Youtube: IE11 vs Google Chrome uses ~5x less cpu - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 10-20-2013, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks like newer versions of internet explorer support accelerated video decoding in addition to accelerated video rendering resulting in significant decrease in cpu utilization on newer intel cpu's. In comparision, google chrome only appears to support accelerated video rendering and software decoding resulting for flash youtube videos resulting in significantly higher cpu utilization. While the screen cap for IE shows ~2.5% cpu, in reality it went down to almost 0.8%

IE:





Google Chrome:




Here is the source:
Oddly enough, even using HTML5 still results in the higher cpu utilization in google chrome. I've heard disabling the inbuilt flash player and downloading the latest from adobe may fix it, but I would prefer to get the inbuilt flash to work in google chrome.

Also for some reason, text appears sharper on IE11 than google chrome. >>> This issue was solved using this

TLDR; Anyone know how to turn on accelerated video decoding in google chrome for flash videos?
ymarker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 10-20-2013, 12:37 PM
Member
 
nxsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I discovered this earlier this year. This was my solution at the time (I imagine it still works):

Go to Adobe’s Site and download the external flash decoder. Once installed you must disable the built in pepperflash/Adobe flash plugins. Type about://plugins into the search bar, click on +”details” to expand the details for each plugin and disable the bundled pepperflash/Adobe flash plugins. It’s easy to differentiate the native chrome plugin from the one you just installed by looking at the plugin path (i.e. disable the plugin residing in C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application).

Once done refresh the offending youtube page and you should have Hardware Accelerated Rendering and Decoding.

[Had I properly read your post I would seen that you don't want to disable the internal flash plugin, but I know of no other way].
nxsfan is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 10-22-2013, 02:44 AM
Member
 
72.9.159.100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I also would use HTML5 youtube instead.
72.9.159.100 is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 10-22-2013, 08:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Why is this important ? I routinely surf AVS on Chrome (10+ tabs) while having Firefox open with 5 more tabs on another monitor managing my Fantasy footballs teams, and IE open with a bunch more tabs doing random stuff. Plus I am downloading, Ripping, unzipping, and managing media at the same time.

I'm not being a smart ass, but genuinely want to know if this is important ? And why ? (aware me pls)

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 10-22-2013, 05:13 PM
Member
 
NTNgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Why is this important ?

One practical reason is, that on a laptop or other fanned device, it might be the difference between your fan not running at all vs. spinning up when you're playing video.
StinDaWg likes this.
NTNgod is online now  
post #6 of 23 Old 10-22-2013, 06:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
More cpu utilization = more power draw (i.e. your laptop runs out of juice earlier).
StinDaWg likes this.
ymarker is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 10-23-2013, 08:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Here's an even better reason. My cheapo netbook which would stutter badly on HD video now plays 1080p smooth as silk.
StinDaWg likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 10-23-2013, 07:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Thanks makes perfect sense. (I use a 4470k i7 Desktop)

I don't do much on the laptop anymore. I find it difficult to use as efficiently as I can my desktop. The lack of mouse bothers me greatly.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 10-24-2013, 01:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Thanks makes perfect sense. (I use a 4470k i7 Desktop)

I don't do much on the laptop anymore. I find it difficult to use as efficiently as I can my desktop. The lack of mouse bothers me greatly.
Gotcha. In my case, lugging a desktop and monitor through airports and hotels is a lot harder than getting a mouse for my laptop wink.gif I never watch Netflix on a computer otherwise. There are tons of other devices that do it a lot better.
mdavej is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 10-27-2013, 12:26 PM
Member
 
Jeff Krogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

IE 11 still hasn't made it possible for zacate e350 or e450 to play HD netflix, so I guess its not offloading enough.

Jeff Krogue is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 10-27-2013, 07:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Krogue View Post

IE 11 still hasn't made it possible for zacate e350 or e450 to play HD netflix, so I guess its not offloading enough.

The bottleneck is still Silverlight there.
Ruiner is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 10-27-2013, 08:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

The bottleneck is still Silverlight there.
How is that possible? IE11 doesn't use silverlight.
mdavej is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 10-28-2013, 10:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Krogue View Post

IE 11 still hasn't made it possible for zacate e350 or e450 to play HD netflix, so I guess its not offloading enough.

I just tried it on mine, IE11 with Core-i3 3225 with Intel IGP. 2 to 3% CPU usage on 1080p 5800bps (the max Netflix can offer today sans 3D) video. Is AMD really that bad?
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 10-28-2013, 11:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Hmmm... my AMD C-60 is far slower than the e350 or e450, yet plays 1080p 5800 silky smooth in IE11. Previously choked badly on just 720p in Silverlight before. Jeff, are you really running 8.1? Maybe your GPU is the problem.
mdavej is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 10-28-2013, 12:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Or could be video drivers. Win8.1 may replaced it with an older non-hardware accelerated driver.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 10-28-2013, 12:43 PM
Member
 
Jeff Krogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Or could be video drivers. Win8.1 may replaced it with an older non-hardware accelerated driver.

Yeah, just checked amd website.  There are no drivers for 8.1 on the website right now.

Jeff Krogue is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 10-28-2013, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

How is that possible? IE11 doesn't use silverlight.

My bad. Even for netflix?
Ruiner is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 10-28-2013, 12:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
IE11 has the new Netflix player, probably built with HTML5, that can support 1080p and Super HD. The old Silverlight based player is only capable of 720p max.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 10-28-2013, 01:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,052
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Krogue View Post

Yeah, just checked amd website.  There are no drivers for 8.1 on the website right now.
It doesn't surprise me at all. After brief stint with an AMD video card, I will never own another AMD video card ever (driver slow to update and take forever to load then crash constantly). In the CPU side, I don't even bother look at AMD at all. Other than AMD die-hard fans, I can't think of any reason to build an AMD based system.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 10-28-2013, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

IE11 has the new Netflix player, probably built with HTML5, that can support 1080p and Super HD. The old Silverlight based player is only capable of 720p max.

Interesting. There is a version of ie11 for Win7. I will have to test this.
Ruiner is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 10-28-2013, 02:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,211
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

Interesting. There is a version of ie11 for Win7. I will have to test this.
Don't bother. IE11 for Win7 still uses Silverlight. IE11 in 8.1 is currently the only way.
mdavej is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 10-28-2013, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Jeff Krogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

oops

Jeff Krogue is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 10-29-2013, 05:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Don't bother. IE11 for Win7 still uses Silverlight. IE11 in 8.1 is currently the only way.

Oh well. thanks.
Ruiner is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off