DVR with Remote (across the Internet) Programming Access? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-25-2013, 01:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 32
OK, looking to build a PC or MAC based DVR, BUT my top requirement is, I will be able to program recordings via my Macbook/iPad/iPhone, from the Internet. Some times I am at work and I forget I need to DVR something.

Such beast exists?

I am not oppose to one-box solution (turn-key) but it must write recordings to a standard external media that can be shared/user-upgradable. No close, proprietary stuff.
MrBobb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 10-25-2013, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 2,005
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 214
What exactly do you want to record? The answer will be different if its ota, satellite, or cable. Each one has caveats about DRM. There is no one perfect completely open solution for all channels in all areas. Its very dependent or what you're willing to give up.

You can set recordings from the net a few ways. I can record from cable or an antenna that way.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 10-25-2013, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 270
RemotePotato with WMC will do the trick.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 10-25-2013, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
To schedule recordings via your iPhone, iPad or android phone/tablet you can use My Media Center as well. For playback you will need Plex or Media Browser 3 or Remote Potato. The first two play copy freely recorded content only and Remote Potato reportedly does LiveTV too for copy freely content as well but I have not tried it out so I cannot report on it.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 10-25-2013, 08:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,237
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked: 430
I can't see any way to stream live TV in Remote Potato. If you find any more details on how to do this, please post them.

Thanks
mdavej is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 10-25-2013, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,772
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Technically it's not live TV. You begin to record and give it a couple of minutes, then you can begin to watch that program as it records. Essentially creating a buffer.
oman321 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 10-25-2013, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

I can't see any way to stream live TV in Remote Potato. If you find any more details on how to do this, please post them.

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by oman321 View Post

Technically it's not live TV. You begin to record and give it a couple of minutes, then you can begin to watch that program as it records. Essentially creating a buffer.

Yes. That is my understanding. One day I am going to try this but I am working down a list of, "I need to try that" things and never quite get to this one.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 10-25-2013, 09:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,237
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Thanks, guys. Been doing that for a while, but hoped there was a more direct way now with the new Remote Potato client on iOS7. Just thought I was missing a new feature.
mdavej is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 10-25-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Thanks, guys. Been doing that for a while, but hoped there was a more direct way now with the new Remote Potato client on iOS7. Just thought I was missing a new feature.

Keep in mind that I have never done this and am only reporting what others have said..

Sammy2 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 10-25-2013, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBobb View Post

Such beast exists?

Yes. Microsoft Windows Media Center, it is free with every copy of Windows 7.

Just install remote potato and my media center to gain remote/network scheduling capbility.

Best part, don't need to pay Apple through the nose.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off