10-17-2013, 07:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dropkick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 68
There you go...I was wrong smile.gif
fitbrit likes this.

Dropkick Murphy is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off