Media browser won't play avi dolby digital 2.0 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 10-18-2013, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pd veeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm using lav splitter

Media browser classic won't play a tv show in this format

avi, dolby digital 2.0

It plays fine in xbmc.

Do I need to install another codec, etc?
pd veeps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 10-18-2013, 11:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 831
Did you use shark 007 codec pack ?

http://assassinhtpcblog.com/wmcandmbsetup/#guide61

Follow that and try again

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 10-18-2013, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pd veeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just uninstalled lavsplitter and installed shark007.

Thanks
pd veeps is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 10-18-2013, 12:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 831
working ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #5 of 16 Old 10-18-2013, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pd veeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes working. Thanks.
pd veeps is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 10-18-2013, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Bizzy G.L.X.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wash DC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22

+1 for Shark's stuff.

 

I know a lot of people denigrate codec packs, especially Shark's for some reason.

 

I've been using Shark's for years and have setup tons of friends, family and co-workers alike, always with good, long lasting results.


Case:Fractal Design Node 605
APU:AMD Richland A10-6700
RAM:8GB AMD 1866
Board:ASUS A88XM Plus
Storage:OCZ 256 GB Vector
Optical:Panasonic Slim BDR
PS:Silverstone Strider 550 Gold SFF
Software:WMC8+LAV+madVR+MPC-HC
Input:Logitech K400 mini KB/trackpad+Harmony 720
Output:Sammy 55" S6 LED LCD+Yamaha soundbar
Bizzy G.L.X. is online now  
post #7 of 16 Old 10-18-2013, 05:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 831
All you need to make sure you do is uncheck the bundled crapeware that comes in the pack

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #8 of 16 Old 10-18-2013, 05:15 PM
Member
 
Bizzy G.L.X.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wash DC
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

All you need to make sure you do is uncheck the bundled crapeware that comes in the pack

True, no doubt !

Mfusick likes this.

Case:Fractal Design Node 605
APU:AMD Richland A10-6700
RAM:8GB AMD 1866
Board:ASUS A88XM Plus
Storage:OCZ 256 GB Vector
Optical:Panasonic Slim BDR
PS:Silverstone Strider 550 Gold SFF
Software:WMC8+LAV+madVR+MPC-HC
Input:Logitech K400 mini KB/trackpad+Harmony 720
Output:Sammy 55" S6 LED LCD+Yamaha soundbar
Bizzy G.L.X. is online now  
post #9 of 16 Old 10-20-2013, 12:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pd veeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Seems like shark007 plus disabling windows audio decoding is actually giving me better sound out quality out of my avr as well.
pd veeps is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 10-20-2013, 07:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 831
What is running on the bottom right ? Near clock ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #11 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pd veeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

What is running on the bottom right ? Near clock ?

Ffdshow audio, ffdshow video, lav splitter
pd veeps is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,296
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

All you need to make sure you do is uncheck the bundled crapeware that comes in the pack

Better to unzip the downloaded .exe file and run the installer from there just to be sure no crapware slips through. Too many reports of something happening where crapware gets installed even though all boxes were unchecked. The download hosting sites (majorgeeks) are the ones that bundle in the crap, not the developer.

bryansj is online now  
post #13 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 01:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

Better to unzip the downloaded .exe file and run the installer from there just to be sure no crapware slips through. Too many reports of something happening where crapware gets installed even though all boxes were unchecked. The download hosting sites (majorgeeks) are the ones that bundle in the crap, not the developer.

I tend to think it's user error.

They make it seem like it's not there. You need to go out of your way to pay attention, and click "custom install" and then uncheck stuff.

I am sure the people that complain it's their fault for not doing it right or paying attention.

I've installed shark 30 times without a problem. But I also know better biggrin.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #14 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pd veeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yes luckily I caught all that crapware on my first install.
pd veeps is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 03:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,865
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 831
Quote:
Originally Posted by pd veeps View Post

Yes luckily I caught all that crapware on my first install.

They definitely put effort into hiding the crapware... and making you not notice it easily.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #16 of 16 Old 10-21-2013, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 48
IMO, the best solution is to use 7zip to extract the distributed file and you will have a clean installer (that I created) with no extra crap.

Use
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off