Large collections - XBMC vs. MB - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > Large collections - XBMC vs. MB

Home Theater Computers

Nebiroth's Avatar Nebiroth
03:24 AM Liked: 30
post #1 of 31
10-21-2013 | Posts: 183
I've been tinkering with the idea of HTPC for ages. Since I have a background in IT the hardware and most of the software phase is actually the easy bit for me.

The main sticking point, odd as it may sound, is really thr front end - but ultimately, it's really one of the most important aspects since the hardware is just a pile of expensive furniture if it doesn;t do what you want, in the way you want.

So my big question is:

I have an almost embarassingly large collection of movies and TV series. Not just hundreds but thousands. And it;s getting bigger.

Now, obviously this presents a problem when it comes to browsing them.

Which would people recommend - XBMC or MB?

When I tinkered with things some while back I actually found that Media Browser did more of what I wanted, largely thanks to the way it makes it easy to nest things into categories and collections.

With a library this large, I would want from the outset to set up folder structures that break down the collection into manageable groups (espescially for movies). I realise that XBMC and Mb can both do this "virtually" by working off one big folder that has everything in it and setting up things like Collections/Genres and the like. But I don;t want to work that way - and I think it could cause performance issues as well. Also, XBMC's genre system strikes me as odd and unfriendly.

I'd be interested to hear thoughts on this. Also, can anyone point to a comprehensive guide for MediaBrowser - espescially MB3 - the information seems ot be there on the official site but I find it disjointed and inaccessible, whereas XBMC's Wiki is much better laid out.
Mfusick's Avatar Mfusick
07:36 AM Liked: 1017
post #2 of 31
10-21-2013 | Posts: 24,223